PDA

View Full