PDA

View Full Version : T-III torpedoes still not available by Oct. 1941?



Rsdnt-Evle
03-30-2005, 12:11 AM
That's where I am now, Oct. 11th, 1941... and the T-III's still don't show up in my loadout screen. I'm still shooting at destroyers with Mr. Bubbles. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

From the timeline-equipment-map-thing I should have had access to them back in Jan/Feb or so. The next ones, I forget their name now, also haven't shown up. Did I miss/not do something?

I'm in a IXC, and recently got the first anti-sonar coating, so everything has shown up at the proper time besides those.

JebUSMC
03-30-2005, 12:57 AM
You have to select your loadout before you go on patrol. Look in the 'U-boat' section in the between patrols screen and select torpedos. Click on the location you want to load a T-III and double click on T-III torpedos on the left hand side of the screen. It'll have a number, representing how many are available at the base, next to it.

KaosxMeach
03-30-2005, 04:17 AM
I am suffering the same fate. No TIII to load up with even if I wanted too.

My patrol date was June 1941.

Rsdnt-Evle
03-30-2005, 12:08 PM
JebUSMC - Yeah, I know to do that, the problem I and apparently Kaos are having is the T-III's or anything after them don't show up in the menu at all. Just the first 2 you start with, and that's it. I always change them all to T-I right now because I rely on the magnetic pistol, and the others aren't very reliable depth-wise.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_files/photo_albums/8/0/8/8081071103/1771071103_739EAD784116BC9BD0B39349C440B094.jpg

Rsdnt-Evle
03-31-2005, 07:01 AM
This must not be very common. Well I uninstalled everything, deleted my savegame folder, started from scratch, will see what happens. Only difference will be that I will have applied the patch this time before starting a game.

quillan
03-31-2005, 07:45 AM
That isn't going to help, Rsdnt. In the basic.cfg file (I think that's where it is), the T3 has a prototype date listed of early 1941, and a general availability date listed of early/mid 1942. I'm not sure if the normal availability date or the upgrade tree picture is wrong.

Rsdnt-Evle
03-31-2005, 03:17 PM
Ahh. I was under the assumption that the upgrade tree was an illustration of what you would get and when. Silly me... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Thanks for that, I woulda been hot when I made it back to mid '41 and still didn't have them.

jtc120880
03-31-2005, 10:36 PM
well, i reckon if you change said config file to match the picture, that would be the easiest solution. Historical or not, that's what the "documentation" has as the date. Maybe they put it in the wrong year http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Rsdnt-Evle
03-31-2005, 11:01 PM
I just signed up to beta test some new torpedoes coming out in May of '41. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif If anyone else wishes to do the same, here is the entry form...

[TORPEDO_TYPE3];T III (G7e)
Idx=3
Year=1941
Month=5
PrototypeYear=1941
PrototypeMonth=5
Renown=0

They are all there together in the basic.cfg like quillan said. The ones that come out in '44 have the same dates already, obviously for end-game time restraints, so I don't see what it would hurt to change the others so they would match the upgrade map.

sniperscout75
04-02-2005, 06:50 PM
look at my question post on torpedo availability in the creatives forum, ull get all the answers about making torpedoes available there.

Xerx790
04-02-2005, 07:07 PM
Thanks man! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

I was totally confused just posted about this. Where are the T3 G7e torpedos? It is October 1941 and the upgrade path claims should be here.

Game tree shows them to be available in 1941, not 1943 as it is now.

I read in books off Net that they really were to be had starting in 1941 into 1942 full production.

That is, does the AI even take notice of 'Mr. Bubbles' T1 G7a steam coming at them? I like to make some longer shots without the AI vering off during the daylight hours via T3 G7e electric.

Sgt.Killa78
04-02-2005, 07:40 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Rsdnt-Evle:
I just signed up to beta test some new torpedoes coming out in May of '41. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif If anyone else wishes to do the same, here is the entry form...

[TORPEDO_TYPE3];T III (G7e)
Idx=3
Year=1941
Month=5
PrototypeYear=1941
PrototypeMonth=5
Renown=0

They are all there together in the basic.cfg like quillan said. The ones that come out in '44 have the same dates already, obviously for end-game time restraints, so I don't see what it would hurt to change the others so they would match the upgrade map. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

May i ask where this file is so i may edit it.

Rsdnt-Evle
04-02-2005, 11:55 PM
If you do the default install, it would be in this folder... C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\SilentHunterIII\data\Cfg

Then just edit "Basic.cfg"

hobnail
04-03-2005, 01:03 AM
Well I just got back from patrol, October 42 and the quartermaster at Lorient is pleased to announce limited production availability of G7E T-III and FAT I torpedoes. Chosing the torps, then leaving the U-Boat section and coming back seems to make available the torps 3 or so at a time.

Edit: Got the original date wrong.

Kuniworth
04-03-2005, 07:32 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Rsdnt-Evle:
That's where I am now, Oct. 11th, 1941... and the T-III's still don't show up in my loadout screen. I'm still shooting at destroyers with . <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

S VIIC_41
04-03-2005, 09:15 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>That is, does the AI even take notice of 'Mr. Bubbles' T1 G7a steam coming at them? I like to make some longer shots without the AI vering off during the daylight hours via T3 G7e electric. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well destroyers definitely tend to evade T-Is. I don't know if T-IIs are any better but... I think they are.

I remember I had no T-IIs loaded and I saw a destroyer. So I fired 2 T-Is at him in a spread, anticipating that he'd see them.

Sure enough, he saw them, evaded one, but the other got him http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

THEMIGHTY8TH
04-03-2005, 11:58 AM
just used a t5 torp for a test , and it was going wide then homed into the target , cool

edited flotilla files , have all torps at start of the war in all fltilla,s 100 of each type , i know it cheating but it,s good fun , gives you an edge over your enemies

i like the what if ? sort of game .

Fishu
04-03-2005, 03:07 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hobnail:
Chosing the torps, then leaving the U-Boat section and coming back seems to make available the torps 3 or so at a time.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Actually you can just keep bashing the torpedo section button and it'll cycles the torpedo availability each press http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif