PDA

View Full Version : How does your PC run Black Death in perfect mode?



Odranoel1
09-28-2004, 02:11 AM
Just got my new rig running, and was a bit disappointed by the following results - the numbers I saw on the net before building this PC were significantly higher...
Since my system seems to run fine otherwise (and gameplay is very nice) I thought maybe the benchmarking site are not using the "perfect" settings?
This is why I suggest that we start a comparison thread for us trying to squeeze the best quality out of FB - without any fanboy intent, just the facts. Here my contribution:

All game settings maxed out (perfect)
4 x AA and 4 x AF, high quality selected in nVidia driver.
Resolution: 1280 x 960
The Black Death Track
Average 32, min 16 FPS (note: display is very smooth, the min value is not significant as it occurs only when the track switches views, there are no hiccups during a given sequence)

System:
Win XP Pro SP1a
MSI K8 Neo2
A64 3500+ at stock speed
1 GB Crucial Ballistix CAS2 at "auto" and 1T
GF 6800 GT @ 400/1080 drivers: 61.77
Audigy 2 OEM
WD Raptor 36 GB (system and swap disk)
WD Raptor 72 GB (applications)

If you have managed comparatively better results, it would be nice if you could post your advice and or links to the sites.

S and good flying

PS: I realise a number of threads already covered the topic of performance tuning, but I am not aware of any thread where "maximum image quality" is the common denominator.

Odranoel1
09-28-2004, 02:11 AM
Just got my new rig running, and was a bit disappointed by the following results - the numbers I saw on the net before building this PC were significantly higher...
Since my system seems to run fine otherwise (and gameplay is very nice) I thought maybe the benchmarking site are not using the "perfect" settings?
This is why I suggest that we start a comparison thread for us trying to squeeze the best quality out of FB - without any fanboy intent, just the facts. Here my contribution:

All game settings maxed out (perfect)
4 x AA and 4 x AF, high quality selected in nVidia driver.
Resolution: 1280 x 960
The Black Death Track
Average 32, min 16 FPS (note: display is very smooth, the min value is not significant as it occurs only when the track switches views, there are no hiccups during a given sequence)

System:
Win XP Pro SP1a
MSI K8 Neo2
A64 3500+ at stock speed
1 GB Crucial Ballistix CAS2 at "auto" and 1T
GF 6800 GT @ 400/1080 drivers: 61.77
Audigy 2 OEM
WD Raptor 36 GB (system and swap disk)
WD Raptor 72 GB (applications)

If you have managed comparatively better results, it would be nice if you could post your advice and or links to the sites.

S and good flying

PS: I realise a number of threads already covered the topic of performance tuning, but I am not aware of any thread where "maximum image quality" is the common denominator.

WhiskeyBravo
09-28-2004, 04:13 AM
Hi Odranoal1,

Are you using VSync and if so what is your monitors refresh rate set to?

I have very similar specs to you (see details below, refresh rate =75Hz) If I have VSync=Off then my average is 45fps. I would try using another set of drivers as the 61.xx have been known to cause problems with FB Finland maps. I'm using the 66.31 set from http://downloads.guru3d.com/

Hope that helps.

WB.

Odranoel1
09-28-2004, 10:27 AM
Hi Whiskey Bravo

Thank you for your reply. I have Vsync off, so we should compare my 32 fps to your 45 fps. However, I got this result at a resolution of 1280 x960. Would you mind running the test at 1280 too? I will run 1024 at my end, however, considering the systems we have, I feel we have a "right" to run 1280! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
As to the drivers causing problems, well I did have a hang when loading a finnish mission, blamed it on early system instability and never tried again. I will do it and probably switch - A big thank you for the hint.

Are you happy with your throttle and pedals?
I was thinking of buying exactly that (have ms ff2 already).

BuzzU
09-28-2004, 11:13 AM
I think the minimum fps is important. I'd be willing to bet it happens when the planes collide. Turn your setting down, and you'll see the fps go up for the minimum. I think the minimum is the most important figure, as the unrealistic maximum fps brings the average up to a misleading figure.

While playing it's the minimum fps I get that determines what settings i'll use. I don't ever want to see less than 25 fps in any situation if I except smooth play 100% of the time.

crazyivan1970
09-28-2004, 11:22 AM
Try KI-84 vs P-38 track. That Islands8 map is brutal hehe.

Bsnakeman
09-28-2004, 11:24 AM
S!
I have a gear pretty much like yours but CPU/Mobo, mine is a P4 3.2 GHz/ASUS P4C800 DL. The 61.77 driver although good looking runs slower than the 61.21 I´m using and Steve V reported that the 61.77 didn´t worked well in IL2. I´m hitting 38 fps average in BD/perfect mode with 1152/864 4xAA/4xAF Vsync on.
Best,

9th_Spitin
09-28-2004, 11:49 AM
Hi,

I have a similar system as well and I run AAx 2Q and AFx4, res at 1024x768 and 6800GT @ stock speeds. Perfect mode, water @ 0 forest @ 2 and I get avg 54fps in black death. I will try with water on 3 to see the difference. I found that water on 0 you still get waves and alot of detail but FPS is much better.

Odranoel1
09-28-2004, 12:07 PM
Thanks to all who replied http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

About 61.77 driver bugs: I am unable to load the quick mission "Hurricane" in the Finnish mission set.

Can somebody confirm this DOES load with a version of the drivers other than 61.21 or 22? (those dont work in my rig)

One more question: I have not been able to find the key to conf.ini settings anywhere in the game doc. Any idea?
Thanks

WhiskeyBravo
09-28-2004, 01:29 PM
Its definately the 61.xx drivers - there was a discussion about this over at SIMHQ several weeks back.

I get an ave of 40 at 1280x960 resolution but I run at 1024x768 because I can spot bogeys at a greater range - important in online coops etc.

I'm very happy with my throttle/pedal setup. I use the FFB2 as my stick to get that extra sensation when at the edge of the flight envelope. Its a shame that you cant use the X45 throttle on its own, but the stick becomes a handy button bay. CH pro pedals are good - nice and responsive but a bit 'narrow' compared to my old gameport thrustmaster pedals.

The conf.ini file is in the root directory of your FB install. For extra gaming goodness add the following to the end of the file:

[DGen]
RandomFlights=5
AirIntensity=High
GroundIntensity=Medium
CampaignMissions=Hard
CampaignAI=Hard

Enjoy,

WB.

Odranoel1
09-28-2004, 01:43 PM
Thanks again Whiskey Bravo

As to the conf.ini, I think I should clarify my question: I know where the file is ( I even managed to corrupt lots of thing by fumbling with it), but can't find the documentation of the various parameters (what does water=0 mean, etc...). I hope this is not even more dumb than not finding conf.ini! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif
Will try your extenions. I think I saw this stuff scattered in readme files when searching for the above!
Definitely going to D/L the drivers
S!

steve_v
09-28-2004, 01:46 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Odranoel1:
but can't find the documentation of the various parameters (what does water=0 mean, etc...) <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>The Readmes contain the documentation/explanation of adjustable variants found in the conf.

Odranoel1
09-28-2004, 02:06 PM
Whiskey Bravo:
Just installed 66.31 and tested Black Death. Average went up to 42 (@ 1280) that's a full 10 fps more. And the finnish map loads OK. THANK YOU. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

BuzzU:
Now it never drops below 25 fps during the Black Death track, even explosions are 25+ http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

crazyivan

I did try the P38 vs Ki track you suggested. It is beautiful! I get 46 fps average vs 42 on the Black Death.

steve_v
I will take another look at the read me files. So far no joy... Maybe you can point me to the right one?

S! to all can't wait to try WITH overclocking the 6800 GT!

steve_v
09-28-2004, 02:22 PM
Heres a few:

------------------------------------------------------

README
IL-2: Forgotten Battles. V.1.0



7. Tuning the campaign for low- or high-end PC.

You can adjust some parameters in a dynamic campaign to increase performance or to modify a level of challenge by adding the following lines to the end of file conf.ini (capitalization is important!):

1. To adjust a number of planes and groups of planes, you can set:

AirIntensity=Low
AirIntensity=High

In addition to reduction of size of plane formations, on low air intensity there will be no random flight groups - those that are not directly connected to your mission

2. To adjust a number of ground objects, you can set:

GroundIntensity=Low
GroundIntensity=High

On low intensity you will see ground objects only in target area and around active airfields

By default there are also ground objects around your route, but the number of moving objects is limited.

On high ground intensity, all targets of opportunity in a corridor from your airfield to the destination are included.

3. To set your preferred distance to target, set

MissionDistance=nn

Where nn is the distance in kilometers that you prefer to fly to your target. It is not guaranteed that there will be suitable targets in this distance, so you may receive missions with different length of your route.

4. You may increase or decrease a level of friendly and enemy AI by setting

CampaignDifficulty=Easy
CampaignDifficulty=Hard

Easy settings will add one level to all friendly groups and decrease enemy experience. Hard settings do the opposite.

