PDA

View Full Version : New clouds !!!!



Sintubin
01-17-2007, 04:50 PM
how to set them in config.ini ?<div class="ev_tpc_signature">


Stellvertr. Staffelführer Friedrich "White 5"
http://web1.148221.vserver.de/1.Staffel-medium.gif

http://www.jg53-pikas.de/

http://img494.imageshack.us/img494/2637/crocetedesca9nb.gif

JG54_Lukas
01-17-2007, 04:53 PM
It's in the Readme file.

carguy_
01-17-2007, 05:06 PM
clouds=1<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://carguy.w.interia.pl/tracki/sigjzg23upgraded.jpg
Self-proclaimed dedicated Willywhiner since July 2002
: Badsight.:"increased manouverability for bf-109s was satire" :
Please bring back 3.01 dots!

PF_Coastie
01-17-2007, 05:06 PM
Originally posted by JG54_Lukas:
It's in the Readme file.

Smarta$$! would it have been so difficult just to tell him?

Sintubin, Use the following line in conf.ini under [game]:

TypeClouds=0 (zero for old/one for new)<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

PF_Coastie
Coasties PF Perfect settings ZIP file for quick reference(Updated JAN06) (http://phantomfighters.nrgservers.net/PF%20Setup.zip)
Coasties FB+AEP+PF and ATI Catalyst Control Center settings Web page with complete Narrative (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/IL2setup.html)
http://phantomfighters.nrgservers.net/AIRWARFARE_Signature.jpg (http://www.airwarfare.com/)

Jasko76
01-18-2007, 04:16 AM
Aren't clouds=1 by default?<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://versioni.addr.com/pics/errorAYB.jpg
Freude am fahren!

F19_Ob
01-18-2007, 04:48 AM
Originally posted by Jasko76:
Aren't clouds=1 by default?

No they're not. Perhaps because of the performance hit of the new clouds? my guess.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v382/f19_ob/ob_ver2.jpg

Jasko76
01-18-2007, 10:10 AM
Well, then it's good I checked out the forums today... never know what you can learn here!<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://versioni.addr.com/pics/errorAYB.jpg
Freude am fahren!

waffen-79
01-18-2007, 10:16 AM
you guys sure? in the 1946 even 3dgunners came enabled by default<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p32/Waffen-79/forum_signature.jpg
You need blokes like me to fly Blue side!
Banning Planes OnLine? NOT COOL, M'KAY?

LT.INSTG8R
01-18-2007, 10:16 AM
I too thought the new clouds were default since 4.04 and IF you wanted the old clouds you needed to add the config line TypeClouds=0<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

System Specs:
------------------
<A HREF="http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/471" TARGET=_blank>AMD Opteron 170@2.6(1.42v)| Abit AT8 32X | 2x1024 OCZ EL DDR 500 Platinum XTC 3-3-3-8 1T 1:1(260@2.9v) | Sapphire X1900XTX+Crossfire | Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320G SATAII 16MB(PRT) | SB X-Fi Fatality | Seasonic M12 600W | Samsung Synchmaster 204B 20.1" LCD 5ms | Logitech Driving Force Pro | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Saitek X-52 | TrackIR4 w/Trackclip Pro
Rig Pics courtesy of Techpowerup</A>

waffen-79
01-18-2007, 10:21 AM
Originally posted by LT.INSTG8R:
I too thought the new clouds were default since 4.04 and IF you wanted the old clouds you needed to add the config line TypeClouds=0

that's what I thought also<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p32/Waffen-79/forum_signature.jpg
You need blokes like me to fly Blue side!
Banning Planes OnLine? NOT COOL, M'KAY?

Mackane1
01-18-2007, 10:36 AM
Mine says.....TypeClouds=2 by default.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://home.si.rr.com/skywolf/MACKANE.jpg

LT.INSTG8R
01-18-2007, 10:49 AM
Originally posted by Mackane1:
Mine says.....TypeClouds=2 by default.

