PDA

View Full Version : ATI Water Pics, Post them Please. Im Disapointed!!!



Barrett77
10-28-2004, 11:10 PM
I thought that I would see if you guys could post some pictures of the water and also ground with the new video cards like I have a x800 xt and I have the water upped and I am really dissapointed in the waters looks. What gives, can you getter better water by going to open gl or not. Thanks for a great game oleg, but Im very dissapointed in the fact that the water looks as crappy on ATI cards. I mean I play far cry with the water on a 2.0 shader and it looks amazing. Help us out please!!!

Barrett77
10-28-2004, 11:10 PM
I thought that I would see if you guys could post some pictures of the water and also ground with the new video cards like I have a x800 xt and I have the water upped and I am really dissapointed in the waters looks. What gives, can you getter better water by going to open gl or not. Thanks for a great game oleg, but Im very dissapointed in the fact that the water looks as crappy on ATI cards. I mean I play far cry with the water on a 2.0 shader and it looks amazing. Help us out please!!!

crazyivan1970
10-28-2004, 11:19 PM
http://www.mechmodels.com/fbstuff/a20_islands.jpg

9800XT

Levethane
10-28-2004, 11:24 PM
hang on, how you getting that? I thought only the 6800 could render those waves.
I got the same card, gonna try it.
At the moment I'm stuck with this bland boring water...
http://coopz.customer.netspace.net.au/aces.JPG

WTE_Dukayn
10-28-2004, 11:34 PM
water = 3. it's in the readme.

Barrett77
10-28-2004, 11:44 PM
in the read me there are a couple of water parts where there is a water=... on it.

Which one is it that you are talking about and I dont believe that those pics are from a 9800 XT. That doesnt look anything like mine.

Did you install as a stand alone or on top of IL-2 and AEP?

crazyivan1970
10-28-2004, 11:54 PM
Why can`t you believe it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif It`s for last beta that i had, but i am sure i`ll get the same in the gold release

Maximus_G
10-29-2004, 12:03 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Barrett77:

Which one is it that you are talking about and I dont believe that those pics are from a 9800 XT. That doesnt look anything like mine. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
I personally don't see any PS3-waves. Those (in the first screenie) look much like water=2 (even if the author has "water=3" in conf.ini). The one misleading thing there is "atoll"-like color and texture of water. I guess you could just try the same kind of place.

crazyivan1970
10-29-2004, 12:22 AM
Yup, water is on 3... but no big waves. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

http://www.mechmodels.com/fbstuff/carrier.jpg

Levethane
10-29-2004, 12:46 AM
Water on 1, doesn't look any different to 2...
Doesn't seem to run any faster either...
http://www.users.on.net/~cavalier/aces.JPG

ArgonV
10-29-2004, 12:54 AM
crazyivan1970, I can garuntee you that with Perfect Water 3 you should be getting nice waves and better looking water than that. On an ATI card it is impossible to render such things...

Nubarus
10-29-2004, 03:39 AM
Like it really matters right now, nobody can play with water on 3 anyway because the Geforce 6800 isn't powerful enough.

By the time the pc's can handle the new water in PF there are several PS3.0 model cards on the market.

sukebeboy
10-29-2004, 04:08 AM
I have an ATI Sapphire X800 Pro with water=3 and mine looks just like crazyivan's. Works fine and I get good FramePerSecond.

Barred
10-29-2004, 04:18 AM
Not trying to highjack your thread guys.
Nubarus it is possible to play with water=3, I thurned off aniostropic filtering (as recomended) and am getting between 38-70fps with the exception being The Black Death then I am averaging 30fps.

Barrett there is a water option at the bottom of the ini, change that one to water=3. You should get some of the benifits with a x800 just not all of them.

RocketDog
10-29-2004, 04:56 AM
Here's a picture of water = 1 using an ATi X800Pro. I tink it looks pretty good. A few "white horses" of breaking waves would be nice, but otherwise it's not bad at all. Of course, it reduces the frame rate considerably over excellent mode.

