PDA

View Full Version : Fighter plane bombing

lmysel
02-11-2005, 11:35 AM
I am a newbie and am having an awful time bombing targets in fighter planes such as the F4F, Corsair, etc. Is anyone aware of a tutorial for bombing w/o use of a bombsight.

lmysel
02-11-2005, 11:35 AM
I am a newbie and am having an awful time bombing targets in fighter planes such as the F4F, Corsair, etc. Is anyone aware of a tutorial for bombing w/o use of a bombsight.

han freak solo
02-12-2005, 12:00 AM
I really suck at bombing. My best chances are dive bombing from as perpindicular to the target as possible. Even then I probably hit my target 1 out of six times.

Skip bombing can be fun, too. Just delay your bomb fuse in the arming section before your flight. Otherwise, you may blow yourself to pieces.

HotelBushranger
02-12-2005, 12:30 AM
It's pretty much a matter of learning to understand the characteristics of both your plane, and your weapon load. HVAR rockets pretty much go in a straight line, Tiny Tims require you to aim below the dot in the gunsight, don't ask me about that, with bombs, if skip bombing I have a 2 second time fuse, which is extra precation, as if you dive down at a ship at 1000 metres, you'll be going about 500 ks an hour, which pretty much means most of the time you'll fly past before the explosion. Bombing ground targets is harder, it depends largely on speed and height. Best bet is just fly level, drop the bomb, Ctr F2 to see where it lands, and keep practising that at different speeds and heights. When you've mastered that, try from different positions, like dive bombing etc.
IMO fighter bombing is easier than bombsight bombing, I can't do that for the life of me http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Akronnick
02-12-2005, 05:04 AM
Practice, Practice, Practice.

Hitting a target with a bomb consists of two skills;

1. Lining up your aircraft with the target

and