PDA

View Full Version : FB Toe Brakes



XyZspineZyX
06-22-2003, 07:08 PM
Seems to me there was a thread regarding toe brakes...or lack of...before. Anyhow, I have CH pedals and cannot make toe brakes work in FB anymore. Anyone else having this problem?

Z

http://sc.groups.msn.com/tn/83/C1/BeowolffsRoninLair/5/49.jpg

XyZspineZyX
06-22-2003, 07:08 PM
Seems to me there was a thread regarding toe brakes...or lack of...before. Anyhow, I have CH pedals and cannot make toe brakes work in FB anymore. Anyone else having this problem?

Z

http://sc.groups.msn.com/tn/83/C1/BeowolffsRoninLair/5/49.jpg

XyZspineZyX
06-22-2003, 07:12 PM
Nope not a problem. Did you set them up in the Hotas axis section at the bottom of page. I had to set the first 3 sliders to zero to keep them from being applied all the time.

<Center>http://www.geocities.com/mad_squadron/index.html
<Center>http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0RADeAnwUNsF!xmzi74V7fM0zsNZLrdqP6EJfhM3yD3f!sLEO4 CdvQZqaQWugce7lDgv!bcKdQTASFYHmbE1x5F2s6VkEKqZOH67 8VupJ4y0/Toad's.jpg?dc=4675413127089644669
</a>
<Center>
&lt;script>var YourPicName='http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0RgDdAo4Ue9rMgrGRpm67Ij*O8isG1PQXDYqaZ*pZOuenHzj31 K61WxrXQmZKj6P0FGhxrm*4FYgMBI6aoAIC6oqXGW0NPjerG5o II1eYIkg/tranflag.gif?dc=4675417702733748611';var a=document.all.tags("img");for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=YourPicName</script>
&lt;script>var a=document.all.tags("table");a[a.length-2].bgColor ="#666600";a[a.length-3].bgColor = "#660000";a[a.length-4].bgColor = "#003300";if(a[a.length-5].innerHTML.indexOf("User Options")!=-1){a[a.length-5].bgColor = "#2B3038";a[a.length-8].bgColor = "#000000";}else{a[a.length-7].bgColor = "#000000";}</script>

XyZspineZyX
06-22-2003, 07:15 PM
MAD_TOAD wrote:
- Nope not a problem. Did you set them up in the Hotas
- axis section at the bottom of page. I had to set the
- first 3 sliders to zero to keep them from being
- applied all the time.
-

Scuse my ignorance, but I'm hoping to get some CH pedals. It's possible to brake with them? And use the rudder at the same time? I do hope so.


'The problem with the world is that everyone is a couple of drinks behind' - Humphrey Bogart

XyZspineZyX
06-22-2003, 07:32 PM
I have CH pedals and had the same problem, but it is intentional as most of the planes in FB dont have toe brakes. They braked with a small lever on the stick and then applied rudders to taxi. So no the toe brakes wont work. Unless they have changed it since IL2.

XyZspineZyX
06-22-2003, 07:34 PM
I have CH pedals (USB) and they work just great, toe brakes and all. So yeah the toe brakes work in FB. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
06-22-2003, 07:37 PM
Yes the toe brakes work! only one side though in FB I heard that most to all Russian and Germ planes didn't have left and right brakes they just applied both sides at the same time. But in real life the allied planes had left and right brakes.

The CH Pro USB I have 3 axis. 1 in the middle between pedals for rudder and a tilt axix per each foot for brakes. in CFS you can set it up with left and right brakes. I have my left foot set up for brakes in FB.

<Center>http://www.geocities.com/mad_squadron/index.html
<Center>http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0RADeAnwUNsF!xmzi74V7fM0zsNZLrdqP6EJfhM3yD3f!sLEO4 CdvQZqaQWugce7lDgv!bcKdQTASFYHmbE1x5F2s6VkEKqZOH67 8VupJ4y0/Toad's.jpg?dc=4675413127089644669
</a>
<Center>
&lt;script>var YourPicName='http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0RgDdAo4Ue9rMgrGRpm67Ij*O8isG1PQXDYqaZ*pZOuenHzj31 K61WxrXQmZKj6P0FGhxrm*4FYgMBI6aoAIC6oqXGW0NPjerG5o II1eYIkg/tranflag.gif?dc=4675417702733748611';var a=document.all.tags("img");for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=YourPicName</script>
&lt;script>var a=document.all.tags("table");a[a.length-2].bgColor ="#666600";a[a.length-3].bgColor = "#660000";a[a.length-4].bgColor = "#003300";if(a[a.length-5].innerHTML.indexOf("User Options")!=-1){a[a.length-5].bgColor = "#2B3038";a[a.length-8].bgColor = "#000000";}else{a[a.length-7].bgColor = "#000000";}</script>

XyZspineZyX
06-22-2003, 07:41 PM
Yeah toad I tried the one footed thing but i found it frustrating so i set my brake to a rocker switch on my yoke instead its much less agro /i/smilies/16x16_robot-very-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
06-22-2003, 07:58 PM
Good Idea

been trying to figure out what to do with the waisted rocker on the x-45 since i got pedals. Wish id of thaought of that before i got used to this. Any other ideas for the rocker switch. Since it always go back to center. I wanted it for mixture or prop but it wont work for those.

<Center>http://www.geocities.com/mad_squadron/index.html
<Center>http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0RADeAnwUNsF!xmzi74V7fM0zsNZLrdqP6EJfhM3yD3f!sLEO4 CdvQZqaQWugce7lDgv!bcKdQTASFYHmbE1x5F2s6VkEKqZOH67 8VupJ4y0/Toad's.jpg?dc=4675413127089644669
</a>
<Center>
&lt;script>var YourPicName='http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0RgDdAo4Ue9rMgrGRpm67Ij*O8isG1PQXDYqaZ*pZOuenHzj31 K61WxrXQmZKj6P0FGhxrm*4FYgMBI6aoAIC6oqXGW0NPjerG5o II1eYIkg/tranflag.gif?dc=4675417702733748611';var a=document.all.tags("img");for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=YourPicName</script>
&lt;script>var a=document.all.tags("table");a[a.length-2].bgColor ="#666600";a[a.length-3].bgColor = "#660000";a[a.length-4].bgColor = "#003300";if(a[a.length-5].innerHTML.indexOf("User Options")!=-1){a[a.length-5].bgColor = "#2B3038";a[a.length-8].bgColor = "#000000";}else{a[a.length-7].bgColor = "#000000";}</script>

XyZspineZyX
06-22-2003, 08:36 PM
I use one side to operate the brakes and the other side to bring the map on and off screen.

XyZspineZyX
06-22-2003, 09:15 PM
MAD_TOAD wrote:
- Good Idea
-
- been trying to figure out what to do with the
- waisted rocker on the x-45 since i got pedals. Wish
- id of thaought of that before i got used to this.
- Any other ideas for the rocker switch. Since it
- always go back to center. I wanted it for mixture or
- prop but it wont work for those.
-


I'm still trying to use the rocker for the rudder. It's useless. I thought that I needed the pedals and now I'm sure.

'The problem with the world is that everyone is a couple of drinks behind' - Humphrey Bogart

XyZspineZyX
06-22-2003, 09:19 PM
nyngje wrote:
- I use one side to operate the brakes and the other
- side to bring the map on and off screen.
-
-

good one! S!


