PDA

View Full Version : IL2 on 52" Sharp or Samsung HDTV ?



jayhall0315
03-07-2009, 12:00 AM
Question for IL2 fans using a large HDTV as their computer monitor; Can you run IL2 on a nice high end Sharp or Samsung 52 inch HDTV at 1920x1080 pixels at 60 cycles per second (Hertz)? I have the choice between purchasing a 30 inch dell monitor (at 2560x1620) or buying a new HDTV and using it from about 5 feet away. Can you set the resolution to true 1920x1080 in ATI's Catalyst Control Center for a large screen HDTV ?

Many HDTVs support 1280x1024 even though they have 1920x1080 pixels. Obviously I want to run at this higher definition at 60 Hz.

Anyone with any experience ?

Thanks Jay

Ritter_Cuda
03-07-2009, 12:12 AM
yes you can I hooked my laptop up on the new 46" HDTV for laughs and it ran well but you will get better picture on the 30"

Stiletto-
03-07-2009, 05:22 PM
I hooked up IL-2 to my Fathers 62 inch Samsung DLP at his place awhile back. Yeah it's doable. It looked alright with a less than stellar connection type.

I think the connection was through S-Video or maybe it was component.. I don't really remember as the joystick would not reach far enough over to where I could see the screen clearly! But yes, it was technically running at whatever IL-2 was set up at so it will find the signal if the tv is compatable. Just run your Catalyst Control Center at 1080p and it should comply.

I plan to buy a Mitsubishi 52" LCD in the next few weeks, my Radeon 3870X2 has an HDMI out on it so it will hook right in at true 1080p. Picture quality should be pretty great, especially sitting 12 inches away in a simpit I plan to get. I will probably run ample FSAA to smooth out the pixels, they can get pretty big with a big tv!

triad773
03-07-2009, 09:47 PM
I did mine through a 37" lcd HDTV and it worked great after I figured how to set the conf.ini file to the tv's native resolution. The TV had an RGB jack so it was a piece of cake.

Most times it added to the immersion, other times it simply showed the not so well rendered objects in the sim that much more large http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

But all in all I'd say it's a worthy experiment http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

If it works for you great. My setup with that size monitor posed other issues like when another family member wanted to watch something besides me trying to be an ace in a day http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Good luck with what ever way you end up going.

Triad

AllorNothing117
03-10-2009, 04:16 PM
O.k. we get it. Your loaded.

Choctaw111
03-10-2009, 08:50 PM
I have tried this already with a 46" widescreen a few years ago. It looked pretty good, but I still feel it does not compare to the 1920x1200 resolution I run on my 24".

hframpto
03-10-2009, 10:02 PM
I use a LG 42" 1080p, LCD TV, computer connected using HDMI and fly with a resolution of 1600 x 1200. For a old man I find it awesome! I gave my 24" Sumsung to the wife and use the TV as my monitor now. My graphics card is a 8800 GTX. I tried using a lower resolution, but too many jag edges, nice a smooth at the 1600 x1200. Will never go back to a smaller screen now. lol

jayhall0315
03-10-2009, 11:32 PM
Guys thanks for the replies. While I dont plan on doing the home cockpit stuff, I am interested how far you would have to place a 46 or 52 inch HDTV from your eyes to simulate the actual cockpit effect.

Any of you veterans or home pit builders know how far a Corsair pilot sits from the actual cockpit glass in a real Corsair ? Of course you wont get the accurate peripheral view with only one HDTV, but seems to me, a 52 or 46 inch HDTV placed about 34 inches away from the eyes should be fairly close.

Jay

As for your comments AllorNothing, please go check www.pricegrabber.com (http://www.pricegrabber.com) and look at the HDTVs. It used to be that you DID have to be loaded to get a nice large screen but these days you can get 1080p for sometimes less than $600.

hframpto
03-11-2009, 12:02 AM
I sit 46" away from screen. In cockpit view,it looks like you are really sitting in the cockpit. If you go this route, make sure you get 1080p, with a resolution capable of 1920 X 1080, and have a DVI or HDMI connection on your TV and computer. I tried a 32" and could not get a high enough res using the standard RGB-PC connectiion. The 32" was terrible. ~S~

TgD Thunderbolt56
03-11-2009, 08:50 PM
Originally posted by hframpto:
I sit 46" away from screen. In cockpit view,it looks like you are really sitting in the cockpit. If you go this route, make sure you get 1080p, with a resolution capable of 1920 X 1080, and have a DVI or HDMI connection on your TV and computer. I tried a 32" and could not get a high enough res using the standard RGB-PC connectiion. The 32" was terrible. ~S~


Yep, and try to get one of the newer 120hz models. I tried it on my 42" 1080p Samsung. It was o.k. but it didn't look as good as it does on my 27" Dell.

Stiletto-
03-11-2009, 11:16 PM
The closer you can bare to sit the better. The larger the screen appears in front of you the wider the FOV you can use, giving you more cockpit to look at. The drawback is that pixels will look bigger too.

There is a formula where you take the size of your screen and how many inches away you sit from it to get an absolutely correct FOV to what the sim would look like in real life from where you are sitting. I forget it at the moment. Doh.

Citizen86
03-11-2009, 11:21 PM
@Stiletto: Maybe if you have a 1080p screen, but if it's lower resolution, then setting the FOV too high will just kill any details in the cockpit and you won't be able to read anything, no matter how close or how far you sit.