PDA

View Full Version : flying at a constant heading

deskpilot
09-23-2008, 05:03 AM
Ok, VERY basic skill, but I'm in the hurricane and just trying to be able to keep at a constant compass bearing is proving difficult. Partly because of single engine planes tendancy to keep rolling because of the torque reaction I guess. (this is even worse in the powerful tempest) Any tips for just being able to fly at a constant heading? do I need to trim ailerons? only one of thre guides here suggested aileron trim was not really necessary. By the way, I have a very basic joystick, the logitech atrtack 3 with no proper rudder or even a hat switch, so please don't assume I've anything fancy controls wise.

Jex_TE
09-23-2008, 05:36 AM
From what I've read here, and I'm by no means an expert, you need to trim the rudder and elevators for straight flight. I don't think the german planes have rudder trim though.

M_Gunz
09-23-2008, 06:13 AM
Then it's okay that he's flying a Hurricane?

Afterhours
09-23-2008, 06:30 AM
This is just a matter of practice, just like driving a car on the highway.

When you are a new driver, all you think and worry about are the basics like going straight, stopping and such, but after a short time you are driving down the highway fiddling with your radio a map and a cell phone and the car goes straight without you even thinking about it.

The same will happen with flying this sim. I usually fly axis craft that do not even have aileron trim, but I find myself subconsciously compensating for it without a thought and the aircraft goes straight as an arrow....

M_Gunz
09-23-2008, 06:37 AM
To be able to trim it you need to be able to fly it. If you have to hold the stick back to
fly level then you trim nose up and loosen on your joystick just enough to stay level until
you are flying level without holding the joystick back. Same goes for rudder and aileron.
Trim till there's no force on the stick or rudder and (also when) you are flying coordinated.