PDA

View Full Version : I-16 engine cutting out



Triggaaar
09-04-2005, 08:02 AM
I'll try not to make too much of a habbit of asking newbie questions.

Having just started IL2 career, I'm on my second mission (I've just paused it), and my engine has cut out again.
Is it because I was to agressive with changing the throttle, or manouevering?
And can I get it going again?
Thanks.

In the first mission, I landed without any landing gear, as it seems you have to manually lower the gear, and I knew nothing about that (good landing anyway, if I do say so myself). No idea how I was supposed to know.

HotelBushranger
09-04-2005, 08:08 AM
Firstly, the I-16 doesn't have a fuel injection engine. Therefore, put it in sustained or too sudden negative G manouvers, and the engine is viable to cut out. This also counts for the J8A, Cr 42, I-153 and G 50, possibly the P11 too-never fly it http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif .

With the gear, a few aircraft and manual cranking gear, specifically the I-16 and F4F to name 2.

Don't worry bout askin newbie questions, just hang around the forums and you tend to pic things up http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Triggaaar
09-04-2005, 08:22 AM
Thanks.

So, can I get the engine going again?

FlatSpinMan
09-04-2005, 08:27 AM
"So, can I get the engine going again?"

Frequently yes. When you are desperately in need of it,no. Have you tried hitting the ignition key ("i")when you level out a bit? You can add the Hurricane Mk1 to the list of planes you shouldn't push the nose down with. To dive, try to flick roll to one side as you lower the nose.
Feel free to ask questions.
===========================================

ytareh
09-04-2005, 08:31 AM
Yeah even a little forward pressure on the stick can make an 'older'(carburettor fuel fed)planes engine start to splutter -can be very annoying.Even the Hurricane Mk1 does this(and in fact the Spitfire Mk1 would too if it were in game....)If you are flying in a straight line and want to dive forward quickly you need to do what the real RAF BOB fighter pilots did flip the plane upside down or at least roll and pull BACK on the stick

VW-IceFire
09-04-2005, 08:41 AM
Getting the engine started involves a bit of strategy, luck, and altitude.

If you stall the engine, point the nose down and pick up as much speed as possible. You want to get well over 220kph. Above this I think the speed will start to turn the prop on its own and then you can try the ignition again. Sometimes takes a few tries. If not...find a soft place to ditch.

Its easier in a Hurricane than an I-16. Something about how the engine starts I think.

Kuna15
09-04-2005, 08:46 AM
Engine cutout in I-16 will occur when negative G force in influencing engine (it stops the fuel from reaching the engine). Negative G you can experience when you pull the stick down - your pilot will redout if force is strong enough. If you pull stick up your pilot will experience blackout, again if force is strong enough.(in I-16 that shouldn't be a problem to achieve http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif)

You can start I-16 engine again in air, but you must be very careful. Like the other folks said dive a bit to gain speed, and I would reccomend setting your mixture to 120% (you will probably be on deck at this time, low alt).

Also after I start the engine I tend to 'play' a bit with throttle - from 0 to 110% during engine start process... anyway I don't know if that helps really.

Monitor your instruments closely especially Tachometer, it will tell you when you have started your engine succesfully.

HotelBushranger
09-04-2005, 08:46 AM
Also, take the Mixture down to 20% or so. When its on 100%, it could take a dozen tries to get the engine started. With low mixture, it works usually within 3 tries. This was on the Cr 42.

Edit: Just saw the post above, that would appear to make more sense. But a few pilots online have suggested dropping mixture, so I tried it and walla

Triggaaar
09-04-2005, 08:51 AM
Mixture 20% or 120%? I've never tried changing that yet, so will have to give it a go.

Also, what should I have the throttle at? (0%, 100%?)

I have plenty of speed at the moment (in paused game), and would like to get it going, as I've done well in the mission.

Kuna15
09-04-2005, 09:14 AM
HBR says that lowering to 20% mix should give you better opportunity to start engine... I don't know. I'm gonna play with these settings a bit so I will know for sure then. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

It sounds quite logical that we should enrich engine with fuel mixture instead of cutting mixture (on low alt). However I did not test that thoroughly so I can not tell for sure. I have tried few times on 120% and managed to start it on 210kph at ~150m alt (second attempt).

When you start the engine try to raise throttle lever from 0 to 110%.

Kuna15
09-04-2005, 09:45 AM
Originally posted by Triggaaar:
Mixture 20% or 120%? I've never tried changing that yet, so will have to give it a go.

Also, what should I have the throttle at? (0%, 100%?)

I have plenty of speed at the moment (in paused game), and would like to get it going, as I've done well in the mission.

Here is the link for the I-16_startup track I just made, download and put it in your Records folder within main FB folder (right click on link and select "save as" when you download it rename file extension in .nrtk):

I-16_startup track (http://free-vk.t-com.hr/domagoj/tracks/offline/402__kunai16_airstart.zip)

p1ngu666
09-04-2005, 10:11 AM
the engine shouldnt actully stop unless its sustained neg G. the momentum on the engine should keep it turning..
not in FP tho http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

F19_Olli72
09-04-2005, 10:37 AM
Has anyone seen that show on Discovery (dont remember the name of it) where they showed a guy who owned a Merlin engine. He used to take it to airshows start it up in its 'cradle' and turn it upside down to demonstrate a neg cutout.

Pretty cool to see and hear it.

F19_Ob
09-04-2005, 12:17 PM
On Fiatcr42, G-50 and i-16 (polikarpovs) and gladiators if engine cuts out and wont restart I use the procedure used at the time that clears an overflooded engine.
Throtle idle and wait 10-20 sec for fuel to clear and then restart. I-16 seems to restart more often for me in a shallow dive and suppossedly because of the prop moving enough for restart(not sure it's modelled).

I'm not sure my method is the best but it has worked reasonably often this way so i'll go with it.
Just trying to restart repeatedly doesn't work aswell for me.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Kuna15
09-04-2005, 12:50 PM
Also I have found out that when engine stops after I hit "I" key (starts the engine) sometimes I get "Engine:Off" message. That occurs when engine is stopped by negative G force.

After that I immediatelly hit "I" key again - "Engine: On" message.
------------------------------------------------
@F19_Ob mate you may wanna check out my track that I posted above.

F19_Ob
09-04-2005, 12:55 PM
I DL it already http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Xiolablu3
09-04-2005, 02:13 PM
Starting - Try and leave it for as long as possible between tries. Its like the battery 'runs down' if you keep trying it repeatedly. If it doesnt start first time, try and leave it a while and just glide.

If you really NEED it started, chances are it will not. It starts better if you are diving as fast as possible and if you havent tried it over and over.

Of course sods law dictates that it will start fine first time if you dont urgently need it. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Triggaaar
09-04-2005, 02:57 PM
Well, it didn't start, and I crashed.

When I tried adjusting the mixture, I didn't get any info on screen (as you do with flaps up/down etc). I tried to increase & decrease the mixture, I don't know if it did anything. Maybe I tried to many times too quickly (hadn't read all these at the time). I will now set up a quick mission and practice.

I don't think I was doing any negative diving when it happened. I'll pay more attention now I know.

Triggaaar
09-04-2005, 03:06 PM
Originally posted by Kuna15:
Here is the link for the I-16_startup track I just made, download and put it in your Records folder within main FB folder (right click on link and select "save as" when you download it rename file extension in .nrtk):
I assume you meant ntrk. I renamed it in Dos (windows was keeping it as HTML), but it gave me a memory error when I tried to play it, and kicked me out of FB. Any ideas?

Kuna15
09-04-2005, 03:30 PM
Originally posted by Triggaaar:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Kuna15:
Here is the link for the I-16_startup track I just made, download and put it in your Records folder within main FB folder (right click on link and select "save as" when you download it rename file extension in .nrtk):
I assume you meant ntrk. I renamed it in Dos (windows was keeping it as HTML), but it gave me a memory error when I tried to play it, and kicked me out of FB. Any ideas? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

You probably have hidden extensions for known file types so your downloaded track file look like:

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b366/Kuna15/I-16_s_h00.gif

Open MY COMPUTER > TOOLS > FOLDER OPTIONS > VIEWS and take look at this picture :

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b366/Kuna15/folder_options.gif

That box must be empty. Click Apply and close. Now all extesions will be visible and you should be able to change them as you like.

Then you rename (right click on file and select "rename", or select file with left click and press F2) it and file should look like:

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b366/Kuna15/I-16_s_h01.gif

Kuna15
09-04-2005, 03:39 PM
Just occured to me mate, what version of the game are you running?

I recorded this .nrtk under PF 4.01m.(although I think you should be able to play it anyway with older versions of the game)

I would reccomend that you download it again and rename in the way I posted you above. That must work.

Triggaaar
09-04-2005, 06:49 PM
Thanks for taking the trouble to help.

I did have hidden extensions, but renaming it in dos changed the file.

But I tried downloading it again, and the file was larger? Had you changed it?

Anyway, I tried to play it, and the version isn't supported. I haven't yet patched the game at all, as I'm waiting for AEP, so I can merge everything. I've decided that the trick, is not to let the engine cut out.

The game's fairly easy on easy setting (seems obvious now http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Kuna15
09-04-2005, 07:40 PM
File is 809,309 (0,8mb) long. I didn't changed it.

If I understand it correctly you are running FB (if I'm not mistaken last version is FB 1.22 or something).

It is understandable why you can't run 4.01 track version.

TBH it is very likely that I-16 engine behaviour in FB is different than it is in 4.01.