PDA

View Full Version : The wait is over...



XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 07:10 PM
Intel Announces Pentium 4 Extreme Edition

Intel on Tueday, announced their first microprocessor aimed at the gaming market - the Pentium 4 Processor Extreme Edition. The Extreme Edition will be available in the next 30 - 60 days and will run at 3.2GHz.

The major improvement to the Extreme Edition over the current Pentium 4 is the inclusion of an on-die 2MB L3 cache. This on-die L3 cache is in addition to the 512KB L2 cache, giving the Extreme Edition a total of 2.5MB of on-die cache. Note that this is identical to the Xeon MP (Gallatin) core, other than the fact that we're talking about a CPU that runs at 3.2GHz and has an 800MHz FSB.

The 2MB on-die L3 cache takes the Northwood's 55 million transistors and balloons it to an incredible 169 million transistors.

Intel's decision to launch this processor a week before AMD's launch of the Athlon 64 should give you an indication of the performance AMD is offering under gaming environments. Given the timing of Prescott's release, we'd say that this CPU is definitely a preemptive attack against AMD's Athlon 64.

http://www.anandtech.com/IT/showdoc.html?i=1870

-----------------------------------------------------------

Looks like the AMD guys are gonna get a run for their money.../i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Cheers,

<CENTER>http://www.319th.com/p-51big.jpg</CENTER><CENTER><font size="+1"><div style="width:500;color:#FF2211;fontsize:11pt;filter:shado w Blur[color=red,strength=2)">73h /\/\u$7@/\/6 |*\/\//\/-/_ j00</div></center></font><FONT color="#59626B">[b]

Message Edited on 09/20/0302:11PM by TaZ_Attack

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 07:10 PM
Intel Announces Pentium 4 Extreme Edition

Intel on Tueday, announced their first microprocessor aimed at the gaming market - the Pentium 4 Processor Extreme Edition. The Extreme Edition will be available in the next 30 - 60 days and will run at 3.2GHz.

The major improvement to the Extreme Edition over the current Pentium 4 is the inclusion of an on-die 2MB L3 cache. This on-die L3 cache is in addition to the 512KB L2 cache, giving the Extreme Edition a total of 2.5MB of on-die cache. Note that this is identical to the Xeon MP (Gallatin) core, other than the fact that we're talking about a CPU that runs at 3.2GHz and has an 800MHz FSB.

The 2MB on-die L3 cache takes the Northwood's 55 million transistors and balloons it to an incredible 169 million transistors.

Intel's decision to launch this processor a week before AMD's launch of the Athlon 64 should give you an indication of the performance AMD is offering under gaming environments. Given the timing of Prescott's release, we'd say that this CPU is definitely a preemptive attack against AMD's Athlon 64.

http://www.anandtech.com/IT/showdoc.html?i=1870

-----------------------------------------------------------

Looks like the AMD guys are gonna get a run for their money.../i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Cheers,

<CENTER>http://www.319th.com/p-51big.jpg</CENTER><CENTER><font size="+1"><div style="width:500;color:#FF2211;fontsize:11pt;filter:shado w Blur[color=red,strength=2)">73h /\/\u$7@/\/6 |*\/\//\/-/_ j00</div></center></font><FONT color="#59626B">[b]

Message Edited on 09/20/0302:11PM by TaZ_Attack

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 07:56 PM
I bet this will be cheap...


This is JimRockford. At the tone leave your name and message; I'll get back to you.

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 08:02 PM
be really expensive, 3x the die size of the p4 std /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 08:02 PM
Hmmm...I might have to upgrade earlier than planned.



http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/il2sig2.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 08:20 PM
Guess we´ve seen it before- relying on larger on chip caches as marketing cart horse, think of AMD´s Bartons, which got a higher PR because of the increased on chip L2 cache size, but performance-wise they are behind higher clocked TB´s with a lower PR rating. Some applications profit marginally from large on chip caches, while most won´t. FSB speed and high clocks is what makes the race.

============================
The important thing in [tactics] is to suppress the enemys useful actions but allow his useless actions. However, doing this alone is defensive.

Miyamoto Musashi (1584-1645)
Japanese Samurai and Philosopher
(More than 60 Victories in Hand-to-Hand combat.)

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 09:15 PM
Im glad there pushing each other but the hell with upgrading ....


Not gona upgrade for about 2 more years cept Im gona grab a 333 fsb amdxp chip to max my mb fsb capabilitys but thats it

Ill wait till this new super chip comes out that should drop the prices of every other chip /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Dont get me wrong Id love to build a system around that chip
but I see no sence in it when in 6 months they will release something better again...