Okay so your saying there are NEWER clouds then??(TBH I thought they looked a bit denser, like things may actually disappear in them)

Im at work, but I will test this new tid bit when I get home.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

System Specs:
------------------
<A HREF="http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/471" TARGET=_blank>AMD Opteron 170@2.6(1.42v)| Abit AT8 32X | 2x1024 OCZ EL DDR 500 Platinum XTC 3-3-3-8 1T 1:1(260@2.9v) | Sapphire X1900XTX+Crossfire | Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320G SATAII 16MB(PRT) | SB X-Fi Fatality | Seasonic M12 600W | Samsung Synchmaster 204B 20.1" LCD 5ms | Logitech Driving Force Pro | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Saitek X-52 | TrackIR4 w/Trackclip Pro
Rig Pics courtesy of Techpowerup</A>

JG54_Lukas
01-18-2007, 11:10 AM
Originally posted by PF_Coastie:
Smarta$$! would it have been so difficult just to tell him?

Nope, not when it takes a simple 1-second search in the Readme file to find out the answer. A Readme file is like an owners manual-it's there to provide ready answers to questions the owner may have about their product.

Nice to see name-calling here is alive and well. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

LT.INSTG8R
01-18-2007, 12:39 PM
Originally posted by JG54_Lukas:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by PF_Coastie:
Smarta$$! would it have been so difficult just to tell him?

Nope, not when it takes a simple 1-second search in the Readme file to find out the answer. A Readme file is like an owners manual-it's there to provide ready answers to questions the owner may have about their product.

Nice to see name-calling here is alive and well. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

But was that tidbit of Info in the latest readme's?
Heck I couldnt even find a 4.07 readme on the DVD or in my IL2 folder(there is a 4.071 readme tho)
If someone is installing a fresh 46 install chances are that info isnt there(If Im wrong so be it but I had been looking for the 4.07 readme to hopefully get some info on the X-4's and found nothing newer than 4.04 in my overwritten install)<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

System Specs:
------------------
<A HREF="http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/471" TARGET=_blank>AMD Opteron 170@2.6(1.42v)| Abit AT8 32X | 2x1024 OCZ EL DDR 500 Platinum XTC 3-3-3-8 1T 1:1(260@2.9v) | Sapphire X1900XTX+Crossfire | Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320G SATAII 16MB(PRT) | SB X-Fi Fatality | Seasonic M12 600W | Samsung Synchmaster 204B 20.1" LCD 5ms | Logitech Driving Force Pro | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Saitek X-52 | TrackIR4 w/Trackclip Pro
Rig Pics courtesy of Techpowerup</A>

Dunkelgrun
01-18-2007, 04:17 PM
Originally posted by LT.INSTG8R:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by JG54_Lukas:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by PF_Coastie:
Smarta$$! would it have been so difficult just to tell him?

Nope, not when it takes a simple 1-second search in the Readme file to find out the answer. A Readme file is like an owners manual-it's there to provide ready answers to questions the owner may have about their product.

Nice to see name-calling here is alive and well. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

But was that tidbit of Info in the latest readme's?
Heck I couldnt even find a 4.07 readme on the DVD or in my IL2 folder(there is a 4.071 readme tho)
If someone is installing a fresh 46 install chances are that info isnt there(If Im wrong so be it but I had been looking for the 4.07 readme to hopefully get some info on the X-4's and found nothing newer than 4.04 in my overwritten install) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

The readme on the 46 DVD includes all of the previous readmes from PF onwards. It's one hell of a confusion but it's all there. You do have to read the readme to discover this though.

Cheers!<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

'Will there be any bartenders up there in Heaven?
Will the pubs never close, will the glass never drain?'

Rjel
01-18-2007, 04:31 PM
Originally posted by JG54_Lukas:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by PF_Coastie:
Smarta$$! would it have been so difficult just to tell him?

Nope, not when it takes a simple 1-second search in the Readme file to find out the answer. A Readme file is like an owners manual-it's there to provide ready answers to questions the owner may have about their product.

Nice to see name-calling here is alive and well. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Why even bother to answer the post at all if not to offer help? Wasn't this all discussed in a multi-paged thread a couple of days ago? Better to just ignore the post than come across as rude, IMO<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

______________________________________________

The man's prayer from The Red Green Show -
I?m a man, but I can change, if I have to, ?. I guess.

