PDA

View Full Version : OT: Red Baron 3D



ROTS_Jason
08-24-2005, 04:33 PM
Hey guys! I just got RB3D and am having a few problems getting it to run on my computer. I read a few places that the game has trouble running on our new "super computers" but that there are fixes to get around this. I can't seem to find any so any help would be great so I can experience this game!

Thank you all a bunch. (PS: For those who don't know it is available for free download at: http://www.wings-of-valor.net/)

Achilles_NZ
08-24-2005, 04:53 PM
One of the few to stand the test of time on my various systems over the years since its original release back in 98?
Still one of the best dynaimic campaigns ever devised.
Lots of awesome mods over the years have kept it looking (and sounding) pretty sharp too.

Try the Red BAron 3D Newbie Info (http://www.simhq.com/simhq3/sims/boards/bbs/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=62;t=000473) thread over at SimHQ.
It has links to everything you might need to get it going on your system, as well as differant addons and updates.

If you cant find what you need, someone should be able to point you in the right direction.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

ROTS_Jason
08-24-2005, 05:31 PM
Thank you sir!

PBNA-Boosher
08-24-2005, 08:03 PM
well, for one thing, there's no ground effect in this game.

wayno7777
08-24-2005, 08:42 PM
Check here also....

http://www.plgrafix.com/index2.html

Spider_439th
08-24-2005, 09:40 PM
I just can't wait to see the next GOOD WWI sim

I expect at least a sim that have the FM and graphics of IL-2 series at least

It is only a dream! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

LEBillfish
08-24-2005, 09:53 PM
RB3d rawked dooods....My first online flight sim flying with the <span class="ev_code_YELLOW">124th, Lafayette Escadrille!!!</span>

However RB2 had the awesome ground battles going....... LE~Sigh....

Best campaign generator by far....Really saw effect of your work.

ROTS_Jason
08-24-2005, 10:20 PM
I have heard such great things about this game. I also truely wish a newer WW1 fighter game would come out that is comparable to il2. I have seen new ones in the works but do any of you know how realistic the makers are going for?

I just got RB3D to work on my computer thanks to the links you fine fellows provided. I am off to try it out!

LEBillfish
08-25-2005, 01:09 AM
btw......you will want a VooDoo vid card or at the very least "Glidos" to run it.....Only ways to get the better quality.

Moustacheo
08-25-2005, 04:55 AM
Ah, I really loved the campaigns on Red Baron 3D. It's one of the few games I can think of where once you die, you truly are dead and have to start a new campaign. I wish there was option for this in IL-2 because although you can just not hit the refly button, I really don't have the self discipline. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

major_setback
08-25-2005, 05:34 AM
Try this previous thread..lots of info on WW1 games/sims. Knights over Europe (due fo release this year)was aimed at the 'sim' market but was shelved. Some of the developers are working on releasing a slimmed down version though.(Read more at the end of this thread).

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m...711032813#3711032813 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m/8071002813/r/3711032813#3711032813)

ROTS_Jason
08-25-2005, 02:30 PM
Originally posted by Moustacheo:
Ah, I really loved the campaigns on Red Baron 3D. It's one of the few games I can think of where once you die, you truly are dead and have to start a new campaign. I wish there was option for this in IL-2 because although you can just not hit the refly button, I really don't have the self discipline. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

LOL same here. I try to fly realisticly in campaigns but then I will pull some bonehead move and crash into the ground or something. Then I tell my self "well that doesn't count because if this was real I would have had better training" so i click refly lol.

dazza9806482
08-26-2005, 03:36 AM
HAHA

Same here!