PDA

View Full Version : Myst Revelation Demo does not install



ominus1111
01-31-2005, 09:47 AM
i downloaded the demo from the official myst4 site,i extracted the zip with no erros but when i run the demo32.exe file to open the installation,nothing happens
i run xp sp1 :I

ominus1111
01-31-2005, 09:47 AM
i downloaded the demo from the official myst4 site,i extracted the zip with no erros but when i run the demo32.exe file to open the installation,nothing happens
i run xp sp1 :I

Heimdall_G
01-31-2005, 10:12 AM
Did you download the demo using a download accelerator? If so, try downloading it again without using the accelerator.

Also, to install the demo:
-- a. Click on Start > Run.
-- b. Browse to where you saved the demo executable, and double-click on it to put it in the Open: box.
-- c. Click on OK to run it.

ominus1111
01-31-2005, 12:53 PM
the demo is in a zip file which i downloaded from the official myst4 site
yeah i used a download accelerator but if the download was bad then the zip file would have been corrupted....
you extract the content of the zip file and u run the demo32.exe which open the installation menu
but the menu doesnt open..
the demo32.exe seems to be a flash file but i dont know that how it can help me
any ideas?

Heimdall_G
01-31-2005, 02:34 PM
How does demo32.exe not run, exactly? For example, when you do the Start > Run thing, what happens? If nothing happens, how? Any error messages? Etc., etc.

ominus1111
02-01-2005, 02:10 AM
the demo32.exe opens for one second a small window which says somethign about demoshield production etc thats all

mnaeh
02-01-2005, 10:29 AM
I have the same problem... Whan I start demo32.exe something flash on the screen and than nothing...
no process is started in task menager ...

mccorn
02-01-2005, 10:47 AM
Here is the solotion to your problem folks.

I had the same problem as you did, I dont know if its about windows or what but here is the fix:

Extract the zip file and burn the zip files contents to a CD. Then enter the CD and autorun will open up the installation menu.

Have fun playing guys =)

mnaeh
02-01-2005, 02:54 PM
no... it does't work!

mnaeh
02-01-2005, 03:13 PM
is there maybe some problem with my system:
AMD Athlon XP 1700+
epox motherboard 8rda
1Gb RAM
nVidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra 128 mb
and stuff.. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
XP service pack 1
...

mnaeh
02-07-2005, 04:07 PM
is there so other solution

Redeemer_8
03-27-2005, 05:16 AM
I had a few problems with the demo too, in the end it worked but my first problem was the fact that most files in the archive were hidden, and because i wasnt the Administrator i couldnt see them, so i unhid them and just clicked on the setup file and started up.

Have you tried the setup file instead of the autorun?