In general, water = 1 seems the best option. Water = 0 looks too glossy and smooth, water = 2 looks poor on both ATi and Nvidia cards and water = 3 is only useable on Nvidia 6800 series cards. However, water = 3 seems to drag the framerate to unplayable levels on even the most powerful PCs, so if you have an ATi card, you are not exactly missing anything at the moment. I suspect it will be another year before PCs are able to smoothly run water = 3.

After seeing the new levels of water, I wish the devs had spent a bit of time increasing the view distance in excellent mode and making the excellent water surface a bit more textured. That would have been more useful on real-world PCs.

Regards,

RocketDog.


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v402/RocketDog/il22004-10-2520-50-08-34.jpg

Barrett77
10-29-2004, 07:41 AM
The problem was I couldnt enable perfect in the graphics for some reason. I went to config, put 3's and then bam. I had it.

SheepShaver
10-29-2004, 07:59 AM
Water=3 defaults back to water=1 on non PS3.0 capable cards!!! So if you own an X800 there isn't really any sense in setting water to 3.

crazyivan1970
10-29-2004, 08:38 AM
ShipShaver is correct, i just discovered it too. Went to check something in conf and saw water on 1, i set it back to 3, started track...and it went right back to 1.

Ruy Horta
10-29-2004, 09:39 AM
But what exactly is water=2?

If I try it, it is simpler than water=1

I almost went back to NVidea because of PS3, almost, got the x800XT PCIE instead.

Charlie901
10-29-2004, 11:03 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Ruy Horta:
But what exactly is water=2?

If I try it, it is simpler than water=1

I almost went back to NVidea because of PS3, almost, got the x800XT PCIE instead. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>



Water=2 is a test water, says Oleg. It is not supported by current processors. So yes it will look and play worse than Water=1 which is the old "Perfect" water.

Water=3 (for 6800 users) looks amazing as the reflections of the clouds really display like a mirror image on the surface of the water.
Also water=3 seems to elminate the "screen door" effect seen in the ship screenshot above.

CHDT
10-29-2004, 11:48 AM
Please bring back, as an option, the graphic settings of AEP: on my 9700pro, it was fast and beautiful on "perfect". In PF, with the same settings, it's slow and ugly!

RocketDog
10-29-2004, 11:55 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Charlie901:
Water=3 (for 6800 users) looks amazing as the reflections of the clouds really display like a mirror image on the surface of the water.
Also water=3 seems to elminate the "screen door" effect seen in the ship screenshot above. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Propbably worth mentioning that water = 3 is, appparently, almost unplayable on current PC technology http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif.

Regards,

RocketDog.

SheepShaver
10-29-2004, 12:26 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Charlie901:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Ruy Horta:
But what exactly is water=2?

If I try it, it is simpler than water=1

I almost went back to NVidea because of PS3, almost, got the x800XT PCIE instead. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>



Water=2 is a test water, says Oleg. It is not supported by current processors. So yes it will look and play worse than Water=1 which is the old "Perfect" water.

Water=3 (for 6800 users) looks amazing as the reflections of the clouds really display like a mirror image on the surface of the water.
Also water=3 seems to elminate the "screen door" effect seen in the ship screenshot above. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Um, water=2 is mentioned in the manual, so I don't think that it is a wip feature. Maybe you are mixing it up with effects=2...

Slammin_
10-29-2004, 03:04 PM
To me it looks like they are using the water from LockON. I personally always preferred FB's water, though the waves with water=3 are very cool.

topino
11-04-2004, 12:26 PM
Then wich chip is better for the game Ati or Nvidia

crazyivan1970
11-04-2004, 12:59 PM
ATI http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Destraex
11-04-2004, 01:43 PM
show us some waves on 3 please

Brock.Landers
11-04-2004, 01:51 PM
I'm just running with water set to 0. I need frames! Smooth glassy fps! And I'd rather not dip into the 20fps zone when things heat up, christ, I'm a bad enough pilot as it is without that handicap.

Anyone who's played Far Cry will see how the water here could have been. It's mesmerising and I still find myself watching the waves lap against the shore in the reflected moolight sometimes http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif Shame a but of Ubi code sharing couldn't happen there but perhaps we'd need an all new engine for such a thing.

KarmaT0Burn
11-04-2004, 02:31 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v376/estavokalossi/grab0002.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v376/estavokalossi/grab0001.jpg

1280x960 no AA or AF. Water=1

MrQBerrt
11-04-2004, 10:42 PM
Riddle me this...
This is my water with a 9600 with in-game video settings set to "Excelent" the water in conf.ini set to water=1 and running openGL. I'm glad you guys are getting better results out of this game. I was starting to wonder if the graphics hadn't been updated since the original IL-2. I'm not really complaining, it's still a blast to play. I wouldn't mind a bit of eye-candy to go along with it though. http://www.csc.calpoly.edu/~mbradley/pics/water=1.JPG

MrQBerrt
11-04-2004, 10:47 PM
By the way, if anyone knows what my problem is offhand, please reply or email me. I'm playing with in-game settings set to excellent and I get great framerates and poor graphics. Even if I have an older card, should I get good graphics but with poor framerates? Maybe if I set the graphic settings to poor, I'll be able to get them to flop http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

RIPelliottsmith
11-05-2004, 01:53 AM
MrQBwert, I am in the same ship as you.

I have a 9700Pro. I fiddled with settings to see if I could get perfect at a decent frame rate. Decided "no" and went back to excellent. I'm sure I undid everything I tried, but the water looks terrible now, like your screenshot. There are artifacts in the water that look like low-res reflections, I'm sure it is worse than FB/AE http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

F16_txmx
11-05-2004, 02:30 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Destraex:
show us some waves on 3 please <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Sure http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Taken in 1280x960x32 during thunder weather. Image then resized.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v118/jonass/6800GTwaves1.jpg

Taken in 1280x960x32 during thunder weather. Image then resized.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v118/jonass/6800GTwaves2.jpg

Taken in 1280x960x32 during thunder weather. Image then resized.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v118/jonass/6800GTwaves3.jpg

Maximus_G
11-05-2004, 03:07 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by MrQBerrt:
By the way, if anyone knows what my problem is offhand, please reply or email me. I'm playing with in-game settings set to excellent and I get great framerates and poor graphics. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Check "HardwareShaders=1" (one, not zero) at [Render_OpenGL] section of conf.ini file.

RIPelliottsmith
11-05-2004, 04:01 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Maximus_G:
Check "HardwareShaders=1" (one, not zero) at [Render_OpenGL] section of conf.ini file. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I think that just changes the settings from excellent to perfect...? At least it does for me.

Maximus_G
11-05-2004, 07:20 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by RIPelliottsmith:
I think that just changes the settings from excellent to perfect...? At least it does for me. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
I thought MrQBerrt's phrase "eye-candy" meant shader-water http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Spitf_ACE
11-05-2004, 07:30 AM
There's a possible fix for ATI cards here http://www.simhq.com/simhq3/sims/boards/bbs/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=114;t=001104

MrQBerrt
11-05-2004, 09:22 AM
To Maximus_G
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> Check "HardwareShaders=1" (one, not zero) at [Render_OpenGL] section of conf.ini file. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thank you so much. This works a lot better now. Things are shaded and textured now as they should be instead of appearing flat. The game looks terrific compared to how it looked before. (As a side note, It seems rather odd that settings such as these require opening conf.ini, it's not as if I wanted to set some unsupported setting like water=2. Is this another case of how the game isn't quite ready for release yet?)

Maximus_G
11-06-2004, 05:27 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by MrQBerrt:

(As a side note, It seems rather odd that settings such as these require opening conf.ini, it's not as if I wanted to set some unsupported setting like water=2. Is this another case of how the game isn't quite ready for release yet?) <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Well, that procedure should be equal to setting Landscape detail to "Perfect" in video options menu of the game http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif