PDA

View Full Version : Cant use sonar to get a range



matkal80
12-04-2005, 04:23 AM
Hello after patch 1.4 i cant use sonar to estimate range. Icons are blacked out, even when other sonar commands works ok. Why is that?

vanjast
12-04-2005, 05:58 AM
Here's an idea.
When you're close enough to the escort, do a depth measurement. As distance is d = F(t). the sound will take time to the escort, whose sonar operator will ping you back.
Now all you do is measure the time and multiply is by 1000 (Correct me on this speed of sound in sea water at zero depth)

Bingo http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

matkal80
12-04-2005, 06:03 AM
cmon, when i was using SHIII without 1.4 update sonarman was giving me estimated range to the target. Now this 'give range icon' is grayed out.
WHY!!!

jorgesoo
12-04-2005, 07:28 AM
Is your Uboat equiped with active sonar ?

Azordia
12-04-2005, 08:18 AM
Those things weren't avaliable until some late '42 I believe. Check if you're still in those Early War times. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

matkal80
12-04-2005, 08:23 AM
I tried single mission that are after 42 and still cant use sonar to estimate range.

paulhager
12-04-2005, 08:46 AM
Originally posted by matkal80:
Hello after patch 1.4 i cant use sonar to estimate range. Icons are blacked out, even when other sonar commands works ok. Why is that?

Since I've never had this problem, I can offer only two possibilities. The first has been mentioned by other responders: you haven't purchased sonar for your U-boat. The second is that one or more config files have been corrupted. If you've installed mods I suppose that could happen.

I'm assuming that you aren't trying to use sonar while surfaced...

Amnio
12-04-2005, 09:00 AM
Many of the u-boats in the single missions doesn't have sonar installed, even after '42. Check the sonarstation to see if the pingbutton is available. Alternatively check the crewscreen and see if sonar is listed in any of the compartments.

The SGerat is available in the careergame from april '42 btw.

vanjast
12-04-2005, 01:16 PM
It's probably a mod change. Some mods like Rub make things a bit more realistic and take this away from you.
What I find is that you should be able to tell how far a ship is from you by the volume of the sound you receive. This is hard and requires a lot of sonar time. I don't think this is modelled in the game.

matkal80
12-05-2005, 12:29 AM
Ok i renistalled.
After clean install sonar works OK, but after applying 1.4b patch (US DVD) range estimation is grayed out and i cant use it. I have no idea why is that. I read the update readme and it says nothing about this change.

Amnio
12-05-2005, 06:35 AM
Originally posted by matkal80:
Ok i renistalled.
After clean install sonar works OK, but after applying 1.4b patch (US DVD) range estimation is grayed out and i cant use it.
There was a bug in the earlier versions which allowed you to use the sonar even when you didn't have it installed. Solution: install a sonar (like everyone allready suggested.)

Jose.MaC
12-06-2005, 12:22 PM
If you don't have an active sonar, sonar man will still giving you stimations of range -long, midle, short-, but not the range up to the meter.

As said before this was a bug in the original game.

jorgesoo
12-09-2005, 05:06 PM
When I try to ping a ship, I receive a warning about not having a target selected.-
How do I select a target ?.- I tried with the targeting options at the weapons officer station, but no way.-

Amnio
12-09-2005, 05:34 PM
Try pointing the scope at a target then ask the SO to ping for distance. Another way is to man the hydrophones yourself, listen for the enginenoises and then either use the pingbutton (often several times) or ask the SO to verify range.