PDA

View Full Version : Can't save config file

casualty26ac
05-09-2007, 10:21 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie to 1946 and IL2. Got a new PC, Vista installed and I can't save my config settings. I get this message when I try to save changes, "Cannot create the C:\Program Files\Ubi Soft\1946\config.ini file."

I checked the properties and it's not "read-only." Any fixes? Thanks

Bearcat99
05-09-2007, 10:51 PM
You shouldn't have any problems. The file already exists.. if you modify it just save it. Backup and rename the original.

Feathered_IV
05-09-2007, 10:54 PM
Sounds like it is 'read only' right click on it and select Properties. Un-check the read only box and then click apply. Good luck!

casualty26ac
05-10-2007, 01:08 AM
The entire Ubisoft folder is set to read-only. I change it, and it checks itself as read-only again.

-HH-Quazi
05-10-2007, 01:08 AM
After you make the changes you want, try just clicking the "X" up in the right hand corner like you are going to close it and see if it offers you and opportunity to save the changes.

-HH-Quazi
05-10-2007, 01:09 AM
Originally posted by casualty26ac:
The entire Ubisoft folder is set to read-only. I change it, and it checks itself as read-only again.

Strange indeed. Go to your Ubisoft folder and see if it is set to read only and uncheck it. If it switches back to read only by itself, then go to your Program Files folder and see if it is checked for read only. If so uncheck it and see if it stays unchecked.

I am running XP and my game folder is checked for read only but my conf file is not. This may be something dealing with Vista. My suggestion above is comprised mainly of logic than of experience.

Capt.LoneRanger
05-10-2007, 02:02 AM
1. The name of the file is conf.ini, not config.ini IIRC.
2. Files on C are usually marked as write-protected. One reason to NOT install games on the C-drive.