PDA

View Full Version : motherboard upgrade, is it worth it?



XyZspineZyX
08-15-2003, 02:41 PM
Hey everyone. I need a little advice. Right now I'm useing a albatron motherboard and I'm thinking of upgrading to one of those nforce2 boards. Would switching to an nforce2 chipset over my via-333 make any difference in performance?It's not that old yet but I've been hearing good stuff about nvidia's boards.

Here's what I'm running right now.

windows xp home
albatron kx400+
one 512 ddr ramstick. 2700
ati 9700 pro (only at 4x for now)
audigy2

XyZspineZyX
08-15-2003, 02:41 PM
Hey everyone. I need a little advice. Right now I'm useing a albatron motherboard and I'm thinking of upgrading to one of those nforce2 boards. Would switching to an nforce2 chipset over my via-333 make any difference in performance?It's not that old yet but I've been hearing good stuff about nvidia's boards.

Here's what I'm running right now.

windows xp home
albatron kx400+
one 512 ddr ramstick. 2700
ati 9700 pro (only at 4x for now)
audigy2

XyZspineZyX
08-15-2003, 02:56 PM
You'll get better response on tech questions using the tech forums. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

------------ /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Cpt.LoneRanger
08-15-2003, 02:58 PM
You only make use of the nForce-Chipset with 2 RAM-modules. (At least)

So, if you want to spend the money for another 512MB-module, yes, it could give you some more FPS, especially on memory consuming games, like IL2FB.

If you intend to run it with just one module, VIA-boards are the faster (and most of the time) cheaper solution.

Hope it helps.

greets
Cpt.LoneRanger


http://www.cptloneranger.privat.t-online.de/CptLoneRanger.jpg