PDA

View Full Version : ~1946 Very First impressions, from a self-avowed expert



Chuck_Older
12-21-2006, 05:01 PM
Things can be curious sometimes

I sat here, after being a good boy and doing the Christmas shopping I needed to do before rushing home to play (or attempt to play) 46, and even made dinner before I loaded Il2 1946 on my PC

For the record concerning the PC, it is what many would call "****". I've never gone to SP2 on XP (gasp). I have onboard sound (horror!). I also have, on my hard drive, a copy of Silent Hunter III, complete with (wait for it) StarForce. In addition, I have Nero and a Sony DVD-R on this 2.08 Ghz Athlon based PC with 1.5MB of PC2700 RAM with a vanilla AGP GeForce 6600 256mb. A hot rod, it ain't

Bear with me a moment. I also bought the "Book of Five Rings" today and began reading while loading 46. For those who don;t know the book, it is used as an allegory for business strategy in Japan today, but it was written by Miyamoto Musashi, the samurai who perfected the simultaneous use of Katana and Wakizashi. He reportedly fought (and slew) 60 enemies who stood against him alone. Very interesting book, it is his treatise on what he referred to as Strategy. Fascinating book, I recommend it highly

back to 46 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I loaded it up. A did a full defrag with Executive diskeeper last night, to prepare. I had 48% volume available on the HD, and I turned off all non-essential functions manually before installing

Loaded slowly at times, but hey, there's a lot of info

Zero mumbo-jumbo about 'orignal disc', or the DVD-R couldn't read it

I rebooted the PC because of DX9c installation (couldn't hurt to re-do it). Then i ran '46 from the icon on the desktop

Funny. I read a lot about 'slow booting is normal'. Well does anybody like apples? How's these apples- 46 loads at least twice as quickly as 4.04m did. That's no typo- 46 loads QUICKLY.

I looked at planes breifly. Can't wait to fly a Ki-27. I need to import my old pilot from my 4.04 install, and my WIP campaign stuff from my back up files, and my skins from my back up files

But holy crow, 46 seems to be giving me no guff at all, and I'm definitely in the "have DVD burning software and hardware" group<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/Jimmychamp.jpg
Flower of Scotland, will we see your like again?

JG53Frankyboy
12-21-2006, 05:09 PM
Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
.....................
I looked at planes breifly. Can't wait to fly a Ki-27...............

dont get slow in it, it needs ages to get on speed again - fixed pitch propeler http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Chuck_Older
12-21-2006, 05:13 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

OK, I DO have a problem

This is no joke- my readme file appears completely blank. There's no text on it at all

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

WTF?

BA_Dart had posted it on simhq a while back, and that ws blank for me too. One other member had the same problem. I figured it was because of a corrupted download. What gives here???<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/Jimmychamp.jpg
Flower of Scotland, will we see your like again?

JG53Frankyboy
12-21-2006, 05:15 PM
Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

OK, I DO have a problem

This is no joke- my readme file appears completely blank. There's no text on it at all

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

WTF?

BA_Dart had posted it on simhq a while back, and that ws blank for me too. One other member had the same problem. I figured it was because of a corrupted download. What gives here???

thats the revenge of the apples http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

VW-IceFire
12-21-2006, 05:26 PM
Thats odd...blank readme. Maybe it increases load times http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/icefire-tempestv.jpg
Find my missions at Flying Legends (http://www.flying-legends.net/php/downloads/downloads.php?cat_id=19) and Mission4Today.com (http://www.mission4today.com).

Waldo.Pepper
12-21-2006, 05:26 PM
Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

OK, I DO have a problem

This is no joke- my readme file appears completely blank. There's no text on it at all

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif


WTF?

BA_Dart had posted it on simhq a while back, and that ws blank for me too. One other member had the same problem. I figured it was because of a corrupted download. What gives here???



Open the file in Word or Write. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif Kids today.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v516/WaldoPepper/sig/p61rev.jpg

Chuck_Older
12-21-2006, 05:40 PM
Good advice old timer, but I tried that already<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/Jimmychamp.jpg
Flower of Scotland, will we see your like again?

Viper2005_
12-21-2006, 05:45 PM
If the game works, why not read the readme on the internet? It's been posted all over the place, thousands of times...

If the game doesn't work, the readme is the least of your worries!

Chuck_Older
12-21-2006, 06:01 PM
If the game works, why not read the readme on the internet? It's been posted all over the place, thousands of times...

maybe 'cause I'd like to look offline some day, and looking online doesn't fix the problem? If that's ok with everyone, that is...

If the game doesn't work, the readme is the least of your worries!

Um...I seem to have posted that the game works fine, I just have a blank readme. Actually, there's a thread started by another player who has this same issue, over at simhq. Like I also posted, I encountered this before I even HAD 46 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Pays to read the whole thread, 'eh wot? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Conclusion- it's not '46 that's causing the problem. How could it be? I had this same problem before I installed '46

I'm the last one to b!tch and moan. The game works fine. I'd just like to know how to make word or notepad display the readme file

It's a Rich Text do***ent, but I can make those myself and they work just fine. Looks like a Win F up....first time I've seen this

I can open my old, orignal PF readme, which is also a Rich Text do***ent. I just tried the 4.04 readme, which is the same ttype of do***ent. Works fine<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/Jimmychamp.jpg
Flower of Scotland, will we see your like again?

Chuck_Older
12-21-2006, 06:02 PM
oh, good show, profanity filter!<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/Jimmychamp.jpg
Flower of Scotland, will we see your like again?

AVG_WarHawk
12-21-2006, 06:05 PM
Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
oh, good show, profanity filter!

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif They don't miss a thing.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y270/AVG_WarHawk/banners/WarHawk_Banner2.jpg

Waldo.Pepper
12-21-2006, 06:06 PM
Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
Good advice old timer, but I tried that already

Well worked for me. (Right click open with etc etc like that. Guess your special http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v516/WaldoPepper/sig/p61rev.jpg

Chuck_Older
12-21-2006, 06:08 PM
Bizarre.

http://www.simhq.com/simhq3/sims/boards/bbs/ultimatebb....topic;f=144;t=007479 (http://www.simhq.com/simhq3/sims/boards/bbs/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=144;t=007479)

Hopefully this is the only issue I'll see. Off to flog 46 a while<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/Jimmychamp.jpg
Flower of Scotland, will we see your like again?

DONB3397
12-21-2006, 08:36 PM
Has anyone seen any fps problems? Someone posted that their frames dropped by half.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v243/DONB3397/SpitSig01b.jpg
"And now I see with eye serene/The very pulse of the machine;
A being breathing thoughtful breath,/A Traveller between life and death." -- Wordsworth

CaptJodan
12-21-2006, 08:45 PM
Well in my brief tests with the Burma map I found one of the fields don't allow you to start engines that need a boost from the airfield in question to start. (jets, I-16, etc)

Far top left corner of the map.

jensenpark
12-21-2006, 09:32 PM
Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
Good advice old timer, but I tried that already

Hey, I've had drinks with Waldo several times - and he ain't no old timer.

more like a really old timer.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v289/jensenpark/jensennd9.png

Canada - Aerodrome of Democracy:
http://collections.ic.gc.ca/highlights/history/wwii.htm

BM357_Streaky9
12-21-2006, 09:45 PM
Why you can't adjust your prop pitch anymore ?any of the that have adjustable prop pitch become disable, I used to adjust energy and to keep my engine cool now it is gone AAHHHHHHH!!.
Also the Radiator only open and close you can't open it by percentage encrement, What the hell happen to IL2? is this how they fix the game screw up other stuff that is already woking fine? Geeeez I want my money back!!!!!! I bought every single add on on this game why! why?why?. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif

knightflyte
12-21-2006, 10:16 PM
Originally posted by BM357_Streaky9:
Why you can't adjust your prop pitch anymore ?any of the that have adjustable prop pitch become disable, I used to adjust energy and to keep my engine cool now it is gone AAHHHHHHH!!.
Also the Radiator only open and close you can't open it by percentage encrement, What the hell happen to IL2? is this how they fix the game screw up other stuff that is already woking fine? Geeeez I want my money back!!!!!! I bought every single add on on this game why! why?why?. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif


Streaky,

Do you need to rebind the keys in the controls panel of "IL2 '46" for prop pitch?

OR:

Do you have to restore your difficulty settings in the game? You might have Complex Engine Management off.

JG52Karaya-X
12-22-2006, 01:52 AM
Originally posted by BM357_Streaky9:
Why you can't adjust your prop pitch anymore ?any of the that have adjustable prop pitch become disable, I used to adjust energy and to keep my engine cool now it is gone AAHHHHHHH!!.
Also the Radiator only open and close you can't open it by percentage encrement, What the hell happen to IL2? is this how they fix the game screw up other stuff that is already woking fine? Geeeez I want my money back!!!!!! I bought every single add on on this game why! why?why?. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif

MAN, I also have '46 and everything that you listed here is working fine, I suspect your problems lies somewhere between the monitor and the back of your chair. Go and have a look at your difficulty settings as already mentioned.

Now you can swear over yourself http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v639/Karaya/Black_Devil.gif (http://www.geocities.com/jg52thebutcherbirds/index1.html)
The tiger leaves no smell and doesn't make a sound, but you know he is there.
There is something in the shadows - it's the tiger waiting for you.

foxyboy1964
12-22-2006, 02:43 AM
You're not alone Chuck, if thats any consolation http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif. My read me is blank too. As far as I can see the only thing you really need to read about is how to land the Lerch, so I figure I can live with it.

WWMaxGunz
12-22-2006, 02:59 AM
Chuck, I've had text files look blank on me long ago and the problem then was that somehow
the text was the same color as the background! Try highlighting a block for cut'n'paste
just to see if that's it. Other than that, is the filesize zero? What do you get in a
hex editor if not? Sure, I don't expect you to read the file from the hex editor but at
least it might provide a clue.

Wilburnator
12-22-2006, 04:11 AM
Originally posted by DONB3397:
Has anyone seen any fps problems? Someone posted that their frames dropped by half.

I got my copy yesterday from GoGamer.com (with the dirt-cheap, up to two weeks shipping, no less) and this was one of the first things I checked, after having read some reports of degraded frame rates.

I created a fresh installation of the game so I could continue flying whatever version I want until most of the HL servers are switched over to 4.07. I checked frame rates on the Black Death track in 4.07, I got a lump in my throat when I saw how much the fr went down. Something along the lines of about 30%. Then I opened both conf.ini files, new and old, and compared all the entries in the OpenGL sections (should've done this first, ofcourse) and there were several mismatched entries. I edited the new file to match the old one, started the game, and went into my sound settings and made certain that they were the same as I had them in 4.04/4.05 also. Bingo! That was it... I actually got a slight improvement in4.07 over 4.05. Everything looks great and runs smooth.

I'm actually pretty happy with everything so far. Alot of the little issues that bothered me about the game seem to be fixed. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif

Oh, and my read.me file was blank too, I was able to view it after downloading that MS Office Word Viewer that was mentioned in the simhq thread that Chuck posted ealier in this thread.

Salute<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

<IMG SRC="http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b39/wilburnator/353rd-Anima

DarkWingDuck...
12-22-2006, 04:26 AM
Below is my readme file, in its entirety :



, I blame Boosh<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

QUACK

Chuck_Older
12-22-2006, 04:33 AM
Max-

that was my first thought too. So I tapped out a few letters on the readme, myself- they were black, and I couldn't highlight any test other than those letters

I'll try the download over at simhq.

But that is, so far, the one and only problem

I tried some stuff out, on a map that I have made, that has about 40 thousand objects on it

No frame drops over here http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif Somehow, I seem to be one of the people who don't have these horrid issues so many people describe. Perhaps it's because I ruthlessly clean old and redundant files from my hard drive and registry about once a month, and defrag once every couple weeks? Dunno, but no complaints here<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/Jimmychamp.jpg
Flower of Scotland, will we see your like again?

Codex1971
12-22-2006, 04:37 AM
Well I got my copy from EB over a week ago, I have the 2 DVD set. So just out of curiosity I checked the readme and...yep...mines blank too, so I associated it to an Open Office doc and bingo, there she was...very strange.

Try associating the file to another text viewer, I prefer Open Office cause its as good as MS-Office and it's free!

As for slow frames, not me.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.members.optusnet.com.au/codex1971/Images/OnlineSig.jpg
http://www.deysquad.com/

msalama
12-22-2006, 05:26 AM
Yeah, working perfectly here as well. I'm seeing a drop of some 5 FPS or so, but stuttering and freezing is gone as well so no complaints http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

My average is 45 FPS* which I think is more than adequate for this s**tty 2.4 GHz / 1 GB / Radeon 9250 rig of mine. The graphic settings are pretty pants though, but that I think is only natural with a PC this old.

The secret to success with an old gaming 'puter is how you configure it - or in other words, never EVER let the bugger run anything that isn't absolutely necessary!!! Mine is _very_ lean f.ex. and the number of services I've got running now is 11 all counted. And everything's still working flawlessy http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

XP is certainly a better Wintendo environment than, say, Win98. But it's also a f**king hog which is something you just _have_ to take into account when using it! Well that's my $0.002 at any rate http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

* PS / EDIT: measured w/ the BlackDeath .ntrk.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hippies FTW!

msalama
12-22-2006, 05:28 AM
And oh yeah - readme.rtf is blank when opened w/ Wordpad whereas OpenOffice shows it flawlessy. Strange but no showstopper http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hippies FTW!

Feathered_IV
12-22-2006, 05:37 AM
+1 for blank readme here too.

The old micro stutters I used to get are reduced. I notice things go smoother with no other disc in the secondary drive. Pity about the dysfuntional altimeter and artificial horizon in the J2M5 though.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

***********************************************

http://server2.uploadit.org/files/Feathered-sigpic.jpg

"Intelligent, normally observant and answered all questions freely. He was arrogant and proud to be a pilot. Fellow prisoners in hospital consider him mentally unstable."

BM357_Streaky9
12-22-2006, 05:40 AM
Sorry guys , I'm just getting frustrated. I 'll check everything to make it work. Yes I did assign a new key for all that{ propitch, and Radiator.

DarkWingDuck...
12-22-2006, 05:50 AM
Codex, thx for the openoffice tip<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

QUACK

JG52Karaya-X
12-22-2006, 05:55 AM
Originally posted by BM357_Streaky9:
Sorry guys , I'm just getting frustrated. I 'll check everything to make it work. Yes I did assign a new key for all that{ propitch, and Radiator.

check

your

realism

settings<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v639/Karaya/Black_Devil.gif (http://www.geocities.com/jg52thebutcherbirds/index1.html)
The tiger leaves no smell and doesn't make a sound, but you know he is there.
There is something in the shadows - it's the tiger waiting for you.

Chuck_Older
12-22-2006, 06:07 AM
Originally posted by BM357_Streaky9:
Sorry guys , I'm just getting frustrated. I 'll check everything to make it work. Yes I did assign a new key for all that{ propitch, and Radiator.

I agree with others; 46 is a new install so make sure CEM is actually "on" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/Jimmychamp.jpg
Flower of Scotland, will we see your like again?

Inadaze
12-22-2006, 06:11 AM
I had a blank readme in Wordpad as well, the data is in it but doesn't show. I fixed it by downloading Abiword (http://www.abisource.com/download/) it's a freeware word processor, quite good too considering it's only 5.2meg to download. Worth a go for anyone who needs the readme and doesn't have MS Office http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif (BTW I've not noticed any spyware or mallware with it and I'm pretty damned picky checking for that kinda thing)

Diablo310th
12-22-2006, 07:07 AM
Originally posted by AVG_WarHawk:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
oh, good show, profanity filter!

