PDA

View Full Version : ME262 Fires (not T/O)

Apache600
06-16-2008, 06:16 PM
Hey guys, been addicted to IL-2 for a while. It's pretty sad ... i'm a Flight Instructor, and fly most of the day at work, and then i come home ... and fly some more in IL-2.

The one thing i can't figure out what to do is when an engine catches fire in the ME-262 (due to enemy fire) how the heck can you secure it?

My normal procedure is (on the effected engine)
1) Throttle to idle
2) Mixture Cut-off
3) Ignition off
4) Increase airspeed until fire extinguishes.

Usually works well ... but a few minutes later, it lights up again. Does anyone know how to handle this problem?

Apache600
06-16-2008, 06:16 PM
Hey guys, been addicted to IL-2 for a while. It's pretty sad ... i'm a Flight Instructor, and fly most of the day at work, and then i come home ... and fly some more in IL-2.

The one thing i can't figure out what to do is when an engine catches fire in the ME-262 (due to enemy fire) how the heck can you secure it?

My normal procedure is (on the effected engine)
1) Throttle to idle
2) Mixture Cut-off
3) Ignition off
4) Increase airspeed until fire extinguishes.

Usually works well ... but a few minutes later, it lights up again. Does anyone know how to handle this problem?

Falcke
06-16-2008, 06:37 PM
I don't think there is a way to stop it from catching on fire again. Just bail out or quickly put it on the ground if you're low.

DuckyFluff
06-16-2008, 07:11 PM
Unfortunately there is no cure, you may put it out momentarily, however as you have found out it soon re-ignites...bail if you can http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

gorillasika
06-17-2008, 12:40 AM
No need to bail instantly.
I have been able to fly several minutes and land after the engine has catched fire, but I think you have to be quite high for starters. So I don't know if this applies to getting fire down low.