PDA

View Full Version : PF stutters on perfect with my Commodore VIC 20.



wadenator
11-30-2004, 05:07 PM
I was thinking about upgrading. Any recommendations. I bought the external cassete drive.

S!

Villicus
11-30-2004, 05:24 PM
Don't forget the 48k memory expansion and the 512k external hard drive http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

JG51Beolke
11-30-2004, 05:31 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by wadenator:
I was thinking about upgrading. Any recommendations. I bought the external cassete drive.

S! <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

What's scarry is, I'm old enough to remember it. My first computer.............Ahhhh, those were the days.

Athosd
11-30-2004, 05:39 PM
Go for the C64 - leagues ahead of the old Vic and a fraction of the price of the over-rated Apple rigs. If you can afford it, get the 1541 floppy drive (double sided!) - much better than the data cassette, though its expensive and probably more storage than you'll need.

Waldo.Pepper
11-30-2004, 05:42 PM
I remember almost buying a Sinclair.

1k Chess.

Hmmm it was good.

Athosd
11-30-2004, 05:56 PM
Yeah the Sinclair spectrum was pretty good - though I don't think the floating point support is there for apps like PF.

StG77_Fritz_X
11-30-2004, 06:08 PM
Why don't you buy an Amiga instead?
As you see I run PF in perfect mode on my computer.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/1/13/Amiga.computer.750pix.jpg

wadenator
11-30-2004, 06:25 PM
That pic rocks. I actually had a commodore 128 and I remember one of my first games with the external hard drive was the hunt for red october, i think. I thought that the graphics were incredible!

Dash_8
11-30-2004, 06:26 PM
Ahh, the good old Commodore 64... First flight game I ever owned was Hellcat Ace. I played that game constantly since it was all I had for about 6 months.

The C64 had plenty of good flight sims for its time. That was where I first got interested in flying.

I have a C64 emulator with all the old games now running on my new rig. Fun to watch a P4 3.2 GHz processor run games designed for the Commodore...

johann63
11-30-2004, 07:41 PM
I cant understand your stutter, I have a mac version of PF I wrote for my MacPlus and it just jams in perfect mode. That 2bit 9" integral monitor is just state of the art. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Athosd
11-30-2004, 08:20 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by StG77_Fritz_X:
Why don't you buy an Amiga instead?
As you see I run PF in perfect mode on my computer.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

What a tricked out rig - two joysticks! and a Star NX1000 9pin dot matrix printer, with tractor feed! That 14" Sony 1084S (Stereo speakers) 8bit monitor is the duck's bum too. Chuck on an A520 20Meg sidecar hard disk and there's nothing that beast won't handle.

Lucas Arts "BoB: Their Finest Hour" on the Amiga 500 was indeed a joy to behold - such memories.

x__CRASH__x
11-30-2004, 08:25 PM
I'm 32 years old, yet I feel so young in this thread!

wadenator
11-30-2004, 09:06 PM
You have never flown a jug until you've played...

http://www.c64gg.com/Images/P/P-47_Thunderbolt_intro.gif

http://www.c64gg.com/Images/P/P-47_Thunderbolt_ingame.gif

Athosd
11-30-2004, 09:16 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by wadenator:
You have never flown a jug until you've played...

http://www.c64gg.com/Images/P/P-47_Thunderbolt_intro.gif

http://www.c64gg.com/Images/P/P-47_Thunderbolt_ingame.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Sweet! Roll over PF - I'll bag that one for my C64 emulator tonight. At last a real benchmark to test Oleg's P47 FM against.

woofiedog
12-01-2004, 02:11 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif
http://oldcomputers.net/pics/vic20.jpg
You might want to replace your Cassette with a new one!
http://oldcomputers.net/pics/vic-cassettes.jpg

Or it could be your Hard Drive
http://oldcomputers.net/pics/vic20-cass.jpg

madsarmy
12-01-2004, 02:31 AM
Now I Feel Old!
Thanks All http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

NegativeGee
12-01-2004, 02:35 AM
You might want to consider a Vic20 (http://spherule.com/media/video/vic20_job_interview.mpg) which will improve your job prospects no end http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

woofiedog
12-01-2004, 02:43 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif Great video NegativeGee!
So it's more than a Toy.
And you should be able to play Space Invader's! With NO Studder. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif Mint!

woofiedog
12-01-2004, 02:51 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gifI still have and it runs Great... is a Channel-F and I have the Red Baron game... plus a few more Games.
http://www.emuunlim.com/doteaters/channel_f.gif
The first fully programmable video game system is the 8-bit Fairchild Channel F, manufactured by Fairchild Camera and Instrument in 1976, retailing for around US$170. It is originally known as the Video Entertainment System (VES), until Atari releases the similarly named Video Computer System (VCS). Its designer is Jerry Lawson, and the Channel F utilizes the first microchip, the F8, invented at Fairchild by Robert Noyce. "Programmable" means that the user can change games by inserting big yellow ROM cartridges called Videocarts into the machine in order to change games. The first videocart available is titled 4-in-1, and does indeed hold four games: Tic-Tac-Toe, Shooting Gallery, Doodle, and Quadra-Doodle. Hockey and Tennis are also available as games built into the console. There are 21 games in all released by Fairchild, each selling for US$19.95. The system also features a "pause" button to freeze
on on-screen action. Obsolete by the time of its debut, the Channel F is totally eclipsed by Atari's wildly popular VCS unit. Zircon International purchases the machine from Fairchild in 1979 and after adding detachable joysticks and other cosmetic changes, renames it the Channel F System II and gives it a price tag of US$99.95. They produce five more cartridges before the system drops off the market for good.