Its never gona stop





<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1063229517.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 09:47 PM
Well, seeing that I have the requirement of several machines for my business, I can always downgrade my present gaming rig for a new one (writing off the expenditure as a biz expense /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif ).

I've been waiting since early last year for the new-gen Intel chips so I can build a screaming system to hook-up to my 36" Sony Wega...the industry buzz on this chip has been going for well over a year, looks like Intel took their time to get this one right! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Now if someone would just make memory that could keep up with the 800 MhZ FSB! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Cheers,
<CENTER>http://www.319th.com/p-51big.jpg</CENTER><CENTER><font size="+1"><div style="width:500;color:#FF2211;fontsize:11pt;filter:shado w Blur[color=red,strength=2)">73h /\/\u$7@/\/6 |*\/\//\/-/_ j00</div></center></font><FONT color="#59626B">[b]

Message Edited on 09/20/0304:52PM by TaZ_Attack

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 09:48 PM
"We are hearing that the processor will be priced around $740 in 1,000 unit quantities."




Message Edited on 09/20/0312:49PM by Targ

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 09:51 PM
Targ wrote:
- "We are hearing that the processor will be priced
- around $740 in 1,000 unit quantities."


Is that a problem? /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

If it's too much, you can always get an AMD...I hear they make real nice space-heaters for those cold Alaskan winters...lol!



Cheers,
<CENTER>http://www.319th.com/p-51big.jpg</CENTER><CENTER><font size="+1"><div style="width:500;color:#FF2211;fontsize:11pt;filter:shado w Blur[color=red,strength=2)">73h /\/\u$7@/\/6 |*\/\//\/-/_ j00</div></center></font><FONT color="#59626B">[b]

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 09:53 PM
Js !

This is going to be fast!

According to the first tests I have seen the Athlon 64 is 43% faster than the P4 2,6 on normal 32bit applications thanks to its 1Mb cache.

With 2,5Mb the P4 will fly !

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 09:54 PM
You're going to write off your gaming rig as a business expense?


Look up "listed property" first and see if you really want to do that.



<img src=http://www.johnsonsmith.com/images/p1039.jpg>

Fneb.......

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 09:55 PM
TaZ_Attack wrote:
-
- Now if someone would just make memory that could
- keep up with the 800 MhZ FSB!


O they will.... be sure Taz they will...

Id watch Corsair or Mushkin theyll probly make it first.


maybe Twinmoss

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1063229517.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 09:59 PM
I have one ordered already, but didn't want to say anything until Falcon did more testing.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------<center>
No Guts No Glory
<center>
http://www.jpmagazine.com/jpmag/eventcoverage/p95932_image_small.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 10:01 PM
Well I run a Intel 2.4B Northwood, and it's about the only chip where I notice much of a difference in performance. From anything non-northwood anyway. Of course I spent bookoo deniero on the hottest memory I could get and a top of the line board.
All I know is it smokes my friend AMD 2.2ghz. Not by a whole bunch but enough to notice. Most times I just can't tell much of a difference. I measure not by clocking or any software. We run the same games so when I go to his place I can tell the difference.
With a GeForce 4 64mb Ti 4200 I haven't found anything that runs poorly. Given I cannot run perfect in IL2 but thats due to the selection not being available. I can run everything at excellent except where it only goes up to good.

I think the "Extreme" is just another marketing gimick. The first Northwoods weren't really even northwoods. They were just like the rest at .15 microns. To my knowledge the 2.4b was the first .13 micron.

I personnally have nothing against AMD chips. This is actually my first Intel chip. However some AMD chips run hot others very hot. Nothing that can't be overcome though with a little water cooling lol.

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 10:08 PM
I'll have a P4 3.2 chip for sale soon.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------<center>
No Guts No Glory
<center>
http://www.jpmagazine.com/jpmag/eventcoverage/p95932_image_small.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 10:32 PM
Not that expensive. Opteron seems to cost the same.. 720 dollars

____________________________________



Official Sig:



<center>http://koti.mbnet.fi/vipez/shots/Vipez4.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 11:46 PM
Next time be more specific when putting a title to your post...

