PDA

View Full Version : Flying the Yaks at high altitude??

Zetler
12-10-2006, 12:56 AM
Hi folks, noob here with a totally noob question. How do I go about flying my Yak-9 to intercept Axis planes at around 3000 meters and up? Whenever I climb up that high and start dogfighting my engine would start smoking and after a while my plane starts losing power like the engine burned out or something...but I didn't get any engine over heat message. Yet all the AI Yaks seems to be operating fine at that altitude, what gives?? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

3.JG51_BigBear
12-10-2006, 01:43 AM
Lower your fuel mixture. You may need to map a key for it, I don't remember if there is a default or not.

Zetler
12-10-2006, 02:33 AM
Is there a certain setting I should lower it to and what if I'm flying at low altitude with a low fuel mixture?

Hanglands
12-10-2006, 02:55 AM
Hi,

Switch your super sharger to second stage at an altitude of 2000m to 2200m.

At around 3200m drop your mixture and prop pitch to 80%.

You may need to bind keys for pitch and mixture. I have mine so throttle is =0, 1=10%, 5=50% etc.

then shift and =0% pitch, shift and 5=50% pitch etc.

and ALT and =0% mixture, ALT and 5=50% mixture etc.

The aircrafts performance will start to deteriorate above 4500m.

As you descend to low alitude, you will need to increase pitch, and mixture back to normal, and also the supercharger too. Switch them back on the way down at the same altitudes as when you were on the way up.

Regards.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m203/ChickenHawk_2006/logoHH.jpg (http://www.geocities.com/hanglands/)

Treetop64
12-10-2006, 07:45 AM
Yep, what those guys said.

However, I have to respectfully disagree with Highland's use of the propeller. The only reason to adjust the porpeller pitch at all, at least for piston engines (as opposed to turbo props), is to govern the engine RPMs in a cruise situation.