PDA

View Full Version : 71.89 to 77.72



panther3485
07-30-2005, 11:23 AM
Hi guys,

Have 6800GT and was running Nvidia driver 71.89. Just changed to 77.72. If anything, in-game performance seems slightly worse, rather than better or same. Anyone else find this?

panther3485

panther3485
07-30-2005, 11:23 AM
Hi guys,

Have 6800GT and was running Nvidia driver 71.89. Just changed to 77.72. If anything, in-game performance seems slightly worse, rather than better or same. Anyone else find this?

panther3485

altstiff
07-30-2005, 11:31 AM
I find the opposite. Better FPS.

SeaFireLIV
07-30-2005, 01:21 PM
71.89 best so far.

panther3485
07-30-2005, 07:33 PM
Thanks guys,

Will roll back and forward (to make sure it isn't something else that produced the change), then back again to 71.89 and stay there, if the findings support my original impression and what SeaFireLIV reckons.

Again, thank you both for your opinions and input!

Best regards,
panther3485

Capt_Pepper
07-31-2005, 09:46 AM
Timely subject for me here....
Had a power failure from storms last week & lost everything. Rebuilding now and on the upside, I got to upgrade to a 6800GT.

Most everyone seems to agree that 71.89 is the best driver so far. That said, I checked all over the NVidea site and can only find the driver for the 77.72.

May I ask if anyone can please direct me to where I can get the 71.89 driver?

Thanks

Clan_Graham
07-31-2005, 10:00 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Capt_Pepper:
Timely subject for me here....
Had a power failure from storms last week & lost everything. Rebuilding now and on the upside, I got to upgrade to a 6800GT.

Most everyone seems to agree that 71.89 is the best driver so far. That said, I checked all over the NVidea site and can only find the driver for the 77.72.

May I ask if anyone can please direct me to where I can get the 71.89 driver?

Thanks </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

If you go to the NVidea site and type in 71.89 in the "search" box it will take you to the driver.

Capt_Pepper
07-31-2005, 10:18 AM
Wow.......thank you VERY much, Sir!!
Worked perfectly. Totally forgot about looking for them in search.

Thanks again!!

johnraines
09-05-2005, 04:22 PM
I'm running Asus V9999 with NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra using Nvidia driver 71.89 but Lockon won't run with that driver. Runs OK with 71.84 though.

Any ideas anyone?

JunkoIfurita
09-05-2005, 05:39 PM
Unless you're running a 7800GTX, OR a pair of 6800 cards or above in an SLI setup, stick with 71.89

From various sources, as far as I can figure, the 71.89 driver was the last driver optimised for a single card setup - for the last few renditions NVidia has been concentrating on ironing out the performance issues with SLI. So if you use 77.72 (or the 81.xx beta drivers - even better) with an SLI setup, you'll notice a massive improvement (I did). If you're using a single card, I wouldn't be surprised if your frames drop off a bit.

Once NVidia have got SLI sorted, they'll probably put together a driver update that works equally well with both...

----

JSG72
09-05-2005, 06:16 PM
78.03 driver released.(Beta)

BelaLvgosi
09-05-2005, 08:23 PM
If you dig out the tech foruns etc, you'll find that the latest good driver for il2 and 6000 series is 71.25 (you can find them in 3d guru, these were made only for 6 series and have trouble with sli, but you can install them on any other card with the provided extra *.inf). 66.93 are very stable too, altough a tad slower in benchmarks, but maybe not enough be noticeable in gameplay (talking about 1-2fps).

71.89's won't exibit missing textures, but have the micro stutter problem at low level, this is most pronounciable with sm3.

Brain32
09-06-2005, 11:54 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> I'm running Asus V9999 with NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra using Nvidia driver 71.89 but Lockon won't run with that driver. Runs OK with 71.84 though.

Any ideas anyone? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

LockOn runs with 71.89 but you have to turn advanced haze to basic...