PDA

View Full Version : Bat radar guided bomb

harold x
02-08-2011, 03:42 PM
does anyone know to incorporate the Bat bomb to corsair usn/ usmc in game missions. better still all the new weapons and planes into appropriate national missions.i am not good at fmb and its pointless in qmb for that reason. thanks

Treetop64
02-08-2011, 09:35 PM
I'm not sure the Corsair was equipped to carry the bat.

Romanator21
02-09-2011, 12:13 AM
It's a post-war weapon.

Heliopause
02-09-2011, 02:49 AM
I dont think it was post-war.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bat_(guided_bomb)

M_Gunz
02-09-2011, 04:03 AM
Team Daidalos was good enough to prepare the 4.10 Guide as a PDF but who takes time to RTFM?

Bat radar-guided bomb
The SWOD Mark 9, also known as Bat, was an anti-shipping weapon developed by US Naval
Bureau of Ordnance's. It was fielded operationally and was one of the most impressive guided
weapons developed during World War II.
The Bat's guidance system was particularly sophisticated for the time. After being dropped it
glided toward the target on a preset course using a gyro-stabilizer system to keep it on track.
As it approached the target the bomb locked on with its own radar system that guided it into
the target. Since the radar seeker was conceptually similar to the "sonar" system used by a
bat to prey on flying insects, the weapon was named after the bat. The Bat also included a
self-destruct mechanism to keep it from falling into enemy hands, and obtained its electrical
power from four small windmill generators.

The Bat was put into operation in May 1945, on Navy PB4Y-2 Privateer patrol bombers,
maritime derivatives of the Consolidated B-24 Liberator. One Bat was carried under each wing.
Privateer’s crews claimed many successes against Japanese shipping in the seas around
Borneo, though some sources suggest they may have exaggerated the weapon's effectiveness.
Bats with modified guidance systems were also used against ground targets in Burma and