PDA

View Full Version : ATI tip



XyZspineZyX
08-15-2003, 03:23 PM
Don't know if this has been mentioned but try this; turn down the sreeen resolution, then in the OpenGL/DirectX settings turn off 'application preferece' for anti-aliasing and set it to 4x.

I went down 2 reolutions and it looks just as good, runs much better

XyZspineZyX
08-15-2003, 03:23 PM
Don't know if this has been mentioned but try this; turn down the sreeen resolution, then in the OpenGL/DirectX settings turn off 'application preferece' for anti-aliasing and set it to 4x.

I went down 2 reolutions and it looks just as good, runs much better

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 08:36 PM
Which res. do you use now?

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 08:38 PM
Good tip. Turn it down to make it work../i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

25th_Buzz
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<center>
http://www.vfa25.com/sigs/buzz.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 08:46 PM
When i try to check fps; "fps START SHOW" every time it freezes and won't run anymore................?

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 11:01 PM
Hehe. I have another tip. Turn the resolution down to 640x480 and go brag about your fps in the hundreds http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 11:13 PM
I did the opposite with my GF-4. I shut anti-aliasing off completely and I was able to crank up my rez to 1280x1024 with everything set to excellent. It runs real smooth and looks like I still have it on with such a high rez. The detail set this way is awesome! I can never deal with having to turn down my rez. Blah! It would seem like you're going backwards in the technology instead of forwards. I don't know about ATI cards but for my system, anti-aliasing is a big speed gobbler.

Beware of the Flying Tigers /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Message Edited on 08/20/0302:15AM by FTS_Tigerheart

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 11:25 PM
Why ATI tip for this one?

I use 1280x960 32bit and use 4xFSAA and 8xAF and still get smooth gameplay and good framerate on my Radeon.

<center> http://www.322squadron.com/banners/Giobanner.jpg </center>


Message Edited on 08/19/0311:29PM by Cappadocian_317

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 01:59 AM
Must be an older radeon /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

I run 6xaa and 16x af on my 9700pro @ 1024x76832bit.

rogo

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/LAGIF-small.gif>

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/A-10_Attack_01%7E0.jpg>


"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 02:09 AM
My tip for 9800Pro users, turn up your resolution as high as your monitor descently goes and then turn on 4x AA and 8x aniso.


"Ich bin ein Wuergerwhiner"

"The future battle on the ground will be preceded by battle in the air. This will determine which of the contestants has to suffer operational and tactical disadvantages and be forced throughout the battle into adoption compromise solutions." --Erwin Rommel

http://lbhskier37.freeservers.com/Mesig.jpg
--NJG26_Killa--

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 04:26 AM
MZ6 wrote:
- Don't know if this has been mentioned but try this;
- turn down the sreeen resolution, then in the
- OpenGL/DirectX settings turn off 'application
- preferece' for anti-aliasing and set it to 4x.
-
- I went down 2 reolutions and it looks just as good,
- runs much better
-
-
i think this tip is better for NVIDIA card, only my .2 cents


The Sun is Gone
But I Have a Light
<CENTER>http://images.flagspot.net/i/id%5eaforo.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 04:36 AM
the only nvidia card than can run non-quincunx 4x AA at 1024 with decent frames is the 5900U.

rogo

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/LAGIF-small.gif>

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/9infinite.jpg>


"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 04:52 AM
The 5900 in 1600 res with 4-8x fsaa does just fine. I can even get nuts and use 2048 res with no fsaa. That's how I run GPL, and FB sometimes offline.

25th_Buzz
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<center>
http://www.vfa25.com/sigs/buzz.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 08:39 AM
so the original tip was run a lower res with more AA rather than a higher res with AA turned off ???

<center> http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0SQDLAtUWiWZ3BKw19!aryp7v3C1h1DuNwpHOOuqhlraGSyMAY KiPEOZAA1OBgsLu*Sa0UQ2my0PiFyvNkJ5K7Clsoy7yNtEvOXY nHDuPNiotpZACY2oJxw/aircraftround.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 11:05 AM
AA at lower resolution jus gives the same effect as rasing the resolution, its better to go for higher res than higher AA.

http://lamppost.mine.nu/ahclan/files/sigs/spitwhiners1.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 11:10 AM
Ive been trying to follow you guys but wre will I find AA inthe setting I have selected opengl then radeon 9700/9500 default any help would be appreciated

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 11:26 AM
AA is called Smoothvision in your ATI control panel.

PF-Coastie

<p align="center">http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/images/419x100phantomfighters01.gif (http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/default.asp)

Coasties Place (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/)

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 11:30 AM
Darrayn wrote:
- Ive been trying to follow you guys but wre will I
- find AA inthe setting I have selected opengl then
- radeon 9700/9500 default any help would be
- appreciated
-
-

start -> settings -> control panel -> display -> settings -> advanced

(you can also get to the display settings by right clicking on the desk top and selecting "properties").

If you have a modern Radeon card there should then be tabs for OpenGL and Direct3D. In either tab you can set the levels of full screen anti-aliasing and anisotropic filtering. After that it's just a matter of experimentng and seeing how far you can go before your frame rate becomes too low.

Regards,

RocketDog.

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 11:53 AM
what kind of tip is this ?

U silly wabbit

<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ-M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059752328.jpg </center>

<center><FONT COLOR="white">The "Ace Edge"(c).
With my incremental trim
I am actually able to turn so quickly that, I never turn at all.
In Fact the Planet Earth rotates around the Axis of My PC, thus giving me the optimum turn rate and insuring that you
the bandit are promptly fraged !!!
In memory Of Ray R.I.P.[/i]</font>

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 12:00 PM
Darrayn wrote:
- Ive been trying to follow you guys but wre will I
- find AA inthe setting I have selected opengl then
- radeon 9700/9500 default any help would be
- appreciated
-
-

you need to set it up in the windows drivers for the card, not in FB itself.

i downloaded a utility called "Rage 3D tweak" that makes these adjustments easier

<center> http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0SQDLAtUWiWZ3BKw19!aryp7v3C1h1DuNwpHOOuqhlraGSyMAY KiPEOZAA1OBgsLu*Sa0UQ2my0PiFyvNkJ5K7Clsoy7yNtEvOXY nHDuPNiotpZACY2oJxw/aircraftround.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 12:09 PM
Try this tip on for size if u need more frames only

http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=missionbuilder&id=zztrn



still looks decent too

<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ-M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059752328.jpg </center>

<center><FONT COLOR="white">The "Ace Edge"(c).
With my incremental trim
I am actually able to turn so quickly that, I never turn at all.
In Fact the Planet Earth rotates around the Axis of My PC, thus giving me the optimum turn rate and insuring that you
the bandit are promptly fraged !!!
In memory Of Ray R.I.P.[/i]</font>

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 12:11 PM
start -> settings -> control panel -> display -> settings -> advanced

I follow this part but the panel that opens deos not contain any futher settings

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 12:50 PM
1152 x 864 x 32 , 4 x FSAA, 16 x Anisotropic on a Radeon9700 (non pro). Game runs smooth, except for some small stutters caused by radio chatter.

============================
When it comes to testing new aircraft or determining maximum performance, pilots like to talk about "pushing the envelope." They're talking about a two dimensional model: the bottom is zero altitude, the ground; the left is zero speed; the top is max altitude; and the right, maximum velocity, of course. So, the pilots are pushing that upper-right-hand corner of the envelope. What everybody tries not to dwell on is that that's where the postage gets canceled, too.

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 05:37 PM
Well the fact that all video cards got antialiasing and not just the fastest cards is that using aa causes a less performance hit than uping the resolution. And some of the newer video card models take almost no performance hit with aa and anisotropic enabled.

So you can get better results from uping the resolution but if you choose from 1280x960 and 1600x1200 it can be about fifty fifty on a monitor 21" or smaller.

It all depends on the games too. In racing games the track linescan look really ugly if you don´t use FSAA even if you run at 1600x1200.

Higher resolutions means sharper textures and a cleaner look whereas I get less jaggies at 1280x960 and 4x aa than 1600x1200 with no aa. But 1280x960 is faster than 1600x1200 so it´s a tradeoff.

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 05:53 PM
works for me, the whole point was that it LOOKS JUST AS GOOD AND RUNS BETTER. and I'm pretty sure I'm not imagining it

I got a P2.4/512mb 9700/128 XPpro

Went from 1600x1200x32 (everything on 'Excellent', Anisotropic & AA with "Application Preference" on) at around 40 fps.

Now I'm at 1152 x 864 x 32 at around 75fps (everything on 'Excellent', Anisotropic with "Application Preference" on ,AA and set to 4x with "Application Preference" OFF ).

It looks just as good as it did at 1600x1200x32 AND runs better. I repeat the game LOOKS JUST AS GOOD AND RUNS BETTER.

The key thing is to switch off Application Preference for Anti-aliasing.

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 06:01 PM
I have an XP2700+, 1gig of DDRr-ram, 9700 PRO!, I can't run this game on perfect let alone run it that well on anything over 1086x32bit 4x/4x.... what the ?? How are you people running it so quickly.

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 06:15 PM
chlywly wrote:

- ?? How are you people running it so quickly.

I got XPpro, so I turned off all the services I don't need, there are apps for homeOS that do similar but don't know name

also I hope this clears what I meant

http://www3.sympatico.ca/mz/Untitled-1.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 06:26 PM
See i have all settings on FULL quality and I have anio and aa set on 4x manual. Hmmm maybe i'll format and re-install all drivers etc.

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 07:36 PM
The image was for:
"start -> settings -> control panel -> display -> settings -> advanced

I follow this part but the panel that opens deos not contain any futher settings "

I'm sorry you (chlywly) feel offended and ( seemingly ) feel the need to reformat your machine as a result. hope it goes well for you.

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 11:55 PM
MZ6 wrote:
- works for me, the whole point was that it LOOKS JUST
- AS GOOD AND RUNS BETTER. and I'm pretty sure I'm not
- imagining it
-
- I got a P2.4/512mb 9700/128 XPpro
-
- Went from 1600x1200x32 (everything on 'Excellent',
- Anisotropic & AA with "Application Preference" on)
- at around 40 fps.
-
- Now I'm at 1152 x 864 x 32 at around 75fps
- (everything on 'Excellent', Anisotropic with
- "Application Preference" on ,AA and set to 4x with
- "Application Preference" OFF ).
-
- It looks just as good as it did at 1600x1200x32 AND
- runs better. I repeat the game LOOKS JUST AS GOOD
- AND RUNS BETTER.
-
- The key thing is to switch off Application
- Preference for Anti-aliasing.
-

Well it´s really subjective wether 1600x1200 without aa or 1280x960x32 looks better. 1600x1200 do get a bit cleaner look while running 1280x960x32 with aa makes for more smooth visuals. I do find jaggies really disturbing in computer games. Take away from the immersion really making you remember you are in a virtual world since in the real world there aren´t any jaggies.

But I do see the benefit of running at 1600x1200 though but I currently stick with 1280x960x32 with aa and anisotropic though.

Maybe if I got an 19" monitor instead of a 21" I could run 1600x1200 and not getting the jaggies. But I am upgrading my CPU now so hopefully I will be able to run 1600x1200 with aa. Am just under the point where running 1600x1200 with aa isn´t totally smooth in all maps.

XyZspineZyX
08-21-2003, 08:45 AM
hi there,

I have an 9800 pro and had yellow (sunny) striped distance groundtextures.When i changed settings as above(Quality) the distance looks normal now but I lost the trees f.i. along the riverbanks!Any ideas?

XyZspineZyX
08-21-2003, 08:47 AM
I Have found out that I do not have the ATI control panel installed so I have Installed it and I now see were the AA can be set. When I got my new 9800 card everone said use the Catalyst drivers so that was all I downloaded I did not know there was more. Silly Me I will try some of the yips for improvment thanks to all
Darrayn



Message Edited on 08/21/0307:50AM by Darrayn

XyZspineZyX
08-21-2003, 08:50 AM
What is the big deal?
I have ATI 128 and play on excellent with 1600X1200.
It runs smooth