PDA

View Full Version : Dive Bombing

duckhunter315
03-19-2006, 02:11 PM
I've had the game for a good period of time, and have chalked up my fair share of kills, online and off. I am a competent pilot, but Dive Bombing (SBD-2) is giving me fits!

slo_1_2_3
03-19-2006, 02:16 PM
cause your flying something we dont have

duckhunter315
03-19-2006, 02:40 PM
huh?

slo_1_2_3
03-19-2006, 02:52 PM
We dont have an sbd-2 we have sbd-3 and sbd-5

duckhunter315
03-19-2006, 02:53 PM
oh i gotcha

i just figured that one out

but i still am foobar

Zeus-cat
03-19-2006, 02:57 PM
Play my Straight Down campaign. The first mission is a practice mission.

duckhunter315
03-19-2006, 03:07 PM
1. will it run on PF standalone, patched up?

2. how do i get it into the game where i can play it?

Zeus-cat
03-19-2006, 03:18 PM
I tested it and it will run on a standalone install.

Place the Straight_Down folder in your Missions/Campaign/UN folder.

Start the game and go to the Pilot Career screen and select Straight Down from the careers for a US Navy pilot.

zoinks_
03-19-2006, 04:45 PM
trimming my plane for the trip down helps. i also try to apply air brake right before i roll and dive. to be more exact, i trim going down and try to use as little stick and rudder as possible. then i neutral all trim at pull-out and fly like the wind...kind of.

VW-IceFire
03-19-2006, 08:10 PM
Originally posted by duckhunter315:
I've had the game for a good period of time, and have chalked up my fair share of kills, online and off. I am a competent pilot, but Dive Bombing (SBD-2) is giving me fits!
Whats the problem exactly?

You fly over the target...spot it...engage the dive flaps/breaks, point the nose down, throttle back...go for whatever angle your comfortable with (a good 70 to 80 degree angle is fine with me). Hold the dive until your maybe 600 meters out, release bombs, pull back and level out...dive flaps retracted. Boom!

HotelBushranger
03-20-2006, 03:54 AM