PDA

View Full Version : Quick Question



Korndogg03
07-14-2005, 04:34 PM
My buddy just bought the game and I decided to install it on my computer just to see if it works before I buy the game. Well, it worked but it was slow and the visuals were kinda messed up a bit like when I was looking outside of the sub. Anyway, I decided to get 1GB of memory and I am going to be getting a new video card. Does anyone know if this would be a good card for the game and other games??

http://www.compusa.com/products/product_info.asp?product_code=316268&pfp=cat3

Ravenspire1
07-14-2005, 04:41 PM
You forgot to say what card you are planing to buy http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

And welcome to the forums http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif


I can say that this game demand a good computer to run smootley but there is tweaking you can do and small programs to dl to improve your computers performance so it runs better.

One prg i allways use in any games iam playing is a prg called GameXP.

It helps a lot to improve fram rate and wierd grapich glitches that can occour. But if you try it be sure to read the readme file so you now what the prg does to your system.

Can be found here:

http://www.theorica.tk/

/edit Doh didnt se your link http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Yes its a good card. But iam fond of ATI cards my self http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif. I have a ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128 meg card and the game runs smootley whit that card. But i also have a 64 bits computer system that helps a lot http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Korndogg03
07-14-2005, 04:44 PM
I edited and posted the link http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

oh and that link doesnt work.

Ravenspire1
07-14-2005, 04:47 PM
It takes some time to load the site.

the link works, tryed it my self http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

But sometimes i know that site can be slow so if it wont work so good now for you,, try it little later http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Korndogg03
07-14-2005, 04:50 PM
it says it can not be found....


did you look at the card i want??

Ravenspire1
07-14-2005, 04:58 PM
hmm strange it wont work for you. It works for me.

I try again by manually type the link:

http://www.theorica.tk/

Or

http://www.theorica.net

And yes i checked the card. It as 256 meg of ram so it would be good for this game. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
And ATI card works good also. So i think you wont regret to buy that card.

Korndogg03
07-14-2005, 05:08 PM
someone just tole me that sometime Dell computers dont like to accept Radeon so I should go with like a GeForce 5500. But Im going to make sure its 256.

rls669
07-14-2005, 07:10 PM
Originally posted by Korndogg03:
someone just tole me that sometime Dell computers dont like to accept Radeon so I should go with like a GeForce 5500. But Im going to make sure its 256.

No point to get an old card with 256megs of memory. It's like having a big trailer hooked up to a little car. You can load more stuff in the trailer, but it doesn't have the power to haul it anywhere http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif But memory is cheap and the average consumer doesn't know how to interpret the specs, so old slow card + more memory than it could ever use = marketing success.

A 6600 with 128 megs will outperform a 5600 with 256, hands down. My 9800 pro with 128 megs will outperform any 9600 or 9550 regardless of whether it has 256, 512, or a gajillion megs of ram. The only possible exception is if the game in question puts no load on the video card other than using large texture sets, but I don't see that happening.

Korndogg03
07-14-2005, 07:16 PM
so what do you suggest then for a price of around $100 cause thats all I really want to spend on this.

It has to be a PCI card might I add.

Ravenspire1
07-14-2005, 07:40 PM
Do you mind if i ask what kind of processor you are using?

Either its an real old machine if it doesnt have agp slots on the motherboad and maybe a to weak processor also.

Or maybe you have a brand new hightech comp whit pci express slot for the graphic card.

Korndogg03
07-14-2005, 07:43 PM
its a refurbished dell dimension 3000 with a pentium 4

rls669
07-14-2005, 08:01 PM
In that case you're stuck with something like a Radeon 9250 or the GF5500. But pci is 2 generations out of date already, putting more money into that system is just a waste. You can get a whole refurb system with an AGP slot and a decent processor for just a few hundred $ more than a crappy outdated video card. If at all possible I'd put the money toward that instead.

Alternatively, you could put your existing components into a new motherboard with an AGP slot. That's probably the most cost-effective upgrade. Even a cheapo board for $100 or less would vastly increase your options. Being shackled to a pci-only board isn't really a viable option for gaming these days.

Korndogg03
07-14-2005, 08:15 PM
This is only my backup computer though that I am just going to start using for gaming. I just want to be able to run the game with decent effects. Im not expecting the best out there. I figured I could add some memory (1GB) and upgrade my card a little bit. Im not trying to turn this into a Gamer's Dream lol.


Could you give me an example of what you would get if you were in my shoes. Like what kind of mobo would you get and everything else i would need?

rls669
07-14-2005, 08:32 PM
I switched to AMD many years ago so I'm no expert on Pentium boards http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif First thing is to find out exactly which cpu you have, and which kind of ram. It's entirely possible that the hardware is just too old, especially the ram. It's common to find boards that will accommodate an older cpu, but use a newer kind of memory. This goes double if you have RDRAM -- it's not supported anymore (and frankly wasn't really supported even when it was the Next Big Thing).

Now that I think about it, check the online hardware places (Newegg, Tigerdirect, etc) for upgrade bundles -- they'll usually have package deals consisting of a motherboard, ram, and cpu. That'll let you use your old case, drives, etc. In your case that's probably the best bang for the buck. For example, Tigerdirect.com has this bundle:

Abit KV7-V Via MotherBoard with AMD Athlon XP 2900+ Processor and 512MB PC3200 DDR Memory
Only $169.99

1 gb of memory is the minimum you should have for SH3 -- I often just switch out of SH3 instead of shutting it down (avoids loading times) and the system monitor often shows it using more than 512 megs of memory. So if you've only got 512 to run SH3 plus the OS you'll take a big speed hit right there.

The Radeon 9600 or better, and equivalent nvidia cards will be a good match to such a system. Even better would be to find a Radeon 9700pro or GF5900 class card on ebay or somewhere.

All of this, of course, is more $ than just putting in a pci card. But it's a nice middle ground between what you've got, and a new system.

Korndogg03
07-14-2005, 08:37 PM
hmmm decisions...


well I already ordered my 1Gb of RAM and itll be here tuesday lol. I just need to figure out what I wanna do now.

WhiteKnight77
07-14-2005, 08:59 PM
If you get a motherboard, you will not be able to use the case and PSU with it. Dell PSU's are not compatible with any motherboard other then a Dell specific motherboard and vice versa. A regular ATX PSU is not compatible with a Dell motherboard.

Korndogg03
07-14-2005, 09:10 PM
pretty sure im just going to get a card.