PDA

View Full Version : OT: Visiting UK/France... places to see?

Esquire_1
08-02-2006, 03:18 AM
Hi all,

Long time lurker but infrequent poster. I've been playing IL2 offline since 2002ish and have the upgrades to PF ... but havent had a game in ONE YEAR (gritting teeth)!!!! due to study and family commitments.

BUT ... I've finally finished my study and am visiting the UK and France from mid August till mid September. Gunna be hanging around Kent/Sussex then off to Normandy and Paris.

So, has anybody got any special places that you know of that I should visit ? ... especially round Normandy and Paris .. (I've been to the UK before)...any suggestions would be much appreciated.

(please don't mention the 60th Anniversary of the Spitfire at Duxford on the 3rd ... (sniff) ... wedding in Paris then (not mine!))

Cheers from NZ

Esq.

cmw1980
08-02-2006, 11:47 AM
Hope you have a good time over here in the U.K.
If you haven't already seen it, stonehenge in Wiltshire is pretty good. Duxford's good on any day too if you haven't been before. St Pauls cathederal is interesting and Canterbury Cathedral is close by too. If I think of anything really good, I'll get back to you. Shame you're not staying further north, the Yorkshire moors and peak district are really beautiful. Anyway, welcome to England and enjoy. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Zeus-cat
08-02-2006, 08:38 PM
Normandy is a must. Visit the little museum in Arromanches and look at the remains of the British Mulberry harbor just offshore.

There is a nice armor museum at Bovington in the UK if you like tanks. The Imperial War Museum in London is excellent too.

Tons of stuff to see in both countries. No chance you'll be bored.

cmw1980
08-04-2006, 05:18 AM
Well done Zeus-cat, I can't believe I forgot I.W.M and Bovington, they're both excellent although I haven't been to Bovington for many years (not since I was about ten years old!)
The London eye is worth checking out by the way.