SeaFireLIV
12-01-2004, 04:29 AM
Wow. That Amiga pic brings back old memories. **** good rig too. It was my first computer that really did what it said on the back! I really didn`t want to change it even when better comps came along.

Boy, did I(and my friends) have some great fun on it.

Maple_Tiger
12-01-2004, 04:36 AM
How did you manage to install PF lol. Must take a while to load up.

cpirrmann
12-01-2004, 04:51 AM
While you guys were playing on your Commodores I was blasting bad guys with my Atari 800 in Gunship. And for you old guys..I was 30 years old at the time. Don't run...you'll just die tired.

Athosd
12-01-2004, 04:54 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Maple_Tiger:
How did you manage to install PF lol. Must take a while to load up. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Turbo Tape http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif When those flashing coloured lines come up you just know things are really happening in there.

Mind you with a default 600baud (about 270KBytes per hour) for the "non turbo" tape, one could be waiting quite a while for the PF game menu.

Fornixx
12-01-2004, 07:57 AM
Man this thread rules! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

mortoma
12-01-2004, 08:40 AM
The first computer I messed with was the Radio Shack TRS-80, way back in 1978!! So I'm older than
all of you!! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif It was a terrible piece of junk. Do we have any Altair users in here?? They didn't even have a Monitor and you could build one yourself! I seriously thought about buying one of those from someone in 1975........ I think it was an Altair 880 or something like that.

mortoma
12-01-2004, 08:48 AM
It was the Altair 8800, I just found some info on it: http://www.cis.usouthal.edu/faculty/daigle/project1/1975malt.htm

Or even better:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Altair_8800

Too bad I never bought one, that would have made me one of the first true nerdy computer geeks!!
But I guess I missd out. Gee, I'll never be a nerd now.....

NorrisMcWhirter
12-01-2004, 09:44 AM
Hi,

Retro flying....let's face it, all flight sims were cobblers until the 16 bit machines arrived. I'd obtained more sensation of flight by jumping up and down on my bed than I did with the flight sims of the 48K Spectrum (having said that, Tomahawk was spiffing).

Anyway, I tried v3.01 on my Spectrum and all I got was a lot of attribute clash from those large dots. Here's looking forward to the 3.02bm
Z80 port of the patch!

Cheers,
Norris

AlmightyTallest
12-01-2004, 02:31 PM
Oh man, I remember working on the Radio Shack TRS-80's in 1982... We used to call them "Trash 80's" because we thought that's what the TRS meant lol. I remember us fighting for the one computer in the lab that had a whopping 8k of memory versus the 4k of memory the other 10 computers had lol... Good times man, good times http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

I figure if I loaded PF in a TRS-80 in 1982.. I would be able to start the game... right about....... NOW! lol

crazyivan1970
12-01-2004, 03:30 PM
Those were the days....

Freycinet
12-01-2004, 03:57 PM
So, did you guys sit like me with a little screwdriver, to fiddle with the C64 tape-deck, if the games didn't load correctly?

I have a friend who made me copies of tapes full of games... - Those copies weren't always too good even though I used Maxell Chrome tapes, so a lot of fiddling had to be done with the tape deck screw, to make the games load correctly.

Wans't it L-shift-8 or something like that which was the shortcut for "load"?

BlitzPig_Frat
12-01-2004, 04:23 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by SeaFireLIV:
Wow. That Amiga pic brings back old memories. **** good rig too. It was my first computer that really did what it said on the back! I really didn`t want to change it even when better comps came along.

Boy, did I(and my friends) have some great fun on it. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Heck Yeah!!! I didn't want to change over to IBM either, so I held out with my Amiga. My fellow circle of Amiga owning friends and I used to scorn the IBM x86's when they first came out. Besides, I could not part with Red Baron, KOTS, or Microprose F117.

Of course when the blazing fast Pentium 166 came out with an unheard of 32mb of RAM, I finally defected..... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif

NorrisMcWhirter
12-01-2004, 05:01 PM
Hi,

I always thought the Amiga held it's own until the late model 386's came out; byt the time the 486 came out (DX66 et al), I realised the Amiga was dead in the water...

Marvellous machine, though, the Amiga; it showed what could be actually done for relatively little outlay in terms of sound, graphics, processing + it had a decent operating system that was actually reliable...and when it wasn't, you got those 'Guru meditation @' messages...class!


Cheers,
Norris

fabianfred
12-01-2004, 05:45 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Freycinet:
So, did you guys sit like me with a little screwdriver, to fiddle with the C64 tape-deck, if the games didn't load correctly? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

yes, I remember doing that....

I suppose you yanks fondly remember the commodores and amigas... whereas we brits loved our Acorn BBC micro 32k.... a beauty with the twin double-sided 80k 5 1/2" floppy drive..

and their Archimedes 32bit RISC machine was way ahead of its time.....

Gato__Loco
12-01-2004, 07:05 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by cpirrmann:
While you guys were playing on your Commodores I was blasting bad guys with my Atari 800 in Gunship. And for you old guys..I was 30 years old at the time. Don't run...you'll just die tired. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

ATARI RULES!!!!!!!!!
My first computer was an ATARI 130 XE.
http://www.old-computers.com/museum/computer.asp?st=1&c=21

Sweet machine! 128 Kilobytes of RAM, single side 5 1/4" floppy drive (but you could punch a hole of the floppy edge and use the other side), and an Epson dot matrix printer that I used for 10 years. I had my first flight sim... a very old version of MS Flight Simulator.
Aahhh... the 80's... high school... those were great times...

Athosd
12-01-2004, 07:07 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Freycinet:
So, did you guys sit like me with a little screwdriver, to fiddle with the C64 tape-deck, if the games didn't load correctly?

I have a friend who made me copies of tapes full of games... - Those copies weren't always too good even though I used Maxell Chrome tapes, so a lot of fiddling had to be done with the tape deck screw, to make the games load correctly.

Wans't it L-shift-8 or something like that which was the shortcut for "load"? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah, I was there, fine tuning the tape read heads - still have the jeweller's tool set I bought for just that purpose.

L* was indeed the shortcut for Load - remember the Peeks and Pokes? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

SkyChimp
12-01-2004, 07:27 PM
Bah!!!! I had the Texas Instruments TI-99/4A. I had the TI monitor, assessory case, speech synthasizer, extended memory, extended BASIC, Assembler, all that ****. The TI rocked!

http://www.99er.net/graphics/screens.gif

johann63
12-01-2004, 08:11 PM
got you all beat for true quality. This was my game for several years on my MacIIsi, 8 bit color, 16 megs ram. This game rocked


http://www.zeke.ne.jp/hornet-jp/dear/hellcat/Helcats_shot/b17.jpg
http://www.zeke.ne.jp/hornet-jp/dear/hellcat/Helcats_shot/f6f.jpeg

mantra1975
12-01-2004, 11:36 PM
Ahh, Amiga! I still have my Amiga 500. I played my first flight sim on it - F-18, it blew me away at the time. I also learnt graphic design with Deluxe Paint 2 (painting pixel by pixel!). I bought mine when I was 11 with my own money - lots of mowing lawns and washing cars!

tHeBaLrOgRoCkS
12-02-2004, 02:28 AM
Well if memory served these are what I cut my teeth on.

Space invaders http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Mtx 500 (may have been 512)

TI-99/4a (cartridge games and the first time I ever actualy wrote a program lol)

Spectrum 48k (bloody horrible keyboard)

BBC model b (elite was an incredible experiance back then )

Atari St

Amiga

Atari 1024 with hard drive http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

home PC

AEnderby
12-02-2004, 03:45 AM
I knew a guy that bought a DEC PDP-8 when it was retired from the technical college that he worked for....mmmmm a real O/S- Unix, but the acoustic coupler (pre modem technology would have made web browsing slightly soporific...

Raisen

javierib
12-02-2004, 08:59 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Athosd:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Freycinet:
So, did you guys sit like me with a little screwdriver, to fiddle with the C64 tape-deck, if the games didn't load correctly?

I have a friend who made me copies of tapes full of games... - Those copies weren't always too good even though I used Maxell Chrome tapes, so a lot of fiddling had to be done with the tape deck screw, to make the games load correctly.

Wans't it L-shift-8 or something like that which was the shortcut for "load"? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah, I was there, fine tuning the tape read heads - still have the jeweller's tool set I bought for just that purpose.

L* was indeed the shortcut for Load - remember the Peeks and Pokes? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes...I installed a speaker to the original datasette to fine tune the tape...

L+SHIFT O (lO) was the shortcut for load...LOAD"*" was for loading the first file found...LOAD"*",8 was for the disk drive.

Snootles
12-02-2004, 11:12 AM
Fools all! This is the rig for playing Pacific Fighters!

http://histoire.info.online.fr/images/cray1-5.jpeg

Hiriyu
12-02-2004, 01:48 PM
Hah, great nostalgia thread. I'm still a big fan of the old 8-bit systems of my youth. I was always partial to my Ataris (400s and 800s) performance and programming-wise, but the later Commodores like the 64s and onward were great for their very strong user communities - made it very easy to "aquire" software http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif

I had loads of fun with the Vics, TIs and Apples in their time too.

9th_Spitin
12-02-2004, 02:22 PM
Here I am at the left(sitting) working the joystick on my Wirlwind computer.http://www.old-computers.com/museum/photos/MIT_Wirlwind_System_s1.jpg

Here are the system specs:

CPU: Vacuum tubes
Speed: 20 KIPS initially, increased to 40 KIPS with core memory
GRAPHIC MODES: 256X256
COLORS: Monochrome
SOUND: YES

This baby can play PF at 2 FPS with all med settings.