PDA

View Full Version : is this rig good enough?



Avont29
06-19-2007, 03:48 PM
you think this will run FSX at max settings?

think i can overclock the CPU to 3.0ghz?

i hear intel core 2 duo is a good thing? whats that mean?

maybe i can get this pc? then upgrade the parts or someting for SOW:BOB at a later time


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883227014

horseback
06-19-2007, 04:40 PM
Just glancing at it, I'd recommend a better videocard, at least a 7600GT, and another gigabyte of RAM.

I have an e6600 core 2 and it is truly awesome compared to the Athlon 64 3500+ system it replaced, so you're on the right track.

However, I suspect you'll find that no rig is ever good enough once you get the fever... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

cheers

horseback

Divine-Wind
06-19-2007, 04:47 PM
All that for less than $700? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif My Dell cost that much and all I got were the usual integrated pieces of junk!

neural_dream
06-19-2007, 04:51 PM
NO. It's far from enough. Wait 5-6 months and buy its equivalent then.

heywooood
06-19-2007, 06:59 PM
that is decent - but as horseback says - you want to up the GPU to a 512mb onboard ram for FSX

and as others have said - it would be better for a genuine flightsim fanatic to wait until after 1c's SoW:BoB and GT's KoTS are released and then see whats needed.

But if that rig is expandable (and with the MSI mobo listed there it is) I would go ahead and get it....I assume you already have a widescreen monitor?
A really good w/s monitor makes flying come alive...

And the only other thing I would add is a second hard drive...I put my O/S on the primary and everything else on the secondary drive - its just a better way in every way.

PF_Coastie
06-19-2007, 08:40 PM
I would stay away from it unless you can get it upgraded to minimum of 2gb ram. Vista is a real ram hog and 1gb is the minimum just for that, not including games.

The video card will need upgraded for sure, but it may be ok for lower settings until you can afford to upgrade it.

The other big thing is the Power supply. I would want a minimum of 500w preferably 600+w if you plan to get a high end video card.

Good Luck!

heywooood
06-19-2007, 10:36 PM
yeah - that power supply is too small and the 2gigs of ram is critical...

neural_dream
06-20-2007, 03:35 AM
Oh yes. The power supply. 400 watt no-name. lol

stansdds
06-20-2007, 04:09 AM
You'll need to change that video card, the Nv7300LE is the least expensive of the budget video cards, it's fine for business applications and web surfing, but not for games or sims. FSX does like a lot of video RAM, 512MB is recommended.

I'd add another gigabyte of RAM.

And the 400 watt power supply might be enough for that system as sold, but I think you would be better with a well known, quality psu of 500 watts or more and at least 28 amps on the 12v lines.

Oh, and I see it comes with Windows Vista. Personal opinion here, Vista sucks when compared to Windows XP.

Xiolablu3
06-20-2007, 04:21 AM
Originally posted by neural_dream:
Oh yes. The power supply. 400 watt no-name. lol

I have always used cheap powersupplys, and the only one to go bang was an Antec good quality one.

All the other supposedly crappy makes have run flawlessly, QTEC, Noname's all of them.

Maybe I have just been lucky, but as long as your PSU runs the comp stable, cant see a problem. I have never spent more than 25 on a PSU.

mortoma
06-20-2007, 04:25 AM
I agree about the power supply too. But one thing that I'm wanting is a SLI motherboard. I actually plan to get a system similar to that but with much higher quality RAM and 1 gig more of it. And I plan to get a 7300 video card too at first but later get two much better videos cards to run the SLI capability. In my case, that cheapo video card will still beat out my old TI4600 that I still use in my 5 year old current rig. I'd get SLI capability if I were you and expensive RAM, such as Corsair brand. I think Corsair is the brand to beat for gaming since they stress it out at their facility and sell the stuff that pases the rigorous testing at high speeds. If you end up getting an SLI capable mobo, you'll need to get a much more powerful power supply than that. Even if you stick to the non-SLI mobo, I'd stll get a better power supply!!! I was going to get my new rig this summer but I decided to get a laptop computer first, since it was need for me. I am writing this on my new laptop now. I'm not going to use my laptop for power games like '46, only for more casual games and the internet.

mortoma
06-20-2007, 04:29 AM
Originally posted by Xiolablu3:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by neural_dream:
Oh yes. The power supply. 400 watt no-name. lol

I have always used cheap powersupplys, and the only one to go bang was an Antec good quality one.

All the other supposedly crappy makes have run flawlessly, QTEC, Noname's all of them.

Maybe I have just been lucky, but as long as your PSU runs the comp stable, cant see a problem. I have never spent more than 25 on a PSU. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>I had a no-namer power supply in my old, old tower go bad this spring. Fortunately, it did not spike anything else when it blew up.
I replaced with another no-namer since my rig is sooooooooo old!! When I build a new rig this fall/winter, it will have a nicer brand. In this case, the unknown brand is not the issue, the 400 wats is. Any gaming rig these days should have at least 500 watts, preferably 700.

neural_dream
06-20-2007, 06:29 AM
nominal watts dont matter. I judge by the price. Same for Mbytes and graphics cards. More or less anyway.

The quality of a PSU isn't only about not failing. Try rip a movie with a cheap PSU and with an expensive one. The difference in speed may easily be of magnitude 10x.

Avont29
06-21-2007, 06:07 PM
so what, if i want a decent comp i just have to get a 1000 buck rig?

can u find me one on newegg?

PF_Coastie
06-21-2007, 06:15 PM
Originally posted by Avont29:
so what, if i want a decent comp i just have to get a 1000 buck rig?

can u find me one on newegg?

Unfortunatley yes! You gotta pay to play man.

However, we can help you get the best bang for your buck. The rig you are looking at is just not a gaming rig. Also, look at it this way, you could spend $5,000+++ on a top of the line gaming system. We could help you get something that will play games just fine with good image quality for 1/5th of that.

Avont29
06-21-2007, 07:15 PM
well link me..


my budget is probally somewhere around $600 to $1000 bucks

Avont29
06-21-2007, 09:35 PM
dang, these top of the line pc's are expensive...i mean 400 bucks for a 512 graphics card?? ..jesus

well what about these? i can add mroe memory to these no problem

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite...782558&Sku=C122-3620 (http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2782558&Sku=C122-3620)
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite...156277&Sku=V133-6700 (http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2156277&Sku=V133-6700)
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite...o=3118935&CatId=1886 (http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3118935&CatId=1886)



take a look at the third link...that looks pretty good, 512MB graphics card, and a 3.20GHZ processor, thats good right? im trying to find a pc at a good gost to run these games, anything greater than 800 bucks is pushing it, i'd have to ask my mother to pay half on it and i pay the other half lol.

Avont29
06-21-2007, 11:27 PM
seems the links are broken,
this is what i was talking about


http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite...o=3118935&CatId=1886 (http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3118935&CatId=1886)

stansdds
06-22-2007, 04:20 AM
Also check Newegg.com, great prices and great service. I also look at the reviews the purchasers submit. If an item has received 100 reviews and 90 people said it was a bad choice, they can't all be wrong. Oh, and it's often less expensive to buy the components and put it together than it is to buy a pre-assembled computer.

Zoom2136
06-22-2007, 10:34 AM
read below

If you build it it will save you a lot of $$$$$$

And the guys in here will help you with it..

That's what I'm doing right now... I'm a first time builder to...

Here what I bought...

1x ASUS P5N32-E SLI 680i motherboard (for all of you same as the ASUS Striker Extreme but about 150$ less ) about $230 U.S.
1x Core 2 Duo E6600 CPU about $230 U.S.
2x BFG 7900 GTX OC (about $200 U.S.) got those on sale in a store that was going out of business
4x 512k Corsair DDR2 XMS 5400C Pro RAM (I ported this from a older rig... but you can get 2 gig of DDR2 OCZ 6400C for about $100)
1x LG DVD (about 30$)
1x 3 1/5 floppy (about 10$)
1x Ultra X3 PSU (about 100$)
1x Antex 900 case (this thing as a lot of fans) ((about $120)... ho my f... good I got robbed... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif
1x Chilltec Peltier CPU cooler (about $130 but you don't really need it unless you want to overclock the pants of a E6600 Core Duo)
1x Raptor 10K rpm HDD (already had it... but you can get a decent S7200 rpm ATA drive for less than $100)

