PDA

View Full Version : Help with UDPgraph



KiIIerCharlie
10-29-2005, 11:38 AM
Anyone have udpgraph working? I added the devicelink section to my conf.ini file, set the ports, and I still can't get it to work. Anyone want to help?

KiIIerCharlie
10-29-2005, 11:38 AM
Anyone have udpgraph working? I added the devicelink section to my conf.ini file, set the ports, and I still can't get it to work. Anyone want to help?

hamselv2
10-29-2005, 12:29 PM
As you dont tell anything about what error messages you receive, or what part of the setup that doesn't work, it's hard to help you.
An UDPGraph guide is here: http://www.avcsite.ru/il2dl/graph_en.htm
If you explain exactly what you have done until now, someone may be able to help.

KiIIerCharlie
10-29-2005, 02:26 PM
Here's what I added to my conf.ini:

[DeviceLink]
port=21100
IPS=127.0.0.1
host=127.0.0.1

Here's what my UDPgraph settings are:
Server: 127.0.0.1
Port: 21100
Localhose: 127.0.0.1


I start updgraph.exe then start IL-2 and fly, but nothing on the graph changes. Is there anything more I need to do?

KiIIerCharlie
10-29-2005, 02:32 PM
hmmm it works now http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

KiIIerCharlie
10-29-2005, 02:50 PM
Well, I got SOME of the parameters to display. I can get pretty much everything to graph (speed, altitude). What I really need is the aircraft pitch, but it won't display it. I can get the azimuth to display just fine, but when I select pitch it just stays on 0.0.

hamselv2
10-29-2005, 02:56 PM
I have tried your settings and they work ok.
What you need to do is this (I assume that you use v2.0.15):
Put the UDPGraph folder somewhere on your PC.
Run the exe file: now the application starts.
Right click on the blue UDPGraph window. Select
'Switch to graph'. Select the DeviceLink parameters that you want to log /e.g. altitude, TAS, etc.). Place your cursor on the edge of the blue window. Keep you left mouse button down while you expand the view to the size that you want.
Right click on the window again and choose 'Log data'. Logging of data will now start, and data can be found in the logfile. Move the UDPGraph window to somewhere where it won't disturb your game view (you can use a separate monitor for UDPGraph). Start Pacific Fighters, and watch data in real time. If you want data presented as text instead of graph you choose 'Switch to text'.

KiIIerCharlie
10-29-2005, 03:00 PM
Can you get pitch and roll to display? I'm not getting those to display properly. Most of the other values I can though.

hamselv2
10-29-2005, 03:05 PM
Both roll and prop pitch work in UDPGraph.
I think you have to stop logging when you add new logging items in UDPGraph.

-HH-Quazi
10-29-2005, 03:25 PM
Chuck Older has alot of experience with Device Link. Maybe you should PM him with a link to this thread. He may even know how to get the roll rate to show.

hamselv2
10-29-2005, 03:35 PM
I just checked: aircraft pitch works too.

KiIIerCharlie
10-29-2005, 04:37 PM
I got it working... the program has a couple bugs. If you want to add a parameter to measure you pretty much have to close the program, reopen it, then redo the graphed values.

I conducted my first test flight with the B-25 by measuring IAS and angle of attack (pitch). I determined the aircraft's weight by finding the CL vs. alpha curve (with unknown weight), then added 3000 lbs of bombs and found another curve. From these curves and knowing the weight of the bombs I added, I can find out the weight of the aircraft.

I'm finding some very interesting things. The measured weight of the aircraft is almost exactly twice of what it should be (values taken from hardball's). This doesn't really change anything, except that for future experiments I need to be careful how I set my equations up. Here's the data if anyone wants to double check my work:

B-25J, 100% fuel, no bombs:
IAS (km/hr) IAS (m/s) alpha
296.29 82.30277778 2.84
322.6 89.61111111 2.15
347.31 96.475 1.63
364.78 101.3277778 1.32
356.32 98.97777778 1.45

B-25J, 100% fuel, 3000lb of bombs:
IAS (km/hr) IAS (m/s) alpha
295.79 82.16388889 3.07
322.2 89.5 2.33
346.93 96.36944444 1.79
364.43 101.2305556 1.47
356 98.88888889 1.6

This makes me wonder how the game calculates these things. If I didn't mess up on these initial calculations, then I would have to include a weight correction factor. The problem is I don't know if I should apply it to the known bomb load as well.