PDA

View Full Version : Simple exsplanation why many thinks here p-51 is porked

Sintubin
03-07-2006, 10:09 AM
the bad reputation of the 109 today is a result of the fact that the G6late was used a long time in 1944. Hard live for the pilots in this plane, and also for us. G10 was in use in autumn 44...
G14 maybe a bit earlier, but the low HP G6 in 1944 is the cause why many guys in the General Forum believe a P51 should do anything it wants with a 109.

SithSpeeder
03-07-2006, 10:14 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

* _54th_Speeder *

a2356efba3t4r7on4uy5d6[ui90[78-o.,[7pjmehj7vhgqtfb56ta56r2d
This is what happens when I roll my head on my keyboard.

Chuck_Older
03-07-2006, 10:15 AM
The problem is that folks don't have any clue how to fly it. We ALL fly these aircraft wrong sometimes. The sim allows you to do it. The concept of 110% throttle and less than 100% prop pitch is alien to many folks, for example

TX-Zen
03-07-2006, 10:20 AM
I'm a Dora pilot, what is this mysterious prop pitch you speak of?

Chuck_Older
03-07-2006, 10:21 AM
It's this thing on the P-51Dora

Bearcat99
03-07-2006, 10:35 AM
I know how to fly it... and it still IMO has serious flaws.... I fly it anyway.. it is what it is and it's the best P-51 out.... that can shoot anyway.... and it is in the only WWII sim that gets my time so I just deal..... but I still say it accelerates too slow.. it doesnt dive fast enough... and it has a poor zoom climb.... I use trim and pitch too.. and I hardly ever go to 110%.... unless it is a war emergency ....

TX-Zen
03-07-2006, 10:53 AM
Originally posted by Chuck_Older:

Ahh yes, one of those antiquated manual systems, right? Let me guess, you have to pull a kob or something for supercharger settings too?

Awwwww, how cute!

danjama
03-07-2006, 02:12 PM
Bearcat has a good thread somewhere from a while back

robban75
03-07-2006, 02:24 PM
Originally posted by Bearcat99: