PDA

View Full Version : spitfire flaps

rhinomonkey
06-15-2007, 07:15 AM
Hello, I'm completely new to this game and this is the first of many questions i have.

When taking off in a spitfire why is it that i cant sset the flaps to a take off position but the AI spitfires can?

thanks in advance

rhinomonkey
06-15-2007, 07:15 AM
Hello, I'm completely new to this game and this is the first of many questions i have.

When taking off in a spitfire why is it that i cant sset the flaps to a take off position but the AI spitfires can?

thanks in advance

Ratsack
06-15-2007, 07:18 AM
The AI is not subject to the same restrictions as players. They are not, for instance, subject to the law of gravity. This is manifest in the way they can pull more Gs than it takes to black you out, and still turn tighter.

If you examine tracks of combats with AI Spits, you will also notice the tricky blighters using combat flaps.

As others have said many a time on this forum, the AI cheats.

You too can cheat, by mapping the flap function to a slider or rotary. This will allow you to drop fractional flaps in any aircraft. While this would be historically correct for some planes (e.g., Bf 109), it would not be correct for the Spit, which had only two flap positions: up and down.

cheers,
Ratsack

rhinomonkey
06-15-2007, 07:22 AM
Thanks for that!

Irish_Rogues
06-15-2007, 07:24 AM
Answered before I finished, moving to the sidelines. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

major_setback
06-15-2007, 11:40 AM
It's a bit worrying that in the SoW:BoB interview film taken by mystic_puma the Hurricanes are shown taking off with flaps down. I hope they were using a peovisional FB flight model in order to demonstrate the new scenery, and that this will be remedied.

Xiolablu3
06-15-2007, 09:19 PM
I wonder why Hurris and Spitires didnt have a variable flap setting?

Guess its to make thing 'easier'.

Also the docile handling of each plane may have made them uneceary.