PDA

View Full Version : To PS3 AC2 owners, confirm resolution?



Coolgerb
11-15-2009, 04:17 PM
We have still not heard anything official if the PS3 version will run in 1080p or not.

So can anyone who has the PS3 version already please confirm what resolution it is? Just check the box, and in-game graphics.

To any Xbox360 version owners, can you confirm the resolution too please? Perhaps even the Xbox360 version is 1080p (which I doubt even more than the PS3 version being 1080p) too?

Thanks in advance for the answers.

Raghsak
11-15-2009, 04:55 PM
someone on the gamefaqs forums took a picture for me to confirm this.

if you have uncharted 2, you'll know with the new box style the best native res is in red. 1080p is in red =D

can't vouch for 360 though, probably lower due to M$ and their rules

Coolgerb
11-15-2009, 06:17 PM
Strange, my Uncharted 2 box isn't red.

TheEpicWolf
11-15-2009, 06:26 PM
Originally posted by Coolgerb:
Strange, my Uncharted 2 box isn't red.

I think he means that the where they have written 1080p it will be in red text http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

DigitalTwisted
11-15-2009, 06:31 PM
I have Uncharted 2 in my hand, and the resolution is 720p.

Raghsak
11-15-2009, 07:53 PM
720 is in red on U2, 1080 is on AC2. i think i made that kinda obvious

Azugo
11-15-2009, 08:02 PM
Well, it says on the Official PlayStation site that it's 1080p.
http://au.playstation.com/game.../Assassins-Creed-II/ (http://au.playstation.com/games-media/games/detail/item157692/Assassins-Creed-II/)

Coolgerb
11-15-2009, 10:47 PM
I don't care what it says on that site. Info like that can be months old, so is likely to be wrong.

Chris6067
11-16-2009, 12:25 PM
Doesn't really matter for me... My TV only goes up to 1080i http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif I love it all the same though

Coolgerb
11-17-2009, 10:34 AM
Anyone? Perhaps even a dev even though they don't seem to care?

ACII_Addicted
11-17-2009, 10:37 AM
I really want to know as well . Please Atmon , if you are allowed , do us the favour and answer xD

Spamhain
11-17-2009, 10:47 AM
I just checked it on my TV and it's displaying in 1080p.

WooT!

ACII_Addicted
11-17-2009, 10:55 AM
Originally posted by Spamhain:
I just checked it on my TV and it's displaying in 1080p.

WooT!
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif thanks very much man , all i needed to hear , you just made my day ! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif

Coolgerb
11-17-2009, 12:10 PM
How do you know it's 1080p? Does it say it somewhere on the screen?

The gametrailers review says there's no difference in graphics between PS3 and Xbox360.

Wytao
11-17-2009, 12:51 PM
I don't know, my playstation is displaying it at 720p, which i believe it chooses based on the native resolution of the game to display it in its best quality. Just because under display settings it has variation of options ranging from 480p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p, and i think that it chooses from those options based on the native resolution... Which is sadly 720p, which really is not much of a surprise.

Dead-M
11-17-2009, 01:01 PM
How can u know for sure? I don't think u can easily find out if it is native 720p, or also native 1080p. Most likely it just upscales the 720p to 1080p, and then ur TV tells u that it is 1080p.

Only way to find out is if u have 2 ps3's (force 1 to only display in 720p, and force the other to only display in 1080p), 2 exact same tv's with the same settings, and then observe wich one is better, if the 720p is better, its native in 720p, and vice versa.

ACII_Addicted
11-17-2009, 01:03 PM
Originally posted by mikefacts:
How can u know for sure? I don't think u can easily find out if it is native 720p, or also native 1080p. Most likely it just upscales the 720p to 1080p, and then ur TV tells u that it is 1080p.

Only way to find out is if u have 2 ps3's (force 1 to only display in 720p, and force the other to only display in 1080p), 2 exact same tv's with the same settings, and then observe wich one is better, if the 720p is better, its native in 720p, and vice versa.


OR... you could just take a good quality cam , or have a nice memory , put the game in 720p take a video or try very hard to remember he quality , and then put it on 1080p and watch the difference .... No need to buy 2 Ps3 O.o

Wytao
11-17-2009, 01:40 PM
Well does anyone know if the PS3 auto displays as native resolution if the tv has multiple options for display? Because im using a Bravia 1080p, but it chooses to display it in 720p even though it is a option to display it higher.

Raghsak
11-17-2009, 04:19 PM
yeah do I have to disable it to run the game in 1080? because I'm annoyed that it says 1080 but runs in 720. or should it run better in 720?

Atmon, I request your aid!

Coolgerb
11-17-2009, 04:39 PM
I'm starting to get the feeling I was right about my doubts that the PS3 isn't 1080p either.

But nothing solid as of yet, would like more thoughts. Thanks so far for the contributions people!

Coolgerb
11-17-2009, 06:48 PM
Also, this is very interesting: http://www.gameswire.net/compa...0-comparison_43.html (http://www.gameswire.net/comparisons/assassins-creed-ii-playstation-3-vs-xbox-360-comparison_43.html)

Grandmaster_Z
11-19-2009, 01:13 AM
Originally posted by Canadianbull:
Well does anyone know if the PS3 auto displays as native resolution if the tv has multiple options for display? Because im using a Bravia 1080p, but it chooses to display it in 720p even though it is a option to display it higher.

same here. i have a bravia 1080p, the playstation menu is in 1080p, but ac plays in 720p even though the box says it is 1080p. i dont think it is though, the first game was 720p and this is the same engine.

Pixel09
11-19-2009, 01:30 AM
I expect AC2 will be the same as AC1 with 720p, although i do hope its 1080p, any dev confirm this?

sherbet56
11-20-2009, 08:52 AM
go 2 a store and look 4 yourself lazyass

Pixel09
11-20-2009, 09:05 AM
sherbet56, Please use your brain. The game is not released in Europe (except for a few locations) until the 20th, which is today.

As you can clearly see the posts above are from the 19th and earlier, How can people check in store when the game is not in store? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Also, many people order online and don't pick up in store.