PDA

View Full Version : Bouncing Bettys

ronstout
03-01-2005, 01:39 PM
I'm pretty new to PF but have lots of time on CFS 1,2 & 3, Falcon 4.x, Mig Alley, etc. I'm having a lot of problems shooting down Bettys when flying the P-40 in a stand alone campaign. I do fine with the fighters, but the rear gunner keeps getting me when I try a trailing approach. I know enough to keep moving around, but to do any damage, it seems like I have to give it at least a one second burst from closer than .3 and in that one second, I get nailed! I've also tried head on and a variety of high deflection shots with very little luck. I've tried to aim at both the fuselage (very little luck), engines (the best) or the wings (they are suppost to be vulnerable but I've had no luck). Can anyone help with some suggestions as to tactics?
thanks

VFA195-MaxPower
03-01-2005, 02:30 PM
Dive on them from above. Try to get your airspeed above 200 km/h faster than theirs in the dive. Pick out a bomber on the edge of their formation. As you're coming down, aim for its engines. Continue diving past at and below it, then turn away from the formation and climb above them and try again.

Also, you can try giving them headon attacks. Also, if you kill either pilot, the rest of the crew will bail out, regardless of whether there is anyone left that is qualified to fly the aircraft.

Cragger
03-01-2005, 02:30 PM
Practice going on head on and high angle shots more. Seriously trailing a bomber is setting you up for the sucker. Your giving that gunner all the time in the work to line your **** up in his sites with practically no lead on his part.

VFA195-MaxPower
03-01-2005, 02:35 PM
Sorry, I forgot to add something (and firefox doesn't like me to edit my replies).