PDA

View Full Version : Keeping the plane steady. Trim?

WizardKing78
03-31-2008, 04:36 AM
I'm relatively new to the game. One of the biggest problems I encounter is trying to keep the plane steady.

Regardless of which plane I fly, it always seems to pull slightly to the left; this is despite maximum rudder and aileron trims to the right (Ctrl+X & Ctrl+RIGHT ARROW). This makes it extremely difficult to hold the plane steady, particularly when approaching for an attack.

Any help and advice is greatly appreciated!

Incidentally, I'm using a basic set-up; keyboard + joystick. The joystick has a throttle slider and rudder axis.

... And no, I'm not going to spend any money on more gizmos. At least not yet.

AnaK774
03-31-2008, 05:00 AM
What planetype?

Not all have adjustable trims for all controls,

4 example 109's have only elevator trim, wich means that you have to step on ball on most speeds to keep plane flying "on trim"

SeaFireLIV
03-31-2008, 05:10 AM
Yep,and planes like the I16 don`t have any rudder trim. Needs constant handling. But I love the realism.

M_Gunz
03-31-2008, 05:45 AM
Originally posted by WizardKing78:
I'm relatively new to the game. One of the biggest problems I encounter is trying to keep the plane steady.

Regardless of which plane I fly, it always seems to pull slightly to the left; this is despite maximum rudder and aileron trims to the right (Ctrl+X & Ctrl+RIGHT ARROW). This makes it extremely difficult to hold the plane steady, particularly when approaching for an attack.

Incidentally, I'm using a basic set-up; keyboard + joystick. The joystick has a throttle slider and rudder axis.

You shouldn't need to do that. What plane is very important and what speeds too, slow and
nose high is going to add some effects like p-factor that add yaw.

You need to fly it without trim and get level with the ball centered manually, say from a
QMB airstart with no enemies so you have time to do that. Start high enough to dive a bit