And remember - keep your stick on the ice.

han freak solo
01-18-2007, 04:39 PM
Originally posted by JG54_Lukas:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by PF_Coastie:
Smarta$$! would it have been so difficult just to tell him?

Nope, not when it takes a simple 1-second search in the Readme file to find out the answer. A Readme file is like an owners manual-it's there to provide ready answers to questions the owner may have about their product.

Nice to see name-calling here is alive and well. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Whatever. 1 second . . . . pffft. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

So I'm sitting at work and I have a technical question that will involve me digging out a manual from a shelf across the room. I think I'll ask my co-worker next to me first.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.lssdigital.com/lwpilot/HFSsig47.jpg

RocketDog
01-18-2007, 04:45 PM
So Han, in your 2191 posts here you've never, ever asked a question that you couldn't have found an answer to by yourself? Not once?

The forums are places where people can ask questions. If someone jumps down their throat with a cheap sneer every time, do you think they will bother posting here much in future?

Sheesh http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v402/RocketDog/rocketdog.jpg

LEXX_Luthor
01-18-2007, 04:57 PM
The best offer of independence and power given in this thread was the hint to read the readme, although its best to give Newbies some tips like we saw above about interpreting that readme.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

__________________
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A...in FB Gold...and...Aces Expansion Pack

"You will still have FB, you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"At the altitudes this community flies at, diving is not an option." ~Stiglr
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
"109Z flew briefly, after being hit by a bomb. Go-229 also saw combat, when the factory was overrun." ~pingu666
:
"Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

han freak solo
01-18-2007, 05:02 PM
Originally posted by RocketDog:
So Han, in your 2191 posts here you've never, ever asked a question that you couldn't have found an answer to by yourself? Not once?

The forums are places where people can ask questions. If someone jumps down their throat with a cheap sneer every time, do you think they will bother posting here much in future?

Sheesh http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

You misunderstand what I write. I'm implying that it's best to ask the guy next to you first. Or in this case when you have a PC in front of you at work and the game is at home, ask the guy next to you on the net.

We're on the same side of the issue here, believe me.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.lssdigital.com/lwpilot/HFSsig47.jpg

leitmotiv
01-18-2007, 06:37 PM
OK, guys---now I'm confused---I checked the conf.ini and I did not have anything about clouds under [game]! Aggghhhhhhh!!!!! So I went to the read me---it was just for the latest patch, and I could not find another. Agggghhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!

Targ
01-18-2007, 07:28 PM
In the config.ini file (MAIN 1946 FOLDER)there are two lines not added by default. The typeclouds and clearcache if you use matmanager.

TypeClouds=1
ClearCache=1

just copy and paste what you need into the config.ini file in the section labeled
[game]
Than save the file and away you go http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

<center>
*** INTREPID FALLEN HEROES FUND (http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php)***

http://simjunkie.com/assets/sig.jpg (http://simjunkie.com)

NHawk52
01-18-2007, 08:40 PM
Gentlemen and Ladies: A ver 4.07 readme file is placed in the root directory at install. It is, however, deceptively named "ReadmePF.rtf" and it includes all readme info pertaining to ver. 4.04m thru 4.07m .

The only reference to clouds is this (notice that it does not mention the default setting):

"In order to see higher quality clouds you will need to manually edit the conf.ini file located in your main game folder before launching the game. Open the file with a text editor, find the [game] section and in the TypeClouds= line write in either 0 or 1, then save the file.

"TypeClouds=0 - standard clouds
"TypeClouds=1 - improved quality clouds

"Note: When playing online the player will see the cloud type set by the server, and not as individually set in their conf.ini. This is done to ensure all players see the same tactical situation in the air regardless of their settings."

Also, the only reference to 3Dgunners is this:

"Therefore we've made this feature turned off by default.

"If you wish to turn it on, you'll need to open the conf.ini file inside your game's root directory with notepad, locate the
[game]
section, and insert the following line there:
3dgunners=1
If the line already exists and you wish to turn the feature off, replace the 1 with a 0, i.e
3dgunners=0 "<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Airwarfare (http://www.airwarfare.com/) - FAQ (http://www.airwarfare.com/sturmovik_101/faq_index.htm) - AW Forums (http://www.airwarfare.com/phpBB2/index.php) - M4T (http://www.mission4today.com/index.php)

leitmotiv
01-18-2007, 10:15 PM
Many, many thanks Targ and NHAWK!!!!

Targ
01-18-2007, 10:53 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

<center>
*** INTREPID FALLEN HEROES FUND (http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php)***

http://simjunkie.com/assets/sig.jpg (http://simjunkie.com)

leitmotiv
01-18-2007, 11:15 PM
You have saved my bacon many a time Targ!

LT.INSTG8R
01-19-2007, 02:26 AM
Well hey now that would explain why I couldnt find the 4.07 readme, Thanks now I got it. PF Manager has pretty much been my config tweaker so I dont usually spend much time rooting about in my config too often anyway.

Someone had mentioned 3D gunners being on by default in 46(er driverless motorcycles anyone? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif)<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

System Specs:
------------------
<A HREF="http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/471" TARGET=_blank>AMD Opteron 170@2.6(1.42v)| Abit AT8 32X | 2x1024 OCZ EL DDR 500 Platinum XTC 3-3-3-8 1T 1:1(260@2.9v) | Sapphire X1900XTX+Crossfire | Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320G SATAII 16MB(PRT) | SB X-Fi Fatality | Seasonic M12 600W | Samsung Synchmaster 204B 20.1" LCD 5ms | Logitech Driving Force Pro | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Saitek X-52 | TrackIR4 w/Trackclip Pro
Rig Pics courtesy of Techpowerup</A>

Feathered_IV
01-19-2007, 02:49 AM
Leitmotiv, if you haven't already put forest=3 as your arborial preference at the bottom of your config, try that too http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

***********************************************

http://server2.uploadit.org/files/Feathered-sigpic.jpg

"Intelligent, normally observant and answered all questions freely. He was arrogant and proud to be a pilot. Fellow prisoners in hospital consider him mentally unstable."

leitmotiv
01-19-2007, 02:59 AM
Will do for flora, F_IV---my landscaping consultant!!!!

LT.INSTG8R
01-19-2007, 02:59 AM
Wow now that I found that readme its one thorough piece of work! Thanks again! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

System Specs:
------------------
<A HREF="http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/471" TARGET=_blank>AMD Opteron 170@2.6(1.42v)| Abit AT8 32X | 2x1024 OCZ EL DDR 500 Platinum XTC 3-3-3-8 1T 1:1(260@2.9v) | Sapphire X1900XTX+Crossfire | Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320G SATAII 16MB(PRT) | SB X-Fi Fatality | Seasonic M12 600W | Samsung Synchmaster 204B 20.1" LCD 5ms | Logitech Driving Force Pro | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Saitek X-52 | TrackIR4 w/Trackclip Pro
Rig Pics courtesy of Techpowerup</A>

PF_Coastie
01-19-2007, 05:11 AM
Well, after 2 pages it turns out to be exactly what I put in the 3rd post of this thread...LOL!

I beg to differ on the 3Dgunners with 4.07. I have seen several friends that did fresh installs of 46 and they all had 3Dgunners=1 as default after installing 46. Here is the game section of the "default" 46 ini:

[game]
Arcade=0
HighGore=0
mapPadX=0.6689453
mapPadY=-0.046875
viewSet=32
Intro=0
NoSubTitles=0
NoChatter=0
NoHudLog=0
NoLensFlare=0
iconTypes=3
eventlog=eventlog.lst
eventlogkeep=0
3dgunners=1

Note there is no Typeclouds line, but 3Dgunners is there with it set to ON. I copy/pasted this from my backup I created before switching it out with my 4.05 ini file.

So, if you have not looked at or changed your 3Dgunner setting, you might want to do so now if you do not want them on.
Just wanted to clear this up.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

PF_Coastie
Coasties PF Perfect settings ZIP file for quick reference(Updated JAN06) (http://phantomfighters.nrgservers.net/PF%20Setup.zip)
Coasties FB+AEP+PF and ATI Catalyst Control Center settings Web page with complete Narrative (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/IL2setup.html)
http://phantomfighters.nrgservers.net/AIRWARFARE_Signature.jpg (http://www.airwarfare.com/)