PDA

View Full Version : The Fearsome Tiny Grey Dot



zxwings
01-25-2008, 09:07 PM
I was in an FW190-A6, above the sea, and chased by a Seafire-III. I was becoming farther and farther away from him, and when the distance between us was big enough, I pulled up to turn 180 degrees for a head-on pass. While turning I kept looking at him - a very tiny dark grey dot slightly above the dark grey sea as the background. but when my aircraft was vertical, after another click on my hat switch for a small POV change, I couldn't see him anymore.

I opened my eyes as wide as possible to try to find him on my screen but in vain. What pissed me off was that I knew he WAS IN my view (I mean, on my computer screen) and I simply couldn't see him. And then, when my 180 degree turn was finished I was still searching for him; but the next moment I was hit in the engine...

Luckily I had recorded the track file and could watch what happened. Pausing its playback at the moment when I lost sight of the enemy, I tried now to find him the tiny dot. It didn't surprise me that I did find him after searching my computer sreen for half a minute. In the actual comabt, he was a tiny dark grey dot against the dark grey sea, and my POV was changing - it's natural to lose sight of him. (Becasue I didn't see him for a few seconds, my manoeuver was wrong, so that he then disappeared under the nose of my plane before the pass.)

It was not the first time that I experienced this. Frustrating indeed.

So, is there any means of improving the visibility of such tiny dots who tend to "disappear" to leave you in panic? For instance, can I change some settings in the sim to make the grey dots darker?

If there isn't any such means, what else can I do?

Thanks a lot!

M_Gunz
01-25-2008, 09:18 PM
Maybe but probably not. Different settings/resolutions may help or make it worse.
One of my peeves was planes that would turn invisible while I watched while approaching
at about 500m, makes it very hard to line up a shot or see if the bastage is turning.

Just call it simulated realism since what was said IRL; Lose Sight, Lose the Fight.

Sorry. I need the icons but run those at limited range only to avoid the Romulan Cloak Effect.

RAAF_Furball
01-25-2008, 09:54 PM
Originally posted by zxwings:
Frustrating indeed.
So, is there any means of improving the visibility of such tiny dots? I feel - and often experience - your pain. They don't call him pilot Diddley for nothing.

We at RAAF, often use these dotrange settings .....

mp_dotrange FRIENDLY DOT 20 COLOR 1.72 TYPE 0.01 NAME 0.01 ID 1.72 RANGE 0.01
mp_dotrange FOE DOT 20 COLOR 1.72 TYPE 1.72 NAME 0.01 ID 0.01 RANGE 0.01

As to making the weeeeee dots easier to see, I'm told that using a resolution 640x480 makes them bigger, but I haven't tried it.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

TgD Thunderbolt56
01-25-2008, 10:03 PM
Happens mostly with Spits these days. I-16's used to be the worst (or best depending on how you look at it). At a certain distance and below the horizon, they would 'cloak' and you never see them again unless you scrubbed all you altitude and got right on top of them.

K_Freddie
01-26-2008, 12:06 AM
The Spit is a big problem which I solved by turning my res down to 640x480 with no antialiasing & bilinear filtering http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif. Make them more visible, like normal life.

na85
01-26-2008, 12:19 AM
yeah but that makes the game look AWFUL.

buzzsaw1939
01-26-2008, 12:39 AM
Had that problem last summer during the knat hatch! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Jaws2002
01-26-2008, 09:31 AM
The seafire and the spit MkVIII have a bad flaw inthe LOD. i don't know why it was left in the game this way. This two planes LOD's have no wings. So beyond 500m, i think, you won't see their wings only a pin as fuselage. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

harryklein66
01-26-2008, 10:26 AM
As pointed above, add this line
@a 0 mp_dotrange COLOR .01 DOT 20 RANGE .01 TYPE .01 ID 0.01 NAME 0.01
to the "rcu" file in your game folder
(open the rcu file with note pad )

The number between DOT and RANGE, ie 20 here, is the distance in Km at which the dot appear

The number after @a, 0 here, is a command short
that launch the srcipt once you type it in the game consol (Shift+tab to activate the console ).
So you can put what you want instead of 0, letter, words etc...

Now to activate the scrpit, the command must be enter in the console, only after the mission has started.

And you have to re-do it each time you start a new mission.

The script work for both, online and offline.

striker-85
01-26-2008, 11:07 AM
Originally posted by harryklein66:
The script work for both, online and offline.

I didn't think you could change your dotrange while online, man I have been missing out http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

I guess that explains why some people seem to be better at seeing other aircraft when I'm online.

Here is a good link that explains the dotrange command pretty well:

http://www.il2-fullmissionbuilder.com/custom-icons.html