So if you think of it

- Mobo - about $215 (and its future proof cause its support the up******* Intel CPU (Penryn I think its called). And it come with a PCIe x1 expension surround card.. so you don't have to buy an Sounblaster X-Fi to have good hardware accelerated sound...

http://www.ncixus.com/products/107/132/Motherboards/SLI%20Ready/

- CPU - $230

http://www.ncixus.com/products/19144/BX80557E6600/Intel/

- 2 gig RAM - $95

http://www.ncixus.com/products/18495/OCZ2G8002GK/OCZ%20Technology/

- PSU - $115

http://www.ncixus.com/products/19648/SST-ST65ZF/Silverstone%20Technology/

- HDD - $65

http://www.ncixus.com/products/18729/ST3250620AS/Seagate/

- Case - $77 after rebate

http://www.ncixus.com/products/18729/ST3250620AS/Seagate/

- Optical (DVD) and 3 1/2 drive - 40$

- Video Card - $290 (you can get a 8800GTS 320meg) I went for the 7900GTX because of the price... but they are.. well on there way to be obsolte...

http://www.ncixus.com/products/22688/320-P2-N811-AR/eVGA/

Total $1,127 but you have a very good rig...

If you don't have a monitor had about $200 for something to start with...

FE_pilot
06-22-2007, 11:26 AM
Here is another Option:

MOBO+ CPU Q6600: $500

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite...o=3189364&CatId=2406 (http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3189364&CatId=2406)

Video Card 8600GTS: $230

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite...o=3048550&CatId=1560 (http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3048550&CatId=1560)


Ram: $95

http://www.ncixus.com/products/18495/OCZ2G8002GK/OCZ%20Technology/

700watt PSU: $110

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/ite...2235424&body=REVIEWS (http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2235424&body=REVIEWS)

HardDrive: $65

http://www.ncixus.com/products/18729/ST3250620AS/Seagate/

Case: $70

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/ite...1446794&body=REVIEWS (http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1446794&body=REVIEWS)


Add a 22" wide screen monitor for around $230.

For a DVD/CD Drive, you can choose yourself on what you like.


Total is around $1100 dollars without the monitor.

Zoom2136
06-22-2007, 12:56 PM
Nice pics Pilot, like the mobo... and the PSU as great value for its $$$

But I would not buy the 8600 as the 8800GTS is only 60$ more and gives a lot more... better bang for the buck IMHO.

I would get the ASUS board and E6600 (for 55$ less) and put the difference toward to 8800 GTS

JR_Greenhorn
06-22-2007, 01:13 PM
Anyone looking at Core 2 Duo processors should be aware that they have released two new models somewhat recently.

Originally, there were the e6300 & e6400 with 2M FSB, and e6600 & e6700 with 4M FSB. Now, they have added an e6320 & e6420 with similar specs to the e6300 & e6400, but with the 4M FSB. The last time I checked, the 20-series CPUs were selling at about the same as the 2M versions.



By the way, I have an e6600 in the rig I built (first time) in February. I'm very pleased with it. With 2GB of Corsair XMS RAM, a 7900GS vid card, and a $50 7200rpm SATA hard drive, it runs everything noticeably faster than the IBM workstation I use at work (3.6+GHz P4, 2G RAM, Quadro FX1300, and SCSI hard drive).

FE_pilot
06-22-2007, 04:10 PM
The new Intel processor's might have 4mb cache but the Quad 6600 has 8mb cache and it comes with a free 1333m FSB mobo with 3 pci-e x16 slots.

To that you can add SLI Video cards and a physics processor.

With AC'97 HD 8 channel audio it will save you the money you would normaly spend on a Sound Card.


Also it will support up to 8 gigs ddr2 800mhz of memory.



Raid configuration is also supported up to 3gig's of speed.