PDA

View Full Version : Why no auto update feature for IL2 FB???



XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 06:52 PM
Ubi, Oleg, Wags and whomever might have the authority...

Why not have an auto updater to keep us all on the proper patch? That way when you tweak something you could release it immediately without waiting for uber patches.

Ubi and Hyperlobby could check your version number and ask you to patch accordingly.

...could be done and is being done by the better supported programs.

You sure would save a lot the heartache we've been going through around here for the last year or so...

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 06:52 PM
Ubi, Oleg, Wags and whomever might have the authority...

Why not have an auto updater to keep us all on the proper patch? That way when you tweak something you could release it immediately without waiting for uber patches.

Ubi and Hyperlobby could check your version number and ask you to patch accordingly.

...could be done and is being done by the better supported programs.

You sure would save a lot the heartache we've been going through around here for the last year or so...

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 07:06 PM
Unltd wrote:
- Ubi, Oleg, Wags and whomever might have the
- authority...
-
- Why not have an auto updater to keep us all on the
- proper patch? That way when you tweak something you
- could release it immediately without waiting for
- uber patches.
-
- Ubi and Hyperlobby could check your version number
- and ask you to patch accordingly.
-
- ...could be done and is being done by the better
- supported programs.
-
- You sure would save a lot the heartache we've been
- going through around here for the last year or so...


I agree, that is a very good idea. The guy's like myself on dial up wouldn't be frowning on the 40mb patches. Instead every onece in awhile the game will update itself a few mb at a time.


Again, good idea!

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 09:23 PM
What other game is auto-updated? Seriously...I've never seen one.

<center>http://banners.wunderground.com/banner/gizmotimetemp_both/language/www/US/TX/Dallas.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 09:29 PM
Well Sierra has one good feature that comes with their games, an autoupdatethingy that lookes out for updates. Easy and a good feature I think, wouldnâ´t be that hard for UBI to get.



www.f19vs.tk (http://www.f19vs.tk)

http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19-Gazoo-IDCard-sm.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 09:32 PM
eh, sorry, the Sierra updatething. Maybe not auto but you just have to push a button to check put the possible updates. Works fine with me.

www.f19vs.tk (http://www.f19vs.tk)

http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19-Gazoo-IDCard-sm.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 09:37 PM
RS, C+C Generals, and Age of Mithology

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 09:38 PM
Try looking on google for Gameshadow. It works as an auto updater for all games. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 09:58 PM
Do you guys want Oleg to work on a auto-updating architecture (it isn't quite that simple, at very least a server and client must be written), or do you want him to work on the game?


I prefer the latter. Just check the forums now and then to see if a new patch is released, it's not like there's a tendency of 3 or 4 patches a week.





---------------------
: + ) = /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif
; + ) = /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif
: + ( = /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif
: + o = /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif
: + P = /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif
: + | = /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif
: + <u>?</u> = /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif<h6>- need help whining? (393k) (http://users.pandora.be/vnnet/forum/016.exe)
- Don't call me chris! (814k) (http://users.pandora.be/vnnet/forum/dontcallmechris.avi)
- Why you should eat breakfast (344k) (http://users.pandora.be/vnnet/forum/eatbreakfast.avi)</h6>

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 10:09 PM
Again, i'd urge anyone to try gameshadow. It scans your 'puter and patches your games auto.

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 10:26 PM
Fresshness wrote:
- Do you guys want Oleg to work on a auto-updating
- architecture (it isn't quite that simple, at very
- least a server and client must be written), or do
- you want him to work on the game?
-
-
- I prefer the latter. Just check the forums now and
- then to see if a new patch is released, it's not
- like there's a tendency of 3 or 4 patches a week.
-

But there could be you see...since Neverwinter Nights came out, Bioware has patched it just about weekly...sometimes adding content, sometimes fixing bugs, sometimes adding new features. They have a wonderful commitment to their development community.

I am convinced that uber patches such as what we have been subjected to are just excuses for poor initial programming and even poorer after sales service. You may ask what should we expect for our USD 50, judging by what the competition is doing, a whole lot more than what Ubi and Oleg provide.

For those of you wondering if Oleg should spend time on an auto update feature or more time fixing the bugs in FB, I say this: It's not his responsibility. It's Ubi's, and if they truly want to be a great publisher they'll figure it out otherwise they will perish. They should be the ones demanding a bug free game from Oleg...it's in their best interest.

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 10:49 PM
Drip feed or hit us,or hit us with a huge d/l? Last time i looked Neverwinter had 20+ d/l's. But i'm up to date and it's been painless. IL2FB 40 GB is huge for most of us (56K modems) and takes 70 mns+. Then it gets corrupted when i try to d/l it. To at least split it down to 4 10's wouldnt be so hard? I dunno,i love this game as it is, but i would like the patch../i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 11:01 PM
you can use a download manager so you can resume your downloads, no need to split it up. And not much point in releasing smaller patches because they add up to the same.

http://www.gtacenter.com/sig/sig.php (http://lomac.gtacenter.com)
<a href="irc://www.gamesnet.net/lockon">IRC chat</>

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 11:40 PM
yeah try a manager like flashget .
As for auto update the problem with that is if you uninstall the game for whatever reason you have to update again if you reinstall ,the patch is not stored in aseperate folder , at least that is the way it worked with Never winter .

("img");for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src='http://mysite.mweb.co.za/residents/simsie/crash.gif'</script>



<center>http://mysite.mweb.co.za/residents/simsie/ju87-stuka.gif </center><center>http://mysite.mweb.co.za/residents/simsie/dod.jpg <center/>

<Center><div style="width:150;color:red;font-size:11pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=red,strength=5)">smoke em if ya gottem</div><CENTER>