PDA

View Full Version : PC upgrade question



AJRobson
12-30-2003, 01:22 PM
I installed and started using UQMG and tried out the default mission it creates. It has something like 32 or so planes.

At any rate, I discovered that I was getting a lot of lag from my PC and am wondering the best way to deal with it.

I would prefer not to turn down the video settings. I have them set to excellent now. Perhaps a few could be turned down in the "custom" settings to improve things.

I'm running an Athlon XP 2800+ oc'd to 2100 MHZ, with 1 gig of 400 MHZ DDR ram, XP Pro SP1 and a Nvidia GF FX 5600 Ultra (128 mb).

I assume that I need a better graphics card... but wanted to be sure before I shell out big bucks.

Thanks

AJ

AJRobson
12-30-2003, 01:22 PM
I installed and started using UQMG and tried out the default mission it creates. It has something like 32 or so planes.

At any rate, I discovered that I was getting a lot of lag from my PC and am wondering the best way to deal with it.

I would prefer not to turn down the video settings. I have them set to excellent now. Perhaps a few could be turned down in the "custom" settings to improve things.

I'm running an Athlon XP 2800+ oc'd to 2100 MHZ, with 1 gig of 400 MHZ DDR ram, XP Pro SP1 and a Nvidia GF FX 5600 Ultra (128 mb).

I assume that I need a better graphics card... but wanted to be sure before I shell out big bucks.

Thanks

AJ

Cajun76
12-30-2003, 01:50 PM
I'm not sure what may be causing your lag, as the stock Quick Mission Builder that comes with the game puts 32 planes in the air, 16 vs 16. You'll probably get better help in the tech forum. Two things though:
1) Video drivers, the newest may not be the best for FB. They're not for ATI.
2) Sound, try changing your sound setup, reduce channels and/or freqs, it may help.

Without knowing more about your setup, I can't really diagnose your problem. Tech forum can help though. Hope this helps, good luck and

Good hunting,
Cajun76

"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it."
-Aristotle

Meanwhile, in the 20th century:

BOOM! Yeah, Alright you primitive screwheads, listen up. See this? This is my T-Bolt!! It's has 8 .50cals and 2000lbs+ worth of bombs and rockets. Republic's top of the line. You can find this in the Kick A$$ department. That's right, this sweet baby was made in Farmingdale, Long Island and Evansville, Indiana. Retails for about $82,997.95. It's got a turbo-supercharger, all metal control surfaces with blunt nosed ailerons, and a hair trigger. That's right, shop smart, shop Republic. YOU GOT THAT!? Now I swear, the next one of you primates, E-ven TOUCHES me..... - Anonymous http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

tsisqua
12-30-2003, 03:03 PM
No Cajun, I believe this person is talking about Uberdemon's software.

Yes, Mate, I would suggest another card. Oddly enough, my one year old Ti4200 does a wonderful job for a 128 meg card, but with the FX line the 256 meg cards seem to be where you notice the difference. You can certainly put alot of planes in the air with UQMB, and you need a bit more GPU bang for that.

Also check with the guys in tech support.

Good Luck,
Tsisqua

http://www.uploadit.org/files/010903-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Equa

crazyivan1970
12-30-2003, 03:32 PM
what sound cared AJ?

V!
Regards,

VFC*Crazyivan aka VFC*HOST

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/ivan-reaper.gif

Kozhedub: In combat potential, the Yak-3, La-7 and La-9 fighters were indisputably superior to the Bf-109s and Fw-190s. But, as they say, no matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down.

adlabs6
12-30-2003, 03:50 PM
I just setup the UQMG this afternoon, and when I loaded the first mission, my system was nearly crashed from the extreme number of air and ground objects. I was getting 1 frame every 3 seconds, and the sound had totally corrupted. After disabling sound, and setting the graphics level to "very low", I was running at 8 to 10 fps.

Now that's not always the case, since then, I've run a couple of nice ground attack missions, with 18 to 20 planes, and REASONABLE ground activity, and I'm back to my usual 30 to 45 fps (with sound of course).

I believe that the UQMG's first mission, and many preset missions are designed to show off what is possible, perhaps not what is playable, at least on mid-line PC's.

http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/bin/sigUBI.GIF
My FB/FS2004 Pages (http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/) | IL2skins (http://www.il2skins.com) | OMEGASQUADRON (http://777avg.com/omegasquad/)

Bearcat99
12-30-2003, 04:29 PM
Your rig is actually quite decent... I am running a similar setup only I have a +2500 OCd to 2.0.... So far i havent lost too much in the way of FRs... I think at the most i had lots of ground objects and 48 planes inthe air...

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://www.mudmovers.com/)

AJRobson
12-30-2003, 05:24 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bearcat99:
Your rig is actually quite decent... I am running a similar setup only I have a +2500 OCd to 2.0.... So far i havent lost too much in the way of FRs... I think at the most i had lots of ground objects and 48 planes inthe air...

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

What kind of vid card?

AJRobson
12-30-2003, 05:34 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by crazyivan1970:
what sound cared AJ?

V!
Regards,


<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Santa Cruz Turtle Beach. Probably one of the most stable sound cards out there.

Cajun76
12-30-2003, 07:44 PM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by tsisqua:
No Cajun, I believe this person is talking about Uberdemon's software.

[QUOTE]Originally posted by AJRobson

posted 31-12-03 05:22
I installed and started using UQMG and tried out the default mission it creates. It has something like 32 or so planes.

At any rate, I discovered that I was getting a lot of lag from my PC and am wondering the best way to deal with it.


http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif I realized he was talking about UQMG, but the number of planes he was talking about was the same as QMB in the game. Just in case he might think it was a problem with UQMG, instead of his rig. Like I said, I didn't have much info to go on, so I was trying to address what I could. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Good hunting,
Cajun76

"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it."
-Aristotle

Meanwhile, in the 20th century:

BOOM! Yeah, Alright you primitive screwheads, listen up. See this? This is my T-Bolt!! It's has 8 .50cals and 2000lbs+ worth of bombs and rockets. Republic's top of the line. You can find this in the Kick A$$ department. That's right, this sweet baby was made in Farmingdale, Long Island and Evansville, Indiana. Retails for about $82,997.95. It's got a turbo-supercharger, all metal control surfaces with blunt nosed ailerons, and a hair trigger. That's right, shop smart, shop Republic. YOU GOT THAT!? Now I swear, the next one of you primates, E-ven TOUCHES me..... - Anonymous http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

AJRobson
12-30-2003, 07:53 PM
UQMG is FREAKING AWESOME!!!

rick_475
12-30-2003, 08:08 PM
Are you playing with a resolution of 1600 x 1200?

AJRobson
12-30-2003, 10:33 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by rick_475:
Are you playing with a resolution of 1600 x 1200?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Heck no. I'm over 40! I need 1024 x 800 just to see the bad guys.

Bearcat99
12-30-2003, 11:21 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by AJRobson:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bearcat99:
Your rig is actually quite decent... I am running a similar setup only I have a +2500 OCd to 2.0.... So far i havent lost too much in the way of FRs... I think at the most i had lots of ground objects and 48 planes inthe air...

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

What kind of vid card?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I have a 9500 Pro. Have you defragged lately? Are you sure you dont have a bunch of stuff running in the background? I found four programs running that were sucking up resources and I shut them down. My res is 1024 X 768.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://www.mudmovers.com/)

arcadeace
12-31-2003, 01:14 AM
Your system is good but a better vid card will add noticeable capability. Check out Pricewatch, they're some of the best deals possible and their stated price includes shipping. I have an FX5900 and it's a very good buy for the money. Between $125 - $200, ATI and NV offer good choices and nice improvement over your present card.

AJRobson
12-31-2003, 06:53 AM
Ordered a FX 5900XT last night for about $200. Looks to be the value.

In the meantime, I have just lowered some settings.

Having the enemy fly without ammo seems to help a lot! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

BaldieJr
12-31-2003, 08:23 AM
The best setting to change is the terain detail. Set it to lowest and enjoy.

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
______ _____
(, / ) /) /) , (, /
/---( _ // _(/ _ / __ ,""""]
+----/ ____)(_(_(/_(_(__(__(/____/__/ (__--------,' /---+
| (_/ ( / ,' NR / |
| ..-""``"'-._ (__/ __,' 42 _/ |
+-.-"" "-..,____________/7,.--"" __]-----+

</pre>

AJRobson
12-31-2003, 08:26 AM
Yeah.. I guess that would work the vid card the hardest..

Thanks.

http://home.comcast.net/~ajrobson/screens/sig1.jpg