PDA

View Full Version : plane with mind of it's own.... how to trim perhaps?



XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 04:54 AM
I find a various times if I release the stick my plane either wants to climb uncontrolablebly, or dive. At some times I have to hold the stick all the way to one end or the other to compensate. I think it's related to velocity. Can anyone help me out?


Can we request a button that casues the plane to "Stay" set to whatever control inputs we already have? I suppose that's a trim adjustment, but an automatic one. Comments please?

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 04:54 AM
I find a various times if I release the stick my plane either wants to climb uncontrolablebly, or dive. At some times I have to hold the stick all the way to one end or the other to compensate. I think it's related to velocity. Can anyone help me out?


Can we request a button that casues the plane to "Stay" set to whatever control inputs we already have? I suppose that's a trim adjustment, but an automatic one. Comments please?

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 05:33 AM
first off make sure your stick is calibrated..thats in game controller in the control panel part of windowes click on properties than calibrate..do as it says you will than be calibrated than receck in the FB section you then should go to to hardware then input check your stick to that xy axis to verify

http://mudmovers.com/Sims/IL2/images/wallpaper/me262sharkt.jpg
us infantry 84-91

adlabs6
08-19-2003, 05:36 AM
Yes, that's just the planes needing trimming. Elevator trim is most common, to control the climb/dive. Many planes don't have aileron trims to stop rolling, you either have to hold the stick over by hand or keep one foot heavy on the rudder.

As for auto mode, I don't know. There's nothing like that in FB, though I guess if you disable some of the realism settings, like torque, you might see less of this.

<html>
<body>
<table cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="600" align="center">
<tbody>
<tr>
<td valign="top" bgcolor="#ffffff">
<font face="Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif"><font color="000000">adlabs<font color="#ff9900">6</font></font>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td valign="top" bgcolor="#42524e">
<div align="center"><font color="#999999">
http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/bin/sigtemp.JPG (http://mudmovers.com/Sims/FB/fb_skins_historical_adlabs6.htm)
<small><font color="#ff6600">NEW</font> at mudmovers! Click the pic to download my skins from mudmovers.com!</small>
</font>
Skinner's Guide at mudmovers (http://mudmovers.com/Sims/FB/fb_skinnersguide.htm) | Skinner's heaven (http://www.1java.org/sh) | IL2skins (http://www.il2skins.com)
<font color="#999999">
My Forgotten Battles Webpage (http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/index.html) Current Wallpaper: <font color="#999999">Bf-109 Morning Run</font></font>

<A HREF="http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=zhiwg" TARGET=_blank>"Whirlwind Whiner"
The first of the few</A>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
</body>
</html>

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 06:12 AM
If you are just trying to fly straight and level, you can bind a key to "Level Stabilizer," which is near the rudder keys under control setup, I believe. This does not automatically trim the aircraft, and when you disengage it, your trim will be at the same settings before you engaged it. Be careful adjusting trim with level-stabilizer engaged. If, for example, the aircraft keeps pulling up while you are flying, you engage level-stabilizer to level out and then adjust the trim to make the aircraft climb some while still under level-stabilizer, when you disengage the level-stabilizer this added up trim will work in conjunction with the tendency to pull up you were experiencing before you turned level-stabilizer on. You may find the aircraft suddenly pulling violently upward, perhaps snap-stalling in the process. It's best to return adjusted trim settings to neutral before disengaging.