PDA

View Full Version : Any Way of 'Optimising' Your Broadband Net connection....?



ytareh
07-10-2007, 01:37 PM
Lately Ive been having trouble with getting kicked from Hyperlobby servers for 'red bars'/'packet loss(?)' .is there anyway to optimise net connection or is it just that as more and more new houses are built in my area that the 'contention' (cable sharing)is going to pot....?Any of those Net Speed Tweak utilities any good?

-HH-Quazi
07-10-2007, 01:40 PM
http://www.download3k.com/Install-TCP-Optimizer.html

Works m8.

AFSG_Bulldog
07-10-2007, 08:33 PM
Well I have Charter Communications and they "promise" at least 80% of the speed they advertise. So I check my speed at various times of the day. I use Speedtest.net (http://www.speedtest.net/) to see what my bandwidth is.

If I get below 80% I start calling my cable provider and complain until they either unload the nodes I am on or I have them move me to a better node.

Sometime it takes quite a few calls before they fix the problem. Then I ask for a credit on the time I had poor service. They have always paid up too.

I have had to call the corporate office a few times to get them to fix the problem. You see they are counting on people being basically network stupid and convince the customers that the problem is on their machine. By having the bandwidth test data handy you can proove that they are the ones in error.

Sometimes it can be a cable issue but that is easy for them to check out and fix.

The people on the phone are pretty dumb and are only following a script of possible connection issues and resolutions. If you understand something about networks and how they work you can get your provider to fix the problem everytime.

They do keep records of your calls so if you call back often enough it actually gets easier the next time you have to call and complain. just tel them to check their records and they can see how many times you called and why.

I have to call just about every other month. Complaining long and loud will get you better service.

The TCP optomizer will help somewhat. But if you are on an overloaded node the optomizer will not help too much.

M_Gunz
07-10-2007, 10:07 PM
Broadband Reports - Click On TOOLS (http://www.dslreports.com/)

There's also FAQ and forum, lots of good help. Big thing is to open default Windoze RWIN up.
The DR TCP program in TOOLS will let you set that and other values down to registry level.

DFA, find the info and act on it. The Verizon setup does seem to tweak the main values BTW.

Camaero
07-10-2007, 11:34 PM
Originally posted by AFSG_Bulldog:
Well I have Charter Communications and they "promise" at least 80% of the speed they advertise. So I check my speed at various times of the day. I use Speedtest.net (http://www.speedtest.net/) to see what my bandwidth is.

If I get below 80% I start calling my cable provider and complain until they either unload the nodes I am on or I have them move me to a better node.

Sometime it takes quite a few calls before they fix the problem. Then I ask for a credit on the time I had poor service. They have always paid up too.

I have had to call the corporate office a few times to get them to fix the problem. You see they are counting on people being basically network stupid and convince the customers that the problem is on their machine. By having the bandwidth test data handy you can proove that they are the ones in error.

Sometimes it can be a cable issue but that is easy for them to check out and fix.

The people on the phone are pretty dumb and are only following a script of possible connection issues and resolutions. If you understand something about networks and how they work you can get your provider to fix the problem everytime.

They do keep records of your calls so if you call back often enough it actually gets easier the next time you have to call and complain. just tel them to check their records and they can see how many times you called and why.

I have to call just about every other month. Complaining long and loud will get you better service.

The TCP optomizer will help somewhat. But if you are on an overloaded node the optomizer will not help too much.

I have Charter as well. All I can say is what horrible service they provide! Granted, you are right that they at least refund for bad service and fix things eventually but you have to really be on them.

M_Gunz
07-10-2007, 11:58 PM
I have a neighbor in the same building that I live who just got on DSL.
His connect tests out at 500-some, mine at 700-some for the same service.
The difference is in the phone lines inside the building and that's it.
Phone company does not rewire private premises without pay so be happy
with your cable for a while longer even if the Kbps per $ is slipping.

tigertalon
07-11-2007, 04:21 AM
I use a little program called netlimiter to limit/grant the bandwidth for every single program that connects to internet (so some stupid never heard of update doesn't take an entire bandwidth and lag you out of server just when you are lining up a perfect shot).

Monterey13
07-11-2007, 05:42 PM
I have Charter also. Used to work for them as an installer.

My conn is supposed to be 10mb down/1mb up. Mine works great, and never goes down.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/152166844.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Bearcat99
07-12-2007, 06:52 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/153550563.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

M_Gunz
07-12-2007, 07:00 AM
I run 715-718K but then it runs me under $20/mo.

crucislancer
07-12-2007, 07:57 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/153573856.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

We just got Comcast cable 2 weeks ago, and this has been the average speed so far, after I ran TCP Optimizer. The funny thing is, I've never seen anything from Comcast about what their speed is.