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif They don't miss a thing. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

That is so funny. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img54.photobucket.com/albums/v166/310thDiablo/DiabloSig.gif

Tater-SW-
12-22-2006, 07:59 AM
my experience (and computer, lol) is very similar to chuck's. didn't look at readme, saw it on web already.

tater

Chuck_Older
12-22-2006, 08:00 AM
What I???ve found so far-

In a dogfight that has 10 friendly fighters taking off to attack a dozen strafing enemies, with a few hundred objects displayed right under the fight, no FPS losses from 4.04m. Mission plays the same

Flying over a city that I have placed around 500 additional objects in, with fires and smoke being generated, at dawn with mist, slight FPS hit- but same as 4.04m. Overall, on this map that I have about 40,000 objects placed on, I???m seeing the same performance as 4.04m

Ki 27s are very small targets, and lose ailerons at around 350 mph in a dive Possible errors with Ki-27 however- throttle moves forward to increase power. Historically, it is my firm belief that at least on some models, the throttle was pulled back to increase power, similar to French Fighters. Will investigate more, but David Lee ???Tex??? Hill recalls flying a Ki-27 in China, and it had a ???backwards??? throttle

Ki 21s seem tough. I had been using DB-3s as a hack up until now, so I???ve been replacing DB-3s with Ki-21s (finally!). I???m very familiar with shooting down DB-3s. The Ki-21 seems more robust than a DB-3???does not seem right, but I will do more testing before I claim foul- I???ve only shot at two Ki 21s so far

New objects had me so happy I almost didn???t know what to do.

I tried booting up the game several times last night

Twice out of six times, I got secuROM errors, asking me to install the original disc (I never even removed it!). I closed the error window both times, and double clicked the 46 icon again- game launched but the task bar was still showing, so cursor would not work in-game. So I tried to get the desktop cursor onto the task bar- which worked- and clicked the open tab, which closed the task bar, and then the sim ran as normal. Inconvenient. The cleanliness of the disc and drive must be key here???the other four times, the sim launched after a 20 second pause (during which secuROM apparently validated the disc), and then the sim booted up in record time. I???m going to take one of the ultra soft cloths I use to polish my car, cut it in a circle, and use it as liner in the DVD case

So minor but not unsolvable secuROM shenanigans over here. Silly nonsense actually, but I recommend folks getting the above error simply close out the window, and click the icon again. I bet I put a thumbprint thumbprint on my DVD<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/Jimmychamp.jpg
Flower of Scotland, will we see your like again?

Tater-SW-
12-22-2006, 08:48 AM
B6N reskinned might make a good Vultee Vengeance...

EURO_Snoopy
12-22-2006, 08:52 AM
The Readme file can be read by Word if you have it, if not you can download a free Word Viewer here (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=95E24C87-8732-48D5-8689-AB826E7B8FDF&displaylang=en)

Alternatively right click on the file and select 'Open with' then choose Internet Explorer.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://airwarfare.com/AWX/Webpage%20Graphics/AWsig.jpg (http://www.airwarfare.com)

AW Forums (http://www.airwarfare.com/phpBB2/index.php) - Mission4Today (http://mission4today.com/index.php) - FAQ (http://airwarfare.com/mediawiki-1.4.5/index.php?title=FAQ_Introduction) - Installation Guide (http://airwarfare.com/mediawiki-1.4.5/index.php?title=9.1._Installation) - Patching (http://airwarfare.com/mediawiki-1.4.5/index.php?title=Patching) - Posting Etiquette (http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/posting.php)

TC_Stele
12-22-2006, 09:02 AM
Heya Chuck, sounds good. I got my copy too. I'm very much looking forward to using the Ki-27 and the additions along with the Burma map. I messaged you a few months back about me working on that God is My Co-Pilot campaign. I put it on hold until this came out. I've got a bit of work to do. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

=====================
http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/9899/il2siggx3.gif

JG52Uther
12-22-2006, 09:20 AM
Thanks Snoopy! The MS word viewer fixed it.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v299/JG52Uther/Uther_Do17_3.jpg http://www.geocities.com/jg52thebutcherbirds/
2.(K)/JG52 -(Bombergroup)