PDA

View Full Version : What is recommended settings Video in my PC?



omsg
03-27-2006, 09:21 PM
I have GTX7800 256 MB DDR3.

I hope answer or advise.

Please write answers in next lines:

antialiasing settings= ?x
ansiotropic filtering= ?x
image settings= ?
color profile= ?
vsync= ?
force mipmaps= ?
comformant texture clamp= ?
extension limit= ?
hardware excelleration= ?
trilinear optimization= ?
ansiotropic mip filter optimization= ?
ansiotropic sample optimization= ?
gamma correct antialiasing= ?
transparent antialiasing= ?
negative LOD bias= ?

Best Regards!

-omsg-
CO of First Squadron Virtual of Paraguay: "Guarani B40" (English/Ingl├ęs)
Jefe del Primer Escuadron Virtual de Paraguay: "Guarani B40"(Espa˝ol/Spanish)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v492/Guarani/GuaraniB40-250x250-2.gif

danjama
03-28-2006, 05:12 AM
What processor and how much ram do you have?

With that card and a decent processor just ram all of the settings up, but i wouldnt go changin it Via the conf. file, just use the setup and in game menu (excepting water which u change in conf)

TgD Thunderbolt56
03-28-2006, 06:28 AM
Though that card is a stout performer, processor and ram info are just as relevant. Post those figures and you'll get your answer. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif


TB

omsg
03-28-2006, 07:21 AM
Thx for reply.

The characteristics of my PC are:

1) Motherboard: ABIT Fatal1ty AN8-SLI Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD with ABIT Guru Controller Panel.
2) Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 3800+
3) Memory: CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory
4) Hard Drive: SATA 200 GB Seagate 7200
5) Video Card: PCI Express XFX Geforce 7800 GTX 256 MB DDR3.
6) CD / DVD Burner Black: LG Black E-IDE / ATAPI DVD Burner 5X DVD-RAM Write Model GSA-4167B BK.
7) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy-2 ZS 7.1
8) Power Suplly: Thermaltake Silent Power 480W Dual Fan(20-24 Pin PCI-Express Adapter Included) with Fan Speed Control.
9) Case Black: Satellite X-BLADE(Games)511 with CPU Temperature Automatism Control System(Digital Display with
temperature sensor) and Double 8 CM System Fan(Three Fans (2 with lights Neon)) - 2 ports 2.0 USB with entrance
for headphones/earbuds and microphone.
10) Drive Black 1.44.

I wait answer or advise.

S!

-omsg-

TgD Thunderbolt56
03-28-2006, 08:34 AM
First, you should make sure you're rendering in OpenGL. That will make 'Perfect' landscape a possibility. In your conf.ini, I'd start with water=0 and go up from there until you reach the limit of your rig's ability. You should be able to crank all the settings to their limit and as stated previously, I also recommend using the game interface first (with the exception of 'water'), then if you want to tweak it further delve into your config file.

Depending on your monitor, you may want to increase your resolution a bit. The game was originally optimized for 1024x768, but I run 1280x960 with no problems at all and put antialiasing and anisitropic filtering at 4x, 4x respectively.

Your pc should be able to render an excellent image while still delivering above average frames.

Let us know...eh?


TB

omsg
03-28-2006, 09:46 AM
Hi TgD Thunderbolt56. Thx for your reply.

(My english not is good. I hope that you understand my lines below).
Before ago 2 weeks, I flew IL2+AEP+PF without change SETTINGS VIDEO
and without change CONFIG.INI. Flight: Good and Good Graphic.

From ago 2 weeks, I have been flying with the following parameters:

1.A) SETTINGS Nvidia:
antialiasing settings= 4x
ansiotropic filtering= Controlled application
image settings= Standard Quality
color profile= not available
vsync= off
force mipmaps= none
comformant texture clamp= enable
extension limit= off
hardware excelleration=single-display mode
trilinear optimization= enable
ansiotropic mip filter optimization= off
ansiotropic sample optimization= enable
gamma correct antialiasing= off
transparent antialiasing= off
negative LOD bias= allow
1.B) Question: I change or not?


2.A) VIDEO OPTIONS:
Visibility Dsitance= High
OBject Lighting= High
Object DEtail= Excellent
Landscape Lighting= Excellent
Landscape Detail= Perfect
Clouds DEtail= Detailed Clous
2.B) Question: I change or not?

3.A) MONITOR 17":
width=1280
height=960
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=1
Use3Renders=0
3.B) Is OK or not?

4.A) WATER:
VideoSetupId=3
Water=3
Effects=1
ForceShaders1x=0
4.B) I change or not?

5.A)FOREST
Forest= 2
5.B) What is recommnended?

I hope answers or advise.

Best Regards!

-omsg-
CO of First Squadron Virtual of Paraguay: "Guarani B40" (English/Ingl├ęs)
Jefe del Primer Escuadron Virtual de Paraguay: "Guarani B40"(Espa˝ol/Spanish)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v492/Guarani/GuaraniB40-250x250-2.gif

TgD Thunderbolt56
03-28-2006, 11:37 AM
Answer to:

1.B) Bump that image setting up to "High". Your rig can handle it. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif


2.B) Don't change anything.


3.B) Yes, it's O.K.


4.B) If you are getting good frames with water=3, by all means leave it there.


5.B) Forest=2 is just fine


All these settings look good and as I stated earlier, let your fps and IQ dictate what settings you use.

If everything is running well, you can always bump your effects=2 and check it again. You could also check forest=3, but I see little benefit from adjusting these 2 settings higher than what you currently use.


My only recommendations?:

1. Add another GB of ram

2. Get a 19+" digital LCD monitor. The new ones with lightening-quick response times and elevated contrast ratios over 600:1 simply shine...be sure.

Nice rig nonetheless. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif


TB

omsg
03-30-2006, 07:48 AM
Thx for your great help.
I receive mail from one friend.
This friend is from Brasil (language: portugues) and fly too in IL2.
This friend write:
"Software of IL2 does not have option that handles the video parameters.
It is necessary to customizar manually."

One question: In my PC, I have settings:
antialiasing settings (AA)= 4x
ansiotropic filtering (AF)= Controlled application.

I need change AF from CONTROLLED APLICATION to 4X or 8X or ....?

I wait answer.

S!

-omsg-

TgD Thunderbolt56
03-30-2006, 07:51 AM
I run AA - 4x, AF - 4x (don't like 'application controlled')

TB

danjama
03-30-2006, 07:58 AM
On your PC i would run 8*aa and 16*af, your PC could handle it easily. Try it out.