PDA

View Full Version : 2560 x 1600 anyone



FatBoyHK
01-11-2007, 08:55 AM
I just upgraded my monitor, it is a Dell 30". I am still adapting to it, while I can idenify a plane much much much more easier then I used to (was running 1360 x 768), I am still stuggling to spot any tiny dot far away. Anyone using 2560 x 1600? any tips to share?<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.cs.hku.hk/~ctlee/4.jpg

FA_Retro-Burn
01-11-2007, 09:15 AM
Even though my monitor can handle higher res, 1024X768 gives me the best dot spotting capability.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

V226WL -- Call sign Retro-Burn, Lt. USAAF 133rd VSq.

"In honor of Capt. Dominic Salvatore Gentile "Gentle Don" who served in the 133rd with 22 kills."

EiZ0N
01-11-2007, 09:42 AM
Wow, what a sexy monitor you have.

What PC do you have?

hamselv2
01-11-2007, 10:07 AM
Originally posted by FatBoyHK:
I just upgraded my monitor, it is a Dell 30". I am still adapting to it, while I can idenify a plane much much much more easier then I used to (was running 1360 x 768), I am still stuggling to spot any tiny dot far away. Anyone using 2560 x 1600? any tips to share?

I have been using 1920x1440 for the 3 years I've played IL-2 online, and I have experienced the same thing as you: dots are very small when seen from a distance. Since April last year I have used my new PC with AF=16x, and refresh rate = 85 hz. The dot-viewing 'problem' is still there.
I know people that use 30'' monitors at 1024x768 (or something like that) who can spot me long before I can see them - we tried that several times. It has been mentioned more than once on these forums that the game is optimized for 1024x768, and that's probably the case.
I have always thought that the reason is that the game engine creates a 'dot' as a certain number of pixels, but as the pixels on a high resolution PC are smaller than on a 1024x768, the resulting 'dot' is smaller on the high resolution PC. I'm not sure if my assumption is correct though.

Klemm.co
01-11-2007, 10:34 AM
Originally posted by hamselv2:
I have always thought that the reason is that the game engine creates a 'dot' as a certain number of pixels, but as the pixels on a high resolution PC are smaller than on a 1024x768, the resulting 'dot' is smaller on the high resolution PC. I'm not sure if my assumption is correct though.
I think that i can confirm your assumption.
A while back i read in a thread about this very same subject in this forum, that the dots are generated from two black and two grey or white dots.
Back then i posted this thought: The pixelsize shoud be generated dynamically after the screen resolution of you monitor. It would be best if that happened automatically.
So, for a higher resolution the dot would have more pixels than for a lower and (visible) dot size would stay the same.

I hope that this implemented in BoB, it shouldnt be too dificult to do.

WOLFMondo
01-11-2007, 11:35 AM
I see dots pretty well at 1920x1200, better than on a CRT at 1024x768 or a TFT at 1280x1024.

Allot of it is down to the specific TFT rather than the resolution I fear. TFT quality and picture is very varied compared with CRT's which don't really vary that much apart from there capability to do higher resolutions and refresh rates.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Cheers!!

BrotherVoodoo
01-11-2007, 11:56 AM
I use a 32" LCD TV as my gaming monitor and I use it at 1024x768. With that resolution I have no problems spotting the dots.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o140/99th_RockStar/rocksig.gif

There are only two types of aircraft ? fighters and targets.

? Doyle 'Wahoo' Nicholson, USMC.

FatBoyHK
01-11-2007, 12:08 PM
Originally posted by EiZ0N:
Wow, what a sexy monitor you have.

What PC do you have?

I am running a pair of 8800GTXs in SLI<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.cs.hku.hk/~ctlee/4.jpg

WOLFMondo
01-11-2007, 12:29 PM
You have too much money Fatboy. :P

Ok, I'm a little jealous.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Cheers!!

striker-85
01-11-2007, 12:48 PM
I am running a pair of 8800GTXs in SLI

Nice, I have a single 8800GTX and have considered getting a second. How stable are the drivers for the 8800GTX SLI, what fps do you get, what AA/AF do you use? From your experience would you recommend 8800GTX SLI?

I run at 3072 x 768 and briefly used quad SLI (2 - 7950GX2) but switched to 8800GTX with the intent of using SLI someday.

Hoenire
01-11-2007, 05:15 PM
I play IL2 using my mobile phone screen powered by a graphical card - I think its the queen of hearts... Spotting dots isn't a problem - if I stare hard enough I see lots of them!

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

Krakenwolf
01-11-2007, 06:21 PM
Hi.
I have this same monitor as you. It is great to play at the 2560x1600 but it is true that 1024x768 is the best for spotting planes because they look like little rectangles at this resolution!
But I don't use this resolution it is like cheating and not real and I don't need to :]
The 2560x1600 is great I don't see any problems with it personally.

FatBoyHK
01-12-2007, 05:14 AM
Originally posted by striker-85:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I am running a pair of 8800GTXs in SLI

Nice, I have a single 8800GTX and have considered getting a second. How stable are the drivers for the 8800GTX SLI, what fps do you get, what AA/AF do you use? From your experience would you recommend 8800GTX SLI?

