PDA

View Full Version : discrete keystrokes for cockpit builders?



[VAAF]ruprecht
01-18-2006, 12:12 AM
Hi, I've just got back into PF but am a little disappointed with the prevalence of "toggle" keys in the keyboard map. My cockpit includes switches for gear, flap, hook, tailwheel etc and it would be great if PF could join the ranks of other sims that support pitbuilders by having options for, e.g., seperate "gear up" and "gear down" keys instead of "toggle gear" so that pitbuilders can map them appropriately to their switches.

Of course, maybe this is already supported somehow and I've missed it, but I looked carefully through the keyboard config in PF and could only see toggles.

Also is it possible to map mixture to a HOTAS rotary the same way prop pitch is?

[VAAF]ruprecht
01-18-2006, 12:12 AM
Hi, I've just got back into PF but am a little disappointed with the prevalence of "toggle" keys in the keyboard map. My cockpit includes switches for gear, flap, hook, tailwheel etc and it would be great if PF could join the ranks of other sims that support pitbuilders by having options for, e.g., seperate "gear up" and "gear down" keys instead of "toggle gear" so that pitbuilders can map them appropriately to their switches.

Of course, maybe this is already supported somehow and I've missed it, but I looked carefully through the keyboard config in PF and could only see toggles.

Also is it possible to map mixture to a HOTAS rotary the same way prop pitch is?

LEXX_Luthor
01-18-2006, 03:13 AM
* bump *

Gear Up and Gear Down would be a great advance in the software, and the I-16 and F4F have this feature already in their manual crank Gear Up and Gear Down.

I would like to add another request for independent radiator controls, like how Oleg does the prop pitch and fuel mix.

:thumps: doh http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Bearcat99
01-18-2006, 04:35 PM
Yeah the rads would be nice... I would settle for some kinfd of moving lever or knob or something in the cockpit. Unles you are in a rtadiual engined plane.. and only a few of those.. you have no idea where yur radiator is... and if you have your hudlog turned off to add to immersion.... you are asically in the dark.

WWSensei
01-18-2006, 05:12 PM
With the right toys it can be done...

http://www.wingwalkers.org/vault/console/console2.jpg

http://www.wingwalkers.org/vault/console/console3.jpg

[VAAF]ruprecht
01-18-2006, 05:44 PM
Yeah, I've got that too:
http://pitblog.radsy.com/archives/pp_front.jpg

The problem is that without discrete functions, if my switches get out of sync with the sim, they stay out of sync - so putting the gear lever down sends "G" to PF, which might actually raise the gear if it's already down in the sim. Discretes solve that, and most other sims are starting to support them.

LEXX_Luthor
01-18-2006, 07:05 PM
Bear, to get around the loss of rad info when the HUD is off, I just fly without engine overheat. For me, seeing the glare pasted on the sky is a greater loss of immersion than not watching engine temps. For some planes, you do have rad info in the cockpit, and those are sweet, and the with I-185 you can see the cowl flaps directly from the cockpit, and open rads give a Racy look and its great (and a Fw~esque gunnery challenge which is fun too -- at times), so for a few planes I can go back to enabling engine overheat.

TooCooL34
01-18-2006, 07:19 PM
Making Radiator key discrete is absolutely necessary for all players, not just cockpit builders.
Did no one petition about this?
I thought I did but I found it was in my dream. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Yog_Shoggoth
01-18-2006, 08:25 PM
Where did you get that?

WWSensei
01-18-2006, 08:32 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by [VAAF]ruprecht:
Yeah, I've got that too:
http://pitblog.radsy.com/archives/pp_front.jpg

The problem is that without discrete functions, if my switches get out of sync with the sim, they stay out of sync - so putting the gear lever down sends "G" to PF, which might actually raise the gear if it's already down in the sim. Discretes solve that, and most other sims are starting to support them. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Can be done via Devicelink as well as you can query for current state of switches (or track a state machine itself). Won't work for online though.

Edited to correct "offline" to "online"...fat fingers and slow brain. ;-)

Aviar
01-18-2006, 08:54 PM
Don't you mean..."Won't work for ONLINE though."?

Aviar