PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question on Rudder Control



EponineV
10-23-2005, 12:49 PM
I am finding it really hard to master the rudders, they seem to always oversteer and bounce back and forth. I am very new to this sim so I have no idea if I am just bad at it or if I have the patch problem others here do. I played IL2 a bit a year or so ago and don't remember it being this hard.

Outside of the patch issues are rudders usually bouncy? I hope thats a specific enough way to put it.

EponineV
10-23-2005, 12:49 PM
I am finding it really hard to master the rudders, they seem to always oversteer and bounce back and forth. I am very new to this sim so I have no idea if I am just bad at it or if I have the patch problem others here do. I played IL2 a bit a year or so ago and don't remember it being this hard.

Outside of the patch issues are rudders usually bouncy? I hope thats a specific enough way to put it.

dieg777
10-23-2005, 01:14 PM
Hi - I dont know what you have your joystick set to but try these settings - they might help you out

Roll= 0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Pitch= 0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
yaw(rudder)=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0



A lot of people have had to readjust for this patch

good luck

Chuck_Older
10-23-2005, 05:35 PM
You may have the problem lots of folks are having. With no 4.01 experience to compare to, I don't know how you could tell!


But in 4.01, co-ordinated turns became the order of the day. Rudder truly became a primary control input, the way it should be. Prior to 4.01, I had used the rudder only when my aileron control was shot away. In 4.01, I needed the rudder just so I wouldn't soin in a tight bank

EponineV
10-23-2005, 07:54 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by dieg777:
Hi - I dont know what you have your joystick set to but try these settings - they might help you out

Roll= 0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Pitch= 0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
yaw(rudder)=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0



A lot of people have had to readjust for this patch

good luck </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Where do you enter that?

marc_hawkins
10-23-2005, 08:46 PM
on the main menu there's a button called hardware seup, in there go to input to set these up. (i think, from memory.. i'm rather new) If you don't have a twist joystick like me, i think this means that no Z (rudder) axis option is there, or atleast i don't have one! (or am going batty)

..thinking about it, there is a change in rudder response using the keyboard commands like i do with the new patch (i was on FB/AEP/PF only untill a few days ago when i got broadband and th ability to get patches) I thought it was the new flight model making the z-x keys very sensitive indeed, and the , and . and / keys should be used for more gentle input... am i on to something more experienced people????

EponineV
10-23-2005, 09:00 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by marc_hawkins:
on the main menu there's a button called hardware seup, in there go to input to set these up. (i think, from memory.. i'm rather new) If you don't have a twist joystick like me, i think this means that no Z (rudder) axis option is there, or atleast i don't have one! (or am going batty) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Thats what I thought but there are more numbers in his list than boxes on the hardware setup.

dieg777
10-23-2005, 10:25 PM
Sorry - the 0 at each end are for filtering and deadband- ignore these and enter the numbers in the hardware setup, or you can edit your config file to give these values all better explained here

http://www.airwarfare.com/tech/sticks.htm