PDA

View Full Version : Coop starts off of the runway



XyZspineZyX
09-25-2003, 03:20 AM
Nothing new here. I'd just like to remind 1C that this option is the easist way of enhanceing gameplay for many people. I fear that it is being ignored to death. Please don't do that 1C. It's already in dogfights, can we just have it as a choice for coops? Thanks.

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
09-25-2003, 03:20 AM
Nothing new here. I'd just like to remind 1C that this option is the easist way of enhanceing gameplay for many people. I fear that it is being ignored to death. Please don't do that 1C. It's already in dogfights, can we just have it as a choice for coops? Thanks.

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
09-28-2003, 04:46 AM
BUMP /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
09-29-2003, 01:41 AM
I tested it before posting and it is possible to have co-op starts on the ramp (tarmac) that will require taxiing to the runway. Granted, it's a workaround, but here is how it works. Select the aircraft you want and put the first waypoint as "Landing". Of course this will put the plane on the runway, but you can drag it back to the ramp where you want it to start. Do that with each aircraft (I had to make each one a solitary flight leader resulting in plane numbers skipping four numbers...big deal, so instead of White 1, White 2, etc. I got White 1, White 5, etc.). Be sure to caution the co-op players that their engines will be running when the game starts and they must bring the throttle to idle and apply brakes. Then they can taxi to the runway for takeoff. Obviously you won't be able to set other waypoints, but I used the marvelous new grid coordinate system to direct the flight to the action. Just put into your briefing text which sector (ie J-6) where the action is expected. Your RMI (radio magnetic indicator, or ADF, which ever you want to call it) will always point toward home. Any planes manned by AI won't cooperate and will more than likely crash into airport structures that are in their way. Those that do manage to get airborne will orbit the airfield. The original IL-2 demo provided for ramp starts in co-op, but, just as with the ability to padlock ships as ground targets, the feature disappeared in subsequent releases and the request to reinstate it has been made many times since. Until 1C:Maddox gives us the capability, we can find a way to make it happen. I hope this helps.

XyZspineZyX
09-29-2003, 05:18 AM
Yes, I've had this suggested to me, and I have tried it as well. In many ways it's worse than just starting lined up on the runway. You can't use any AI in the mission, and the engines are running at high RPM to begin. This is a huge problem for me, as my squad uses the 262. It ruins the immersion worse the just the runway start.
I am shocked to hear that ramp starts for coops were in the demo. I got into this game after that, so I never had it. Why in the world was this taken out!? I suppose it proves even further how easy it would be to put in, since it already has been. Please 1C, it's just common sense.

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
10-01-2003, 12:36 AM
bump bumpity bump bump

http://www.student.richmond.edu/~vk5qa/images/forumsig.jpg


"Come on in, I'll treat you right. I used to know your daddy."