PDA

View Full Version : Need Big Time HELP!!

drsmith
05-30-2011, 12:44 PM
I have been flying IL-2 for about 5 years and NEVER had this problem: I had IL-2 1946 with all the current patches installed when the disc first became available. I also have STAB installed to have accurate aircraft markings.

I have always started the sim after inserting the IL-2 1946 disc and clicking on STAB. Never a problem....now, suddenly, I cannot get the sim to play at all. I cannot get into the game to check the "difficulty" settings, if that would matter. Could there possably be something in the Stab Settings that prevent the game starting?

I have disabled STAB and still the game will not start using only the disc. Again, that is unusual. When disc is inserted , I get the Auto Play window and I click on "Run setup.exe". This should start it but I get a very small disc appearing for a second or two. Usually the game will load and start after this. But nothing happens.

In STAB when I click "Launch 1946", still nothing happens. I am at a total loss as to how to fix this because all other games start up as they should when I insert the disc.

PLEASE, any suggestions will be really appreciated!

Woke_Up_Dead
05-30-2011, 01:14 PM
Two really simple things first, sorry if I'm insulting your intelligence here: have you tried starting the game without the disk? I don't think I ever played it with the disk in the drive, I always just hit the shortcut to the .exe file. Also, have you checked to see if the disk didn't become scratched?

M2morris
05-30-2011, 01:41 PM
Originally posted by Woke_Up_Dead:
Two really simple things first, sorry if I'm insulting your intelligence here: have you tried starting the game without the disk? I don't think I ever played it with the disk in the drive, I always just hit the shortcut to the .exe file. Also, have you checked to see if the disk didn't become scratched?
Yeah thats the first thing I thought of too, then:
Do you have kids?