PDA

View Full Version : What does the Radiator mean? And what's the use for it?

Tuskegee1989
07-09-2008, 07:03 PM
Well? I press the R button for the Raditor but I really don't see any different changes. Just on the side of the screen , It just changes to Radiator 2 , 4 , 6. Open and close and etc.

RegRag1977
07-09-2008, 07:08 PM
I'm not an expert at all...but it's a good question.

It's a device to help the engine to cool itself, some guys here will explain it better than me and in better english. Without radiator or cooling system the engine would reach a dangerous temperature and even seize or explode.

The more it is open the more it allows cold outside air to cool the engine. The number help to know how wide you open it: the widest setting is better for cooling but causes drag and thus performance loss.

here are some pics i found:

this is how a me 410 radiator looks from the rear:
http://i315.photobucket.com/albums/ll457/RegRag77/06-410_4.jpg

this is the Spitfire radiator:
http://i315.photobucket.com/albums/ll457/RegRag77/cc0007.jpg

(rectangular device under the wing)

ffb
07-09-2008, 07:15 PM
on some a/c when you open the radiator it opens cowl flaps around the engine compartment (usually with radial engines)...and with others like in-line or V engines it opens a flap or flaps behind the radiator box to allow more airflow to cool the engine via the coolant liquid which flows to and from the radiator

if you look at external views you can see the flaps opening/closing

What....don't you own a car...or are you too young?

Bearcat99
07-09-2008, 07:31 PM
Do you have complex engine management on?

RegRag1977
07-09-2008, 07:35 PM
Originally posted by ffb:

The problem with normal cars is that all the engine structural parts are well hidden under the cowling: one have to look directly at the engine to ask the question "hey, strange, what is this".