When I've read "The wait is over" I almost had a heart attack! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

- Dux Corvan -



http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612322300

</span></blockquote></font></td></tr>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 12:01 AM
i would hold off and wait for benches before ordering guys. especially considering the current nvidia situation ( nvidia is an example about hype isn't always good for those who can't figure it out..........) and the p4 track recored on its everyday performance and gaming performance.
i doubt it will be faster than the amd 64, fast yes but not faster. more cache doesn't always mean faster performance. this has been seen numerous times as new processors continue to come out. most cases you get a nice performance boost. but nothing note worthy. i will admit its alot of cache on that cpu but lets see the benches first. $700+ for a damn cpu? bah id rather by another computer for that much. or a top of the line video card. a cpu will never make as much difference as a vid card will. if you have the money to afford this go for it, but i would consider myself a fool if i ever did such a thing. especially with the amd 64 being released a week later. amazing performance and it can run 32 and 64bit programs at roughly the same price range? you tell me which would be more worth while...........

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 05:46 AM
I don't know whether this is a feeble attempt by Intel to make ludicrous amounts money...or a real breakthrough that offers large performance gains. Hmmm. Time will tell.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Si vales, valeo.

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 05:50 AM
Its still just a 32-bit cpu...

Save for an Athlon64.

It will run BOTH 32 and 64-bit software

Intels 64 bit when it comes won't be able to do that!

<center>http://www.gamespy.com/legacy/top10/movievillains/hal9000.jpg </center><center>http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_hotlips.jpg (http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/)</center>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 05:54 AM
Good to see ya,HAL. Haven't seen you around in a while./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

47|FC
http://rangerring.com/wwii/p-47.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-22-2003, 05:27 AM
Heuristic_ALgor wrote:
- Its still just a 32-bit cpu...
-
- Save for an Athlon64.
-
- It will run BOTH 32 and 64-bit software
-
- Intels 64 bit when it comes won't be able to do
- that!

You have any 64 bit software?

I don't - moreover I don't see any 64 bit code in my immediate future (2-3 years), so I'll get my next chip from the most stable CPU mfg. in the market...and no, it ain't gonna be an AMD space-heater! lol /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif



Cheers,
<CENTER>http://www.319th.com/p-51big.jpg</CENTER><CENTER><font size="+1"><div style="width:500;color:#FF2211;fontsize:11pt;filter:shado w Blur[color=red,strength=2)">73h /\/\u$7@/\/6 |*\/\//\/-/_ j00</div></center></font><FONT color="#59626B">[b]

Message Edited on 09/22/0312:29AM by TaZ_Attack

XyZspineZyX
09-22-2003, 05:41 AM
A 2mb L2 isnt gunna make up for only being 32 bit .. but there aint no 64 bit windows showin up anytime soon so the Athlon 64's potential is not going to be realised for some time to come.

Anyway if your after a generic off the shelf chip for mum and dad and the kids the Intel is certainly the better bet.

On the otherhand if yu overclock and like tweaking AMD is still probably the way to go .. the fact they can handle running hot becomes an advantage.

<center> http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0SQDLAtUWiWZ3BKw19!aryp7v3C1h1DuNwpHOOuqhlraGSyMAY KiPEOZAA1OBgsLu*Sa0UQ2my0PiFyvNkJ5K7Clsoy7yNtEvOXY nHDuPNiotpZACY2oJxw/aircraftround.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
09-22-2003, 05:43 AM
TaZ_Attack wrote:
- You have any 64 bit software?

Well, Windows will be available in 64bit at the end of thew year.


- I don't - moreover I don't see any 64 bit code in my
- immediate future (2-3 years)

In addition to windows, there will be a games or 2 that use it too soon.


- so I'll get my next
- chip from the most stable CPU mfg. in the
- market...and no, it ain't gonna be an AMD
- space-heater! lol <img
- src=very stupid_smiley.gif" width=16
- height=16 border=0> <img
- src=Imgay_smiley.gif"
- width=16 height=16 border=0>
- Cheers

You must not have talked to people running AMD with Nforce, because it is so stable in games, it has garnered a cult following.

And if you are one of the poor saps who has an Intel, enjoy getting reamed by creative sound card bugs (img src=youknowImrightsmileyface.org)

This is just a desperation move by Intel, the performance gain will be 5%, and the cost astromonical (like FX-51)

800mhz FSB??? LOL
AMD has done away with the FSB, so theirs is the equivalent of the speed of the processor. Enjoy the slow 800mhz FSB, AMD's latencies will be much lower.

<img src=http://lafayettefederation.com/screenshots/repository/turo/tn-Numbaone.jpg>
"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

Message Edited on 09/22/0306:17AM by RayBanJockey