<Center>http://www.geocities.com/mad_squadron/index.html
<Center>http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0RADeAnwUNsF!xmzi74V7fM0zsNZLrdqP6EJfhM3yD3f!sLEO4 CdvQZqaQWugce7lDgv!bcKdQTASFYHmbE1x5F2s6VkEKqZOH67 8VupJ4y0/Toad's.jpg?dc=4675413127089644669
</a>
<Center>
&lt;script>var YourPicName='http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0RgDdAo4Ue9rMgrGRpm67Ij*O8isG1PQXDYqaZ*pZOuenHzj31 K61WxrXQmZKj6P0FGhxrm*4FYgMBI6aoAIC6oqXGW0NPjerG5o II1eYIkg/tranflag.gif?dc=4675417702733748611';var a=document.all.tags("img");for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=YourPicName</script>
&lt;script>var a=document.all.tags("table");a[a.length-2].bgColor ="#666600";a[a.length-3].bgColor = "#660000";a[a.length-4].bgColor = "#003300";if(a[a.length-5].innerHTML.indexOf("User Options")!=-1){a[a.length-5].bgColor = "#2B3038";a[a.length-8].bgColor = "#000000";}else{a[a.length-7].bgColor = "#000000";}</script>

michapma
06-23-2003, 09:08 AM
nyngje, I have been looking for a use for my left brake in FB, good idea. I might otherwise assign a view function to it...

Btw, yes my toe brakes work in FB as well, CH Products USB.

Mike

&lt;script>c2="#99ae6a";c3="#556b2f";c4="#515e2f";c5="#3e463b";a=document.all.tags("table");a[a.length-2].bgColor=c2;a[a.length-3].bgColor=c3;a[a.length-4].bgColor=c4;a[a.length-5].bgColor=c5;a[a.length-8].bgColor=c5;image="http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/images/userbar1.jpg";oa=a[a.length-2].style;oa.backgroundImage="url("+image+")";oa.backgroundPosition="left center";oa.backgroundRepeat="no-repeat"; var CobraAvatar='http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/images/p39n1avatar.jpg'; var a=document.all.tags("img"); for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=CobraAvatar;a=document.all.tags["td"); for[i=0;i<a.length;i++) if[a[i].innerHTML.indexOf["michapma")!=-1)ii=i;a[ii+2].innerHTML="Yefreytor SKULLS_Chap";</script>

<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"><tr valign="top"><td height="40" colspan="3" align="center">The ongoing IL-2 User's Guide project</font> (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/il2guide/)</a></td></tr><tr><td width="40%">FB engine management:
Manifold Pressure sucks (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182081-1.html)
Those Marvelous Props (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182082-1.html)
Mixture Magic (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182084-1.html)
Putting It All Together (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182085-1.html)
Those Fire-Breathing Turbos (Part 1 of 6) (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182102-1.html)</td><td align="center">

SKULLS_Chap

<a href="http://www.skulls98.netfirms.com/il2/index.html" target="_blank" style="color: #191970; font-size: medium">The
SKULLS</a></p></td><td width="40%" align="left" valign="top">Hardware issues:
Sound Can Be Hazardous for Games (http://www6.tomshardware.com/game/20030405/index.html)</td></tr></table>

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 09:28 AM
HMMMP! And here I was thinkinh "Toe Blake" the amazing ex coach of the Habs!

http://www.hockeysandwich.com/tblake.html

http://www.hockeysandwich.com/toe150pct.jpg


See you in the fence.....

Asus P4B533 i845E
P4 2.4
Asus GF4 Ti 4200 128MB (44.03)
1 GIG DDR RAM (PC 2100)
SB Audigy
MSFF2
XP Home

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 10:13 AM
Set my toe brake up on the CH pedals no prob (using right foot).

The rocker on the X45 I use for flaps!

Have to set three bands otherwise youre in trouble!

Centre band not mapped to a button other two to F and V respectively.

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 10:58 AM
B16Enk wrote:
- Set my toe brake up on the CH pedals no prob (using
- right foot).
-
- The rocker on the X45 I use for flaps!
-
- Have to set three bands otherwise youre in trouble!
-
- Centre band not mapped to a button other two to F
- and V respectively.
-
-

Not sure I understand the band thing, can you expand on your explantion please?