I run at 3072 x 768 and briefly used quad SLI (2 - 7950GX2) but switched to 8800GTX with the intent of using SLI someday. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Although seem everyone have nothing but bad to say about the driver, I found it to be quite stable.

some benchmark @ 2560 x 1600 @ Black Death:

Water=2, 8xAA 16xAF, vSync On, High Quality in other setting: 48fps

Water=2, 16xAA 16xAF, vSync On, High Quality in other setting: 42fps

Water=3, 16xAA 16xAF, vSync On, High Quality in other setting: 38fps

I am playing at the first setting because I will always have 60fps except when I am looking at a big city. But I am considering the second setting since the image quality is unbeatable.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.cs.hku.hk/~ctlee/4.jpg

FatBoyHK
01-12-2007, 05:19 AM
now I sit closer to the monitor (was 1.5 meter, less than 1 meter now), and tuned up brightness, digital vibrance, contrast, and gamma in the nvidia control panel. Seem I got better visibility now, but I have yet to try it online, where I have to spot those dots....<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.cs.hku.hk/~ctlee/4.jpg

FatBoyHK
01-12-2007, 12:10 PM
seem that now I am losing this battle and may need to use 1280 x 800, which is the only other res supported by this monitior.... the dot that I can't have a chance to spot in 2560 x 1600, even if I sit 10 cm away from the screen, I can spot them in 1280 x 800 effortlessly from 1 meters away.....<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.cs.hku.hk/~ctlee/4.jpg

FatBoyHK
01-13-2007, 02:16 PM
I did some test today. I flied a mission and recorded it in a track. Then I play the track with different resolution, and captured some screenshots.

The first one is a sample of a screenshot which was taken at 2560 x 1600. Try to spot a dot inside. I bet you can't
http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k267/FatboyHK/high-res.jpg

The second one is the same screen but in 1280 x 800. SInce you are looking it with the same monitor, dot pitch size remain the same, so the image appeared to be a lot smaller, 4 times to be exact. However, suddenly you can spot the dot....

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k267/FatboyHK/low-res.jpg

and if you take into account that the image will be scaled back to 30 inch so that it can be dispalyed on my monitor, the image I actually see with my eyes is like this:

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k267/FatboyHK/low-res-on-screen.jpg

wola, what a BIG dot....

I zoomed in on both screenshots and confirmed that both dots are consist of 2 pixals, one black and one grey (AFAIK, it is the smallest size a dot can be in this game). so, the pixel size of a monitor is not quite related to this problem...

The real problem is that at high res, the graphic engine can provide much more detail for the ground sceney, especially when you see them from distance. This detail are presented in variation of color, which look like dots, (well, of course, they are all pixels after all), and you have a problem when you need to pick out the real dot from tons of fake dots...<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.cs.hku.hk/~ctlee/4.jpg

KaleunFreddie
01-13-2007, 04:50 PM
I've got a 1280x1024 LCD screen but fly IL2 on 640x480 with max video settings (Nvidia 7900GTX). It gives me more or less realistic visuals as in RL I can see another a/c at some 35Kms away against the ground. The only problem with these settings is that when close the plane nearly dissapears - another nag, but I work my way around this.
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.bomber-command.info/medalbc.jpg

Tte_Costa
01-13-2007, 06:26 PM
S. all gents!
I need some help...
I have a dell 24" and I donĀ“t konw how to play in a diferent res than the native res for my monitor without loosing the size of screen.
For example:
Desktop. 1920 x 1200 (native)
IL-2. 1280 x 800

Tx in advance Tte. Costa

FOE_Pappy
01-13-2007, 07:17 PM
S!

Set your congig as follows:
[window]
width=1680
height=1050
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=0
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0

This yields a 1680x1050 res. in the game and fills up the whole screen. This yields very sharp graphics on the 24" Dell and the dots are very visiable.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.war-clouds.com/sigs/foepappy.jpg
FLIGHT OF EAGLES
Mudders, low, tight fur-ball ----- LUF ---- "Look Up Fool"

Tte_Costa
01-13-2007, 07:36 PM
Tx very much Pappy!
It works great.

deepo_HP
01-13-2007, 07:47 PM
i'd say, the problem is not that high resolution displays do project smaller dots (they do though), but that any dot which is seen on high resolution should to be seen on lower resolution also! means, in such a case there is no other possibility than having less detailed dots on low resolutions - where they should be more detailed, but the display limits it there.
else (if the limit for displaying dots were set by low resolution displays) the smallest 'dot' on a high resolution display would be, for example, a 6x6 square, where it was a 1x1 square on a low resolution display.
in that sense there is of course a standard display to chose, for which the dots are optimized for, however the textures (as eyecandy) can be much less detailed than on high resolution displays.

also consider, that it's not exactly 'resolution', what you are talking of.
every display got a physical number of dots in length and hight, which varies with the size of the monitor. in case of crts the size was therefor more standardized to default 'resolutions' (like 1024x768 for 17", about 0,22-0,25mm dotpitch)), with flatpanels the variety is spread wider.
considering this you can get the picture of what i meant above, when you let your hi-res disply run at 1024x768... the resulting dots show the other possible solution of representation of aircraft (just talking about the dots, not the textures).
the idea to have more detailed 'dots' in the case of hi-res displays to compensate the resulting 'clumpsiness' of their dots would give a much more disadvantage to lo-res display owners (gamewise)<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

_____________________

deepo of "homeoputes"
lapinot, #17 @ il2airracing.com

FatBoyHK
01-14-2007, 09:42 AM
it is sad to shell out big money for an upgrade and then find that it can't be used for such a silly reason....<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.cs.hku.hk/~ctlee/4.jpg

Von_Rat
01-14-2007, 04:40 PM
a few years ago when i bought my 22inch monitor i was so happy it had 1900x1440 or so resolution.

but in il2 having hi res is a minus not a plus. now i find myself playing at crappy 1024x960 just so i can see the stupid dots.

if oleg doesnt solve the problem in bob im just going to find another game that doesnt penalize you for having good hardware.