-----------------------------------------------------------

Readme
Version 1.1b

2. New parameters in conf.ini:
RandomFlights=n sets number of flight groups not related to mission. Maximum is 5, minimum 0, default 2. New random groups - friendly bombers and returning allied planes.
NoBadWeather eliminates storms, rain, snow, blind weather. All weather is possible by default
NoAirfieldHighlight - Not used airfields won't have AAAs anymore, which also removes their highlighting with a color on a map. They have AAA and are highlighted by default
CampaignAI=Easy (Hard), default is Normal - increases or decreases friendly and hostile AI level.
CampaignMissions=Easy (Hard), default is Normal - switches to different scripts for operations, affecting number of planes and groups. Even on Hard, the scripts are less challenging than in the previous version - for all nations and years. CampaignDifficulty now sets both AI and Missions.
CampaignLength=VeryLong (Long,Medium,Short,VeryShort), default is VeryLong. Sets number of missions in campaign. Long is about 2 times shorter than VeryLong. VeryShort is about 10 times shorter.

The lines can be placed anywhere in conf.ini, but recommended way to do it is to create in the end of the files a new [DGen] section and add everything after that. An example:

[DGen]
NoAirfieldHighlight
NoBadWeather
RandomFlights=5
MissionDistance=30
CampaignMissions=Hard
CampaignAI=Easy

9. For every career a file that defines plane classes for this career can be created. File name is ClassesNnX.dat, where NnX is career ID, like DeS for Geman Stuka. It is a text file that overrides default plane classes for this career, the format is:

PLANE ROLE,
for example:

FW_109A4 FIGHTER
FW_109A5 FIGHTER

the following roles are supported:

FIGHTER = escort, intercept, recon missions
LIGHT = same as fighter, "soft" ground targets like trains can be attacked.
TANK = soft targets + tanks, not antiship or anti bridge.
JABO = scramble, recon and all ground attack missions
ALL = all missions, fighter and ground attack
GROUND = only ground targets, suitable for bombers or ILs

-----------------------------------------------------

Readme
Version 1.21

Notes:
For the new trees to render it is required that: you video card has no less than 128 Mb of RAM, and BIOS AGP memory (Aperture Size) set to no less than 128 Mb. Recommeded video cards for the option are GeForce 4, GeForce 5600 and newer, ATI Radeon 9700 and newer.
To see the new trees in towns:
Make sure you€re running the game in €˜Perfect€ mode. In the €˜conf.ini€ file, in the section €˜[Render_OpenGL]€ change the following line:
Forest = 2
to
Forest = 3
To disable the trees and return back to normal appearance, change the parameter back to 2.
NB:
The option is released in test mode. We€re expecting video drivers update from the video card vendors to obtain full functionality of the mode. If you have less than 128 Mb of RAM on your video card, expect blinking triangle artifacts to appear on NVidia cards; on ATI cards you may see trees rapidly change their color shade and/or shape as you approach them.

----------------------------------------------

Il-2 Sturmovik. Forgotten Battles
ACE EXPANSION PACK
README

We've added the following new user options to the conf.ini file that control the water quality

Water = 0, Fastest water, without ground reflection
Water = 1, Normal water: ground and clouds reflections, cloud shadows
Water = 2, Perfect water: same as Water = 1, plus wavy ground reflections and weather-dependant wave types


----------------------------------------------------

Readme
Version 2.04

Notes on Flickering Airfields

If you experience flickering airfields when viewed from high altitude, try the following to fix the issue.
Open the conf.ini file and add the two following lines into the OpenGL section there (or modify the existing ones):

[Render_OpenGL]
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

WhiskeyBravo
09-28-2004, 02:25 PM
Take a look in the DGen folder.

The following info was taking from a post made by someone several weeks ago. I can't remember where I got it from or who the author is. Full credit to the author whoever he is:-

"At the bottom of my post you'll see the last one third or so of my conf.ini as an example. By default, most of the lines are not there and not being ther signifies that all those same DGEN difficulty setting are set on normal or sort of "average". If you want to lower intensities or increase intensities, you have to put in the lines. Needless to say, if you put in any of the lines, setting any of them on normal is a waste, since you can just erase the line to accomplish te same effect. But as you can see, all my difficulty lines are listed at the bottom of Dgen under the DGEN heading. I am not going to further explain the meanings of the various difficulty settings, but someone else is welcome to post in here and explain them further to you. I just don't have the time right now.

Shadows=1
Specular=1
SpecularLight=1
DiffuseLight=1
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=2

Sky=2
Forest=1
LandShading=2
LandDetails=1

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=0
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=0

VideoSetupId=15
Water=1

[DGen]
NoBadWeather=1
MissionDistance=50
NoAirfieldHighlight=1
RandomFlights=0
MaxFLAK=5
AirIntensity=Low
GroundIntensity=Low
Maxbomberskill=1
CampaignMissions=Hard
CampaignAI=Hard

Here is a further explaination:


NoBadWeather=1 - Can be set to zero or one, one meaning you never get bad weather, default ( or if the line is not here in conf.ini ) is set to zero to give you occasional bad weather.

MissionDistance=50 - Can be set to from 10 to 200 Kilometers. You can set this and most of the time your missions will be close to the distance preferred, but there is no guarantee, depends on the map and targets available.

NoAirfieldHighlight=1 - Set to one to zero. Zero
meaning you'll have AAA/flak unit at some unused airbases. Set to one means airbases not in use ( inactive, no enemy or friendly flights took off from there ) will not have AAA/flak and not show up on the map as red or blue ( highlighted ) when flying the mission. Default is zero, not having the line in conf.ini is default.

RandomFlights=0 - Can be set to 0 to 5, for minimum, low, average, above average, high and maximum. Random flights are flights not related to your mission, both friendly and enemy are just incidental, you may or may not see these flights, they might not get close enough. Default or not having the line in conf.ini is average (3). Can affect frame rates.

MaxFLAK=5 - Can be set to 0 to 100, default or not having the line in conf.ini is 10. Can affect frame rates. Affects the amount of flak generated from your airfield to target, so can affect frame rates very much.

AirIntensity=Low - Settings are low, medium and high. Default or not having the line in conf.ini is medium. Sets the number of flights, enemy and friendly, that are related to your mission.
On low setting, there will be no random flights and it will overide the "RandomFlights=" setting in that case, ( see above ). Can dramatically affect frame rates.

GroundIntensity=Low - Settings are low, medium or high. On low, you'll only have ground objects
around target or active airfields. Default is medium (or not having the line in conf.ini ) and there will also be extra objects around your flight route, besides target area and active airfields. High gives you extra targets of opportunity to and from your home field. Can dramatically affect frame rates.

Maxbomberskill=1 - Settings are 0, 1, 2 and 3, ( for rookie, average, veteran and ace ) and default or not having this line in conf.ini, the AI bomber gunners will be kind of random or depend on other settings like CampaignAI=. This limits the entire bomber skill ( not just the gunners ) to a lower level if preferred, so you can attack bombers more easily if you limit it to a low setting. It affects only enemy AI for bombers, not friendly. Unfortunately, this does nothing for transport aircraft, such as LI-2, C-47 or JU-52, so be careful around those and don't assume they will be limited like the bombers if you set this to a low setting!!! Sometimes FW-200 Condor can also sometimes be assigned as a transport plane in some maps, so watch it!!!!

CampaignMissions=Hard - Settings are easy, normal or hard. Default or not having the line in conf.ini is normal. This changes the scripts ( ops files, I.E. - ops41-E.dat, where "E", means easy ) files in the Dgen folder used to generate missions. Affects the number of enemy planes encoutered as opposed to the number of friendly planes in your group/s. For example, set on easy, you might have a mission generated which gives you four fighters on your side with four bombers, and two enemy fighters will later show up to intercept your bombers. The very same mission on hard might give you only two fighters on your side, maybe the same number of bombers to escort, but you'll run into four enemy fighters to deal with!! This balances out so it does not affect frame rate much, if at all.

CampaignAI=Hard - Settings are easy, normal or hard. Default or not having the line in conf.ini is normal. Increases enemy and friendly AI by a factor of one. Low increases friendly AI level higher while lowering enemy AI level. High does the opposite. Normal gives you a more even match of AI strength."

Hope that helps,

WB.

WhiskeyBravo
09-28-2004, 02:31 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/1072.gif

Hehe, SteveV beat me to it by 3 mins.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

WB.

mortoma
09-28-2004, 03:02 PM
Just about any PC will run BD track in perfect mode. But not just any PC will run it well.
I can run it in 1024x768 but the results are not something I want to discuss at the moment. I run an XP-2100 with 1GB of CAS 2 PC-2700 ( at 2100 speed ) and an old TI-4600. Barely doin' the job!!!

BuzzU
09-28-2004, 03:10 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by WhiskeyBravo:
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/1072.gif

Hehe, SteveV beat me to it by 3 mins.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

WB. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


I'm sorry, but what's your motive for your sig?

WhiskeyBravo
09-28-2004, 03:32 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BuzzU:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by WhiskeyBravo:
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/1072.gif

Hehe, SteveV beat me to it by 3 mins.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

WB. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


I'm sorry, but what's your motive for your sig? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'm sorry but I dont follow your question?

If you mean why do I put my specs in my sig? Then its because I always wonder what specs people are using when they post a problem. That way if they have similar specs to mine and are getting a better performance I know there is something I need to research to get the best possible out of my system. Or as the above poster was having problems I felt better able to help because we had similar specs.
Is that a problem?

WB.

BuzzU
09-28-2004, 04:13 PM
ok, just curious.

ustahl
09-28-2004, 04:39 PM
Everybody here seems to be posting Black Death benchmarks with nVidia cards, so I wonder if I dare submit my values with maxed game settings @ Perfect with an Ati card. Anyway, here goes:

Resolution 1600 x 1200, 4xAA, 4xAF
FPS: average 38, max. 48, min. 21 fps (always smooth, no hickups)
Water=2, Forest=3

Athlon 3000+ @ 2352 MHz
A7N8X Deluxe
2x512 MB Kingston HyperX PC3200
X800 Pro Vivo flashed to X800 XT PE @ 537/573 core/memory (Vsync off, Performance)
Cat 4.9
120GB + 60GB + 30GB HDD
WinXP Home SP2

Have tried lower resolutions as well for the sake of fps, but the gain is not worth it. With the fps I now keep getting at Perfect at 1600 x 1200, any lower res. doesn€t even come close to the present eye candy, detail level and overall visual clarity with smooth movement even in the fiercest battles. The only occasion there is a noticeable drop in fps is when I accelerate the game with lots of action on the Normandy map. All DGen settings in conf.ini at max values.

Cheers Uffe

PS. If this thread was meant to be nVidia only, pls accept my humble appologies for intrudinghttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

carguy_
09-28-2004, 04:43 PM
I hate those threads.&gt;:

Odranoel1
09-29-2004, 09:34 AM
Whiskey Bravo and steve_v

Thank you guys! I was scanning the readme's for a single place where all the parameters would be explained that's why I didnt notice the scattered info.

This is all I need, there's definitely more eye candy available than my current settings and I look forward to testing it tonight!

ustahl

Thank you for posting and welcome (if I may!). No this was not meant to be an nvidia-only post!!! I hope nobody here wants to start a silly ati vs nvidia fanboy discussion.

The idea is to help people (like me) building high end systems. Posting our systems performance on an equal basis helps us and others decide whether their system needs a tune-up. So far I gained a full 10 fps from the exercise, not to mention the eye candy above.

Do me (us) a favor: please test Black Death on 1280 x 960 and set your driver to high quality (or whatever the highest setting is on the X800). Thank you!
I wish I could test 1600 x 1200 but my LCD screen is the limit...

And to people who dont like the thread... and take the time to tell us. Thank you and see you on another thread someday, maybe in a better mood? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

ustahl
09-30-2004, 10:35 AM
I ran Black Death at 1280 x 960 1st with same quality settings (=Performance)as in my previous post and got following values: 47 - 60 - 25 (av.-max.-min.). Then I cranked quality settings up to High Quality (textures, mipmap) and got 46 - 59 - 24.

As the benchmark values between the settings were minimal (=not visible), I tried the same High Quality level at 1600 x 1200 and got 37 - 50 - 21. Also here the value difference to my earlier posted Performance settings at this resolution is so minute that I think I'm going to stick with these High Quality settings at 1600 x 1200. All tests performed with AAx4, AFX4.
It seems I get more value out from my card (X800 flashed to X800 XT PE) the higher I crank up the settings.

Odranoel
Hope this is the info you wanted.

Uffe

PBNA-Boosher
09-30-2004, 10:48 AM
lol. With an Nvidia GeForce 2, the best FPS I can get is 11! That's right! I play FB with sometimes less than 10 fps! AND I still manage to do pretty well. I guess you could call me:

Boosher- The Compensator!

Sturmvogel66
09-30-2004, 11:05 AM
This thread is rather reassuring to me, because in a few days I plan to order the parts for my new rig.

Athlon 64 3400+
Asus K8V-X mobo (via chipset)
1GB Corsair XMS PC-3200
Leadtek A400 (GeForce 6800 Ultra 256MB)
WD 76 GB 10,000 rpm HDD.

I really only care about the high resolutions, and might only set the AF and AA to minimums, so thanks for all the info guys, its makin the wait to build this system almost unbearable.

Yum_Yum
09-30-2004, 03:32 PM
Hello Odranoel1 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif,
I just stopped by to say Hi and see you on a server soon http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif