PDA

View Full Version : Altitude and speed record - IL2



general_kalle
11-08-2008, 06:31 PM
first picture is me in a BI6, second one is a squadmate in a Me163
unlimited fuel, otherwise no cheat.

http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g90/general_kalle/il2fb2008-11-0900-35-06-98.jpg

http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g90/general_kalle/index.jpg

anybody have something even wilder?

Divine-Wind
11-08-2008, 07:35 PM
SEVENTY-FOUR thousand feet?

I'm guessing it took a while to get there. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Boosher
11-08-2008, 08:18 PM
Actually Divine-Wind, if you look closely, that says 74,055 METERS.

na85
11-08-2008, 08:42 PM
That looks shooped. I can tell by looking at the pixels and having seen quite a few shoops in my time.

RPMcMurphy
11-08-2008, 11:10 PM
I say we make some standards here if we want to compete:

1. Start from 10,000 meters.


2. Go as high as you can.


3. Land and walk away from it.

FlixFlix
11-09-2008, 03:40 AM
Someone in this forum once made it to 800,000km something. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif
Meh.

gorkyporky
11-09-2008, 06:59 AM
The highest i got until now was 34-35km with an me-163, but i didnt have unlimited fuel. Anyways, diving down from that altitude is quite enough to gain some speed to catch a b-29.

steeldelete
11-09-2008, 07:12 AM
I'm not going that far, I'm afraid of hights.

Choctaw111
11-09-2008, 07:22 AM
I have tried this many times with the rocket planes, and can get nowhere near what others are capable of.
I don't know how they can get that high.
I completely agree with RPMcMurphy about the standards. To make it equal for everyone, so we are competing on a level playing field, we must all start the same way.
I like the landing part also.

Divine-Wind
11-09-2008, 07:24 AM
Originally posted by Boosher:
Actually Divine-Wind, if you look closely, that says 74,055 METERS.
Bah, that's what I meant. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif I even took the time to finally figure out what all those letters stood for.

(By the way, the speedbars in both screenshots show what looks like a much slower speed, is that normal?)

Phil_C
11-09-2008, 07:29 AM
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b338/Philski24/Screenshots/alt1.jpg
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b338/Philski24/Screenshots/alt2.jpg
This is my personal record so far- realistic settings, start from the ground.

M_Gunz
11-09-2008, 07:48 AM
IL2 atmosphere is the same from 10km to however high so with unlimited fuel it's only patience
that limits a good flier.

Long time ago here the challenge was for height with limited fuel in BI-1.
That takes more skill.

Phil_C
11-09-2008, 07:53 AM
10k air start, unlimited fuel, here is my record.


Tho from the time i started to the time i got to this alt., it wasnt a full fuel run, so im thinking it can be done with realistic settings...


http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b338/Philski24/Screenshots/grab119080003.jpg

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b338/Philski24/Screenshots/grab1109080002.jpg

Fireball_
11-09-2008, 07:54 AM
Originally posted by Divine-Wind:
(By the way, the speedbars in both screenshots show what looks like a much slower speed, is that normal?)

The dials show True Airspeed, The speedbar shows Indicated Airspeed. Those numbers will diverge more and more the higher you go.

JG52Uther
11-09-2008, 09:38 AM
Normal altitude for online wars.

general_kalle
11-09-2008, 10:14 AM
i swear with my life or something that its not cheat or photoshopped or anything. i was on comms with the squadmate while we did it both, then he sent me the picture.

speed bar shows IAS - indicated airspeed
wonder women view, the yellow gauges shows
TAS - true airspeed.

from what my squadmate descriped its not piece of cake to get that high. its a careful nursing the plane all the way..you have to maintain good climbing speed without stalling it and without loosing altitude.

speed is simpley..just dive.
i think aktually that my squadmate in the me136 maneged to get +2000kmh TAS

Viper2005_
11-09-2008, 10:32 AM
Last time I did this sort of thing, I found that it was possible to get the Go229 up to scary altitudes and speeds which (on a standard day) would have corresponded to Mach numbers greater than one.

I don't know if this is still possible.

BTW, the secret is to fly fast and climb gently.

M_Gunz
11-09-2008, 03:26 PM
It's a limit of the IL2 flight engine.

general_kalle
11-09-2008, 04:18 PM
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g90/general_kalle/highaltitude.jpg


== CLOUD NEWS ==
10. november 2008
_______________
Author: General_Kalle
_______________

This is a historical date! Today a member of the Renowned CPS squadron name CPS_FlyingStone maneged to reach an altitude which allowed for Orbit around our home planet. Eventually, having just crossed the 130.000 mark decided that we wanted to go home to the warm friendship of the cps pilots so he pointen his nose downwards and flew home towards the planet...
"Unfortunatly the last we saw of him was, what must have been a huge fireball but due to the altitude on which it happened we did not see more than a tiny glimpse of fire... However we found some shrapnel later." Says a saddened freind of FlyingStone".

During his dive he documented some incredible info he said that he had reached and incredible speed but as his camara was out of film he was not able to proove it. i didnt tell us the exact speed as he did not want to be remembered as a person wo purposedly exaggerated his archievments. We can only guess on what his real archievment was but no daubt it must have been something to think about considering he dived from a very altitude of more than 130.000 Meters.

R.I.P CPS_FlyingStone.

=== === === === === === === === === === === === === === === === === === ===

Yes i really did this, i was flying a Me163 with unlimited fuel hosted by a fellow squadmate CPS_HerrRML.
no its not photoshopped and no cheat is done whatsoever.
i pressed F9 extensivly as its my Fraps screenshot key but for unknown reasons it did not take any pictures in the second half of my flight, luckly i found that i had one of th ingame "grabs" in my folder that can proove my altitude. i maneged to get slightly higher, somewhere in between 130.000 and 140.000

During the dive i reached an incredible speed but as i have no proove (stupid fraps) i will not tell as i dont want you to think of me as a lier.

TX-EcoDragon
11-09-2008, 08:04 PM
Actually, TX-Kingsnake used to make these funny coops that started at 99,999 or maybe it was 999,999 meters. . . something absurd. The aircraft were not all that controllable, but if you kept them aimed at the little ball beneath you (ground/planet earth) you would eventually get into enough atmosphere to maneuver. . .of course the best part is that the true airspeed was totally insane. I don't have the tracks on this laptop, but when I get home in a few days I'll try to find out the speeds, and post the tracks. . .but of course, those who doubt can just try it for yourself.

Trinity_Jay
11-10-2008, 03:07 AM
I believe you and Herr as you're top pilots and blokes. No need to lie.

CPS_Bulldog

general_kalle
11-11-2008, 02:07 AM
Thanks mate http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Urufu_Shinjiro
11-11-2008, 11:30 AM
I don't remember if I got a screenshot but one time I did get up around 132,000m. My squad m8s were mighty impressed, lol.

Uufflakke
11-12-2008, 09:26 AM
It took me days and days to get to this altitude (with unlimited fuel of course) http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

http://i256.photobucket.com/albums/hh195/Uufflakke/HighAltitude02.jpg

LEBillfish
11-12-2008, 09:35 AM
Originally posted by Uufflakke:
It took me days and days to get to this altitude (with unlimited fuel of course) http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif


Some awesome earth modelling huh? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

K2

general_kalle
11-12-2008, 05:33 PM
omg omg, how did you do that? some serius lacks in il2 moddeling. everybody knows that P11's cant reach the space.


alright, im jokin

nice composition there...you forgot to reduce your fuel Mix http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

stalkervision
11-12-2008, 05:56 PM
actually when you are at the max Il-2 height quite often a alien space ship comes out and fries your as-s for being up into their territory. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif

http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g90/general_kalle/highaltitude.jpg

general_kalle
11-18-2008, 02:51 AM
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g90/general_kalle/untitled.jpg

same squadmate - i'd wish i had my picture aswell.

check the airspeed..and yes that is true airspeed http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif

ImMoreBetter
11-18-2008, 09:51 PM
I decided to make an attempt myself.

Unlimited fuel, starting on the runway, over Berlin.

My goal: 150,000m.

Unfortunately, my prnt scrn button is broken. So I was forced to use a camera.

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d113/rustymusket/IMG_5002.jpg

The aliens arived, but instead of shooting me down, they vaporized all land on Earth.
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d113/rustymusket/IMG_5006.jpg

Houston, we have a problem.
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d113/rustymusket/IMG_5011.jpg

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d113/rustymusket/IMG_5012.jpg

Didn't even get half way there. By the time I pulled out of the spin, I was at 52000m.

staticline1
11-18-2008, 10:40 PM
I got one just don't know how to post a picture. Some help please.

ImMoreBetter
11-18-2008, 11:13 PM
Press the print screen key, usually next to your scroll lock/f12 key.

Then immediately paste it into paint.

If that doesn't work, you'll have to use a camera or something.

WTE_Galway
11-18-2008, 11:41 PM
Originally posted by staticline1:
I got one just don't know how to post a picture. Some help please.

You need to put the photo somewhere else like on Photobucket first and then paste the link to your photo into the image button above the reply window.

Uufflakke
11-18-2008, 11:49 PM
Originally posted by staticline1:
I got one just don't know how to post a picture. Some help please.

This link will explain briefly how to post pictures:

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/880...801070814#8801070814 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/8801070814?r=8801070814#8801070814)

general_kalle
11-19-2008, 03:13 AM
F12 puts a TGA picture in your il2 root folder names Grab1, Grab, Grab3 etc.

just convert it to JPG and uplaod it..
alternativly download the free version of fraps, this will alow you to assaign a hotkey to save BMP screenshots somewhere you point it to. you can then convert them to JPEG's and upload.