Edit: I guess it's supposed to be up to 8mbps down/ 768kbps up. Huh.

BaldieJr
07-12-2007, 10:59 AM
Originally posted by Monterey13:
I have Charter also. Used to work for them as an installer.

My conn is supposed to be 10mb down/1mb up. Mine works great, and never goes down.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/152166844.png (http://www.speedtest.net)



Could a mod give me this guys IP address? I work for Charter. We don't offer 10M/1M. Someone inside hooked him up and that hurts our legit customers.

Don't brag about stealing service. You never know who's lurking around forums.

Manos1
07-12-2007, 02:10 PM
I hate you guys... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif

http://www.speedtest.net/result/153770171.png

VMF-214_HaVoK
07-12-2007, 02:26 PM
Originally posted by crucislancer:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/153573856.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

We just got Comcast cable 2 weeks ago, and this has been the average speed so far, after I ran TCP Optimizer. The funny thing is, I've never seen anything from Comcast about what their speed is.

Edit: I guess it's supposed to be up to 8mbps down/ 768kbps up. Huh.

It will go down soon would be my guess. I experienced the same thing when I first went to Comcast. Had insane speed, well at least from what I was use too with DSL. I was downloading stuff at over 1000kbps! But then it finally went down to advertised speed. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

crucislancer
07-12-2007, 02:39 PM
Originally posted by VMF-214_HaVoK:
It will go down soon would be my guess. I experienced the same thing when I first went to Comcast. Had insane speed, well at least from what I was use too with DSL. I was downloading stuff at over 1000kbps! But then it finally went down to advertised speed. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

That wouldn't surprise me. Still, it's pretty fast even at advertised speeds, so I'm cool with that......as long as it doesn't interfere with playing games online, though I don't think it would.

Of course, I just came from dial-up, so it's like flying a Spad one day and the Space Shuttle the next.

PF_Coastie
07-12-2007, 02:41 PM
Cox cable has been really good for me. I pay for thier minimum service @ $35 month. It is always rock solid. Advertised speed is 5mb/2mb.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/153789145.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

LW_lcarp
07-12-2007, 02:57 PM
Originally posted by BaldieJr:
Could a mod give me this guys IP address? I work for Charter. We don't offer 10M/1M. Someone inside hooked him up and that hurts our legit customers.

Don't brag about stealing service. You never know who's lurking around forums.

Thats interesting since I called Charter a couple weeks ago and they offered me 10 meg cable.

Xiolablu3
07-12-2007, 03:36 PM
Those sorts of speed tests mean little when gaming. What you need is a stable, uninterupted connection, not a blazingly fast one.

A very stable 256kbps connection which is uninterupted by other stuff, would be much better than a unstable 8mb one.

For the original poster, Its most likely to be spyware or some virus calling home and interruopting your connection for a second.

Also do you have any progeams set to 'auto update'?

Maybe get a firewall like zonealarm free, install it and see how many things are trying to use your internet connection in the background.

Also you can stop them all using Zonealarm so that your connection is solely used for IL2 when you are playing.

Download Spybot and Adaware SE personal, update them and run them. See if your computer has a lot of spyware/malware on it.

If they find a lot then get rid of them and think about a reformat or a more serious cleanup.

Monterey13
07-12-2007, 03:47 PM
Methinks Baldie needs to chill out and check his facts...

http://www.charter.net/specials/comparison/ Click on GAMES.

Read it and weep, know-it-all. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/351.gif
By the way, I also have 2 ip's from Charter...legally!!

BaldieJr
07-12-2007, 04:53 PM
I stand corrected. Hell we just rolled 5m out a few months ago. It sure took long enough, so I wasn't expecting to see 10mb cable for another year.

FYI: I do fiber for Charter Business Internet so I'll admit to being a bit out of touch with respect to residential services.

VMF-214_HaVoK
07-12-2007, 06:29 PM
Originally posted by PF_Coastie:
Cox cable has been really good for me. I pay for thier minimum service @ $35 month. It is always rock solid. Advertised speed is 5mb/2mb.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/153789145.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

I got friends who have Cox and they do rox! Premium speed and budget prices. Cant beat that.

Monterey13
07-12-2007, 06:33 PM
To Baldiejr...apology accepted. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

TgD Thunderbolt56
07-13-2007, 11:08 AM
From my wireless laptop running through a ClearWire connection and a concrete building:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/154211869.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

I'm interested to see what my gaming rig will do from home. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

TgD Thunderbolt56
07-13-2007, 07:10 PM
Thought my home connection was pretty fast...when in reality it suxorz.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/154431387.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

At least it's been historically very stable.


TB