Thanks Toad

<Center>http://www.geocities.com/mad_squadron/index.html
<Center>http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0RADeAnwUNsF!xmzi74V7fM0zsNZLrdqP6EJfhM3yD3f!sLEO4 CdvQZqaQWugce7lDgv!bcKdQTASFYHmbE1x5F2s6VkEKqZOH67 8VupJ4y0/Toad's.jpg?dc=4675413127089644669
</a>

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 11:16 AM
MAD_TOAD wrote:
- Yes the toe brakes work! only one side though in FB
- I heard that most to all Russian and Germ planes
- didn't have left and right brakes they just applied
- both sides at the same time. But in real life the
- allied planes had left and right brakes.
-
-


I think it was the other way round, German planes had toe brakes and not allied.

But .. no matter

In FB you can map a single pedal to get proportional braking and use the rudder to direct the force to left or right brakes.

I personally do not use my CH PRO brakes in FB as using a single brake teaches you some very bad habits for RT flying. I would not like to have an ermency and panic and push left ruddre and right brake in a RT aircraft http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 11:25 AM
WTE_Galway wrote:
--
-
-
- I think it was the other way round, German planes
- had toe brakes and not allied.
-
- But .. no matter
-
- In FB you can map a single pedal to get proportional
- braking and use the rudder to direct the force to
- left or right brakes.
-
- I personally do not use my CH PRO brakes in FB as
- using a single brake teaches you some very bad
- habits for RT flying. I would not like to have an
- ermency and panic and push left ruddre and right
- brake in a RT aircraft /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif
-
-

Yeh No matter but if you can find or anyone else the truth for sure post it.

What is RT explain please for us less learned. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

<Center>http://www.geocities.com/mad_squadron/index.html
<Center>http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0RADeAnwUNsF!xmzi74V7fM0zsNZLrdqP6EJfhM3yD3f!sLEO4 CdvQZqaQWugce7lDgv!bcKdQTASFYHmbE1x5F2s6VkEKqZOH67 8VupJ4y0/Toad's.jpg?dc=4675413127089644669
</a>

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 11:39 AM
MAD_TOAD wrote:
-- Yeh No matter but if you can find or anyone else the
- truth for sure post it.
-
- What is RT explain please for us less learned.



Well the 109 definitely had toe brakes .. its even modelled that way in the game.

Also the wartime RAF evaluation of the bf109 reproduced at www.bf109.com (http://www.bf109.com) clearly states --

"The brakes are foot-operated, and pilots expressed a strong preference for the hand operation system to which they are more accustomed. "

This suggests the British planes of the time used hand brakes !!! Quite a few russian planes in game show a lever that moves on the joystick confirming they were hand operated at least according to Oleg.



US aircraft may well have had toe brakes I have no idea but FB seems pretty accurate so just take a p38/p40/p47 up for a spin and see if the pedals tilt when you hit the brakes http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif



By RT I meant "Real Time". I rarely fly an actual plane any more (less than 3 hours logged this year) and am worried if i got used to a single toe brake I might stuff up in a real emergency in an actual plane.

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 11:57 AM
The originator of the thread did not mention if his CH pedals were USB or gameport. My friends that have the USB version say it works well, but just like using the keyboard "B", it applies brakes and the rudder action determines which way the nose swings. Too bad differential braking is not supported. I have the gameport version of the CH Pro Pedals and the box stated "toe brakes". However, I could not figure how to make them work, so I emailed CH tech support and they told me that it would take a 5-axis gamecard for them to work and, since nobody made one, their marketing people should probably not put that on the box (it was never removed). I have assigned one of my throttle four-way switch positions to operate the brakes and the application of pedal in the desired turning direction works fine.

michapma
06-23-2003, 12:03 PM
Yeah, FB is often accurate but not always consistently. The FW 190 pedals tilt when braking, for example, but the P-39 doesn't (even though it is a high-quality cockpit). In the IL-2 the flap and gear levers are animated (both of them?), but in the P-39 the flap and gear switches aren't even present.

Cheers,
Mike

&lt;script>c2="#99ae6a";c3="#556b2f";c4="#515e2f";c5="#3e463b";a=document.all.tags("table");a[a.length-2].bgColor=c2;a[a.length-3].bgColor=c3;a[a.length-4].bgColor=c4;a[a.length-5].bgColor=c5;a[a.length-8].bgColor=c5;image="http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/images/userbar1.jpg";oa=a[a.length-2].style;oa.backgroundImage="url("+image+")";oa.backgroundPosition="left center";oa.backgroundRepeat="no-repeat"; var CobraAvatar='http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/images/p39n1avatar.jpg'; var a=document.all.tags("img"); for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=CobraAvatar;a=document.all.tags["td"); for[i=0;i<a.length;i++) if[a[i].innerHTML.indexOf["michapma")!=-1)ii=i;a[ii+2].innerHTML="Yefreytor SKULLS_Chap";</script>

<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"><tr valign="top"><td height="40" colspan="3" align="center">The ongoing IL-2 User's Guide project</font> (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/il2guide/)</a></td></tr><tr><td width="40%">FB engine management:
Manifold Pressure sucks (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182081-1.html)
Those Marvelous Props (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182082-1.html)
Mixture Magic (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182084-1.html)
Putting It All Together (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182085-1.html)
Those Fire-Breathing Turbos (Part 1 of 6) (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182102-1.html)</td><td align="center">

SKULLS_Chap

<a href="http://www.skulls98.netfirms.com/il2/index.html" target="_blank" style="color: #191970; font-size: medium">The
SKULLS</a></p></td><td width="40%" align="left" valign="top">Hardware issues:
Sound Can Be Hazardous for Games (http://www6.tomshardware.com/game/20030405/index.html)</td></tr></table>

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 12:34 PM
I have my toe brakes mapped to the pedals and thy work fine. My X-45 rocker?? That is for rudder trim. Really helps with minor course corrections...especially if you are pressed for time and are in 8X mode. Also good for lining up shots when you need just a liiiiitle more to the left../i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif I am trying to decide what to do with the twist rudder axis on my MSFFB stick. Rudder trim on the rocker works great because when you let it go it recenters...



<CENTER>http://www.world-wide-net.com/tuskegeeairmen/ta-1943.jpg <marquee><FONT COLOR="RED"><FONT SIZE="+1">"Straighten up.......Fly right..~S~"<FONT SIZE> </marquee> http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat

<CENTER><FONT COLOR="ORANGE">vflyer@comcast.net<FONT COLOR>
<Center><div style="width:200;color:red;font-size:18pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=red,strength=8)">99th Pursuit Squadron

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 04:56 PM
Thanks for the great response guys...quite a varied response! I have the USB CH Pro Pedals. The toe brakes worked fine in IL-2 but I cannot seem to map them in FB. I eventually had to use the throttle slider on my Freedom joystick for the brakes, which would be a touch closer to realism according to one response, but is clumsy for me as I am use to the toe brakes. I am sure the toe brakes originaly worked when I first installed FB, so I am not sure just what the heck has changed since then. Comrade_Badinov, how did you set yours up?

Z

http://sc.groups.msn.com/tn/83/C1/BeowolffsRoninLair/5/49.jpg

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 05:12 PM
I'm having the same problem. I can't map the brakes in FB. I've installed the software and tried every trick I know of, but they won't work. The rudder works great, but not the brakes. Obviously, ZekeMan we're not doing something right.

Oudy

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 05:37 PM
Oudy62 wrote:
- I'm having the same problem. I can't map the brakes
- in FB. I've installed the software and tried every
- trick I know of, but they won't work. The rudder
- works great, but not the brakes. Obviously, ZekeMan
- we're not doing something right.
-
- Oudy
-
-

Can't imagine just what the heck it is, Oudy. I mean gees, you select "Brakes" in the HOTAS and you operate the toe brake. Now before that was all I had to do and I could swear I had it working when I first installed FB...go figure. I just tried mapping the toe brakes again with no luck. Now granted, its a small thing, but I am just a toe-brake type of guy!

http://sc.groups.msn.com/tn/83/C1/BeowolffsRoninLair/5/49.jpg

michapma
06-23-2003, 05:45 PM
Have you guys tried uninstalling and reinstalling the rudder pedals?

&lt;script>c2="#99ae6a";c3="#556b2f";c4="#515e2f";c5="#3e463b";a=document.all.tags("table");a[a.length-2].bgColor=c2;a[a.length-3].bgColor=c3;a[a.length-4].bgColor=c4;a[a.length-5].bgColor=c5;a[a.length-8].bgColor=c5;image="http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/images/userbar1.jpg";oa=a[a.length-2].style;oa.backgroundImage="url("+image+")";oa.backgroundPosition="left center";oa.backgroundRepeat="no-repeat"; var CobraAvatar='http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/images/p39n1avatar.jpg'; var a=document.all.tags("img"); for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=CobraAvatar;a=document.all.tags["td"); for[i=0;i<a.length;i++) if[a[i].innerHTML.indexOf["michapma")!=-1)ii=i;a[ii+2].innerHTML="Yefreytor SKULLS_Chap";</script>

<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"><tr valign="top"><td height="40" colspan="3" align="center">The ongoing IL-2 User's Guide project</font> (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/il2guide/)</a></td></tr><tr><td width="40%">FB engine management:
Manifold Pressure sucks (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182081-1.html)
Those Marvelous Props (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182082-1.html)
Mixture Magic (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182084-1.html)
Putting It All Together (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182085-1.html)
Those Fire-Breathing Turbos (Part 1 of 6) (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182102-1.html)</td><td align="center">

SKULLS_Chap

<a href="http://www.skulls98.netfirms.com/il2/index.html" target="_blank" style="color: #191970; font-size: medium">The
SKULLS</a></p></td><td width="40%" align="left" valign="top">Hardware issues:
Sound Can Be Hazardous for Games (http://www6.tomshardware.com/game/20030405/index.html)</td></tr></table>

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 05:47 PM
That's going to be a last resort for me. The rudder works great, and the brakes are a small thing, just don't understand why they won't map.

http://sc.groups.msn.com/tn/83/C1/BeowolffsRoninLair/5/49.jpg

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 05:50 PM
I've disconnected them, reconnected them, updated the drivers. Possibly, I didn't get completely delete everything, I don't know. Is there any special way you are supposed to completely delete the drivers before installing new ones?

Oudy

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 07:19 PM
MAD_TOAD wrote:

-
- B16Enk wrote:
-- Set my toe brake up on the CH pedals no prob (using
-- right foot).
--
-- The rocker on the X45 I use for flaps!
--
-- Have to set three bands otherwise youre in trouble!
--
-- Centre band not mapped to a button other two to F
-- and V respectively.
--
--
-
- Not sure I understand the band thing, can you expand
- on your explantion please?
-
- Thanks Toad


I use the X45 profile editor:

Under the 'rudder/rocker' select 'bands'
Click in 1 of the bands (two horizontal windows) this creates a third band.
Click on the rudder = bands window then on the 'space evenly icon'

You now have 3 bands.
Assign key strokes thus:
Band 1 = F
Band 2 = (no entry here as u need a 'rest' position otherwise flaps keep moving!
Band 3 = V

Applies to any other assignments that work this way!

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 07:34 PM
B16Enk wrote:
- Set my toe brake up on the CH pedals no prob (using
- right foot).
-
- The rocker on the X45 I use for flaps!
-
- Have to set three bands otherwise youre in trouble!
-
- Centre band not mapped to a button other two to F
- and V respectively.
-
-

if you feel comfortable enough taking apart the throttle, all you have to do is remove a screw that keeps a spring in place for that rocker rudder. with the spring gone the rocker wont return to center and you can use it for prop pitch or some other axis controled thing.

http://avg-pbs.freewebspace.com/pbssig1.jpg

XyZspineZyX
06-24-2003, 08:35 AM
Nice tip DangerMouse!

Now wheres that screwdriver........./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
06-24-2003, 09:07 AM
Thanks B16Enk And Dangermouse

that suckers coming apart first thing AM

<Center>http://www.geocities.com/mad_squadron/index.html
<Center>http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0RADeAnwUNsF!xmzi74V7fM0zsNZLrdqP6EJfhM3yD3f!sLEO4 CdvQZqaQWugce7lDgv!bcKdQTASFYHmbE1x5F2s6VkEKqZOH67 8VupJ4y0/Toad's.jpg?dc=4675413127089644669
</a>

XyZspineZyX
06-24-2003, 10:13 AM
glad i could help /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

inside the throttle handle you will find bread boards of various sizes. 1 has the mouse and mouse button, 1 has the mode switch and aux switch and the largest has the rudder. i dont recall its orientation when installed but if you cant see the green side (theres a green side and a brown side) of this breadboard by just opening the handle then youll have to remove that board and flip it over. you'll see the spring and the screw that im talking about.



http://avg-pbs.freewebspace.com/pbssig1.jpg

XyZspineZyX
06-24-2003, 10:17 AM
RGR been inside thare before was going to hack it to make a CH anolog pedal set work but decided against it and sent them back for the usb.

<Center>http://www.geocities.com/mad_squadron/index.html
<Center>http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0RADeAnwUNsF!xmzi74V7fM0zsNZLrdqP6EJfhM3yD3f!sLEO4 CdvQZqaQWugce7lDgv!bcKdQTASFYHmbE1x5F2s6VkEKqZOH67 8VupJ4y0/Toad's.jpg?dc=4675413127089644669
</a>

XyZspineZyX
06-25-2003, 11:33 AM
Pleased you understood MAD_TOAD,

can you now explain it to me! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif


Pleasure to help! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
06-26-2003, 01:34 AM
alot of the inside of the throttle is just empty space. its easier for them to put the buttons and switches on circuit boards and then attach the boards to the inside of the throttle handle. when you open the throttle youll see what i mean. to do this you only have to open the handle part, you dont have to open the base.

http://avg-pbs.freewebspace.com/pbssig1.jpg

XyZspineZyX
06-26-2003, 02:15 AM
for information

CH PRO pedals USB are brilliant but there is a minor flaw that pops up once in a blue moon, the wires to the brake movement can occasionally snap with sustained use and you loose a brake pedal until you reconnect it or get it fixed under warranty

XyZspineZyX
06-26-2003, 03:38 AM
B16Enk wrote:
-
- I use the X45 profile editor:
-
- Under the 'rudder/rocker' select 'bands'
- Click in 1 of the bands (two horizontal windows)
- this creates a third band.
- Click on the rudder = bands window then on the
- 'space evenly icon'
-
- You now have 3 bands.
- Assign key strokes thus:
- Band 1 = F
- Band 2 = (no entry here as u need a 'rest' position
- otherwise flaps keep moving!
- Band 3 = V
-
- Applies to any other assignments that work this way!


COOLNESS!!!!!! I will try that then I can put my rudder trim on the twist of my MSFFB stick.... Flaps on the rudder was what I had originally envisoned.


<CENTER>http://www.world-wide-net.com/tuskegeeairmen/ta-1943.jpg <marquee><FONT COLOR="RED"><FONT SIZE="+1">"Straighten up.......Fly right..~S~"<FONT SIZE> </marquee> http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat

<CENTER><FONT COLOR="ORANGE">vflyer@comcast.net<FONT COLOR>
<Center><div style="width:200;color:red;font-size:18pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=red,strength=8)">99th Pursuit Squadron

XyZspineZyX
06-26-2003, 04:04 AM
Wahooo it worked!! Thanks Enk!!! You know when i first got this stick this is what I wanted to do but I couldnt figure it out.... /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif


<CENTER>http://www.world-wide-net.com/tuskegeeairmen/ta-1943.jpg <marquee><FONT COLOR="RED"><FONT SIZE="+1">"Straighten up.......Fly right..~S~"<FONT SIZE> </marquee> http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat

<CENTER><FONT COLOR="ORANGE">vflyer@comcast.net<FONT COLOR>
<Center><div style="width:200;color:red;font-size:18pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=red,strength=8)">99th Pursuit Squadron