PDA

View Full Version : Is this worth it?

showboat1971
05-26-2007, 01:36 PM
I'm debating buying the IL-2 1946 package with all of the games included. I used to play PF quite a bit but got away from it for about a year now. Is this new 1946 version worth the cost or is it just a rehash patchup job designed to make a little money? If I buy this I will also probably be buying alot a accessories like new joysticks and the like and I just don't want to be disappointed. I'm a teacher and I have the next two months off to go wild on a game and I want to make sure I get the right one.

triad773
05-26-2007, 01:47 PM
In my opinion (for what ever it's worth,)

YES

Reason: not having to have ALL the previous CDs, patches, installing in right order, etc.

I crave simplicity when it comes to certain things: one of them being reinstalling the game on what ever new rig I will upgrade to. As it stands now, that's one DVD (1946) and one patch to 4.08 and I am rocking! Just need to remember my backup CD of downloaded skins/missions!

Good luck and cheers

Triad

joeap
05-26-2007, 02:33 PM
I second triad's post. Makes a lot of sense to have it "all" in one package!!

crucislancer
05-26-2007, 04:01 PM
Originally posted by showboat1971:
I'm debating buying the IL-2 1946 package with all of the games included. I used to play PF quite a bit but got away from it for about a year now. Is this new 1946 version worth the cost or is it just a rehash patchup job designed to make a little money? If I buy this I will also probably be buying alot a accessories like new joysticks and the like and I just don't want to be disappointed. I'm a teacher and I have the next two months off to go wild on a game and I want to make sure I get the right one.

Totally worth it.

Everything on one DVD
Over 200 planes to fly
Boatload of maps
Some bizzaro planes in the mix, like Luftwaffe types that where only on the drawing board.
Some new campaigns.

Great value for $30.

Skycat_2
05-26-2007, 04:10 PM