PDA

View Full Version : starting a mulitengine



muchaclopiec
06-05-2007, 04:55 AM
daft question i know, but what is the startup procedure for something like the p38 or B25?

ive tried various permutations, such as linking a key to the toggle all engines command, and to the select all engines command ..either i cant get both engines to fire, or i cant get the throttle to control all of the engines http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif..im getting pretty frustrated to say the least http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif..so any advice would be very nice.

muchaclopiec
06-05-2007, 04:55 AM
daft question i know, but what is the startup procedure for something like the p38 or B25?

ive tried various permutations, such as linking a key to the toggle all engines command, and to the select all engines command ..either i cant get both engines to fire, or i cant get the throttle to control all of the engines http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif..im getting pretty frustrated to say the least http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif..so any advice would be very nice.

MEGILE
06-05-2007, 05:06 AM
Yo dood this is how I do it.

select/unselect Engine #1: CTRL 1
select/unselect Engine #2: CTRL 2

When the missions loads.

Hit Control 1 - this will toggle engine 1 off. Hit 'I' and engine 2 will start.
THEN, hit CTRL 2 to toggle engine 2 off, and hit CTRL 1 to toggle engine one on. Hit 'I' and engine 1 will start, then hit CTRL 2 to toggle engine 2 on and you have full control.

MEGILE
06-05-2007, 05:10 AM
Wait I just read that, and even though it works, and is farely intuitive it looks rediculous.

Bottom line, each engine needs to be started seperatly, if that option is selected for that game/server.

select/unselect engines is your friend.

I do it quickly

CTRL 1, I - Engine 2 on
CTRL 2, CTRL 1, I, - Engine 1 on
CTRL 1... gooo - Both selected and on

Monterey13
06-05-2007, 07:08 AM
I fly mostly P-38 and B-25. I have one button programmed on my X52 for this. I use a macro that allows me to push one button, and the following happens...

Engine 1 starts
Engine 2 starts
Select all engines
Radiator opens to 8
Flaps
Nav lights for takeoff

I do love my X52...http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

S!

tagTaken2
06-05-2007, 07:36 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Megile:
I do it quickly
</div></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Well, good on you for being upfront about it.

Not so sure that this works on the Me-262, FYI.

MEGILE
06-05-2007, 07:53 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by tagTaken2:



Not so sure that this works on the Me-262, FYI. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Disagree 100% FYI.

infact, throttle the Messer to &gt;50 before you even start your engines, and you can got full throttle quicker without flameout http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

muchaclopiec
06-05-2007, 01:34 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Monterey13:
I fly mostly P-38 and B-25. I have one button programmed on my X52 for this. I use a macro that allows me to push one button, and the following happens...

Engine 1 starts
Engine 2 starts
Select all engines
Radiator opens to 8
Flaps
Nav lights for takeoff

I do love my X52...http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

S! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>i use an x52, how do you set up a macro like that?

mortoma
06-05-2007, 01:46 PM
Actually there is no need to use "unselect" at all. If you simply map keys for the "select" engines, that's all you need. If you select the engine #1 for example, and start it, you only then have to select #2 and start it up. Then select all engines before flight. If you selected an engine, directly selecting another engine afterward automatically "unselects" the former engine. Unselecting is useless and unnecessary.

FoolTrottel
06-05-2007, 02:06 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Unselecting is useless and unnecessary. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Apart from a craft with 4 engines that is.

What if one goes bad and you do not want to throttle it up, and the other 3 you need to throttle up?

Unselect the bad one, throttle up...

VMF-214_HaVoK
06-05-2007, 02:19 PM
Yes do not forget to sync up the engines after they are started by selecting all engines which is a command you will need to map found in control settings. If you fail do to so both engines will be running but you will have no power and be all over the place.

Monterey13
06-05-2007, 04:39 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">i use an x52, how do you set up a macro like that? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Go into your SST Programming, and open your profile. Then find the button you want to use.(I use the "E" button). Right click, and you will see "new macro". once it opens up, hit all of the keys that you want to use, in the proper order, then close it and save it.

It's in the manual, how to do it.

S!

tagTaken2
06-05-2007, 11:09 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Megile:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by tagTaken2:



Not so sure that this works on the Me-262, FYI. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Disagree 100% FYI.

infact, throttle the Messer to &gt;50 before you even start your engines, and you can got full throttle quicker without flameout http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Haven't done it for a few months, but I would have to make sure one engine was up and running and &lt;10% before starting the other. Otherwise I found that the first engine would die while the second was spooling up. What with the explosions, the spinning off the runway, the recorded deaths and friendly kills outnumbering the enemy kills, I guess I was playing it safe.

muchaclopiec
06-06-2007, 08:11 AM
sorted, thanks guys http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

Roblex
06-06-2007, 10:43 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Megile:
Yo dood this is how I do it.

select/unselect Engine #1: CTRL 1
select/unselect Engine #2: CTRL 2

When the missions loads.

Hit Control 1 - this will toggle engine 1 off. Hit 'I' and engine 2 will start.
</div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I am confused http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

When I arrive in my bomber I hit Control + 1 and press 'I' and engine 1 starts.
It does not unselect engine 1 and start engine 2!

I do the same with with Control + 2 & 'I' then I press the key that is mapped to 'select all engines. I can now taxi away.

Am I mis-reading Megiles post?