PDA

View Full Version : Password on Dedicated Server?



XyZspineZyX
10-12-2003, 12:55 AM
Is there anyway to Password protect the dedicated server?

Like a line in the config something like password=xxx

something?

anything?

This dedicated server is really cool, but it is almost worthless due to its inherant shortcomings.

I can host on UBI IF people join through the FBLauncher, but then I can never have a private Sqaud game on my server...that's crap!!!!

Getting really annoyed,
TinMan

XyZspineZyX
10-12-2003, 12:55 AM
Is there anyway to Password protect the dedicated server?

Like a line in the config something like password=xxx

something?

anything?

This dedicated server is really cool, but it is almost worthless due to its inherant shortcomings.

I can host on UBI IF people join through the FBLauncher, but then I can never have a private Sqaud game on my server...that's crap!!!!

Getting really annoyed,
TinMan

BTZ_Bonehead
01-10-2004, 12:15 PM
I thought I would bump this up, does anyone know how to password the dedicated server when starting it with HL? Will HL do it?

Troll2k
01-10-2004, 10:46 PM
Yes you can.The answer is in the console commands.
Check the readme .

BM357_TinMan
01-10-2004, 11:41 PM
Bonehead

I'm not sure if the answer is in the read me but I figured it out awhile back and unlike some non-helpful people I'll post the answer here.

And no, H/L will not p/w the game. You have to start the game; then in the console, type "server PWD <whatever you want the password to be>"

If you launch through UBI, ubi will p/w the launch but not the game. If someone has a utility to bypass UBI, they can still join your game. But you can always p/w it after it starts using the console and typing the "server PWD <> command.

TinMan

BTZ_Bonehead
01-11-2004, 03:10 AM
Thanks for that fella! I did read the read me and didnt see it in there Ill go and take another look before I flame Troll http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Will that command not work if I enter it in the server.cmd file (I guess you tried already).

We are running FBDaemon, do you know if that will loose the password when it changes maps? Maybe I could add the pass to the FBD files somewhere?

Troll2k
01-11-2004, 05:25 AM
I am sorry I should have been more specific.

I said it involved the use of console commands.

Also from the readme:

Type

? or help - displays a list of available commands.

Then typing "help server" gives you the answer.

Also remember the console commands are case sensitive.

Although I do not run FBD(so I can not vouch that it works) this was also in the readme:

All the commands may be included into a script

BM357_TinMan
01-11-2004, 11:00 AM
Never tried it in the server.cmd

I'm sure it'd work though

I doubt that a map rotation would affect it.

TinMan

US380thBG-Tug-
01-12-2004, 09:10 AM
Yes, I believe you can have the server.cmd assign the password. In my (somewhat limited) experience, having the server.cmd assign a password on startup neither affects, nor is affected by, a map rotation. Also, you can password protect your server from the in-game chat by sending console commands to the server (I believe you must have "superuser" rights to send console commands). Note the double "less than sign" syntax.

<<server PWD mypassword
recommend you send "TO Server" http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Also, see the GreaterGreen website for a complete list of client and superuser commands.

http://imageshack.us/files/siggy.jpg

BTZ_Bonehead
01-12-2004, 03:49 PM
Thanks for the help guys.

BTZ_Bonehead
02-09-2004, 03:30 AM
I finaly got around to testing this today http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

It works; if you have a dedicated server and you want to password it just add

server PWD yourpasshere to the top line of the server.cmd file.

Dedicated gaming www.battle-fields.com (http://www.battle-fields.com) home of UK-DEDICATED, why not make it your home too?
http://www.battle-fields.com/staff/bone/ubisig.jpg