PDA

View Full Version : B1 campaign - 3rd mission - starting engine



XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 04:40 AM
Sorry if this has been answered before, but I didn't see it in the FAQ. During the 3rd mission of the B1 campaign (the test plane), I can't get the engine to start up. I've installed the game twice (before and after I formatted my hard drive) and installed all the patches, but I can't get the dang engine started. No matter how many times I press "I" it says "Engine: Off." Even when I give it full throttle the engine doesn't turn on. Is this a bug or am I not doing something right.

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 04:40 AM
Sorry if this has been answered before, but I didn't see it in the FAQ. During the 3rd mission of the B1 campaign (the test plane), I can't get the engine to start up. I've installed the game twice (before and after I formatted my hard drive) and installed all the patches, but I can't get the dang engine started. No matter how many times I press "I" it says "Engine: Off." Even when I give it full throttle the engine doesn't turn on. Is this a bug or am I not doing something right.

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 04:53 AM
You reformatted for a mission with an engine start? Thats....odd.

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 04:55 AM
Hehe...no, I didn't. I had to format because my hard drive was filled with a bunch of crappy spyware and useless programs. I just needed a clean slate.

Message Edited on 07/12/0303:57AM by StonieJ2006

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 05:01 AM
Mission 3:

Missions/Campaigns/RU/BI-1/BI-1_02 mis.file

Open in notepad, make the following change:

Original: TAKEOFF 122360.15 74726.77 0 0

New: TAKEOFF 122390.92 74671.48 0 0


Mission 11:

Missions/Campaigns/RU/BI-1/BI-1_10 mis.file

Open in notepad, make the following change:

New: TAKEOFF 124679.42 128545.93 0 0


<center>http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid61/pb537e82df1380cc1f9978ba454cd2915/fc341268.jpg <center>

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 05:05 AM
Just start on autopilot till the plane takes off...

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 05:06 AM
This is known problem from Il-2, and my hearty apologies as I can't remember how to fix it. It requires some editing of the mission file I believe. The cause is the later patches, which do not allow for the starting of the engines (that particular mission was created before these patches were out).

Hopefully someone more knowledgable will post the answer, or please check the FAQ (at top of page), as I believe it was added their at one point.

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 05:31 AM
Set throttle to 100%. That turns engine on (if I recall I may be wrong) or maybe above 50% and mix with engine on key. Try some combinations.

With engine running, throttle less than 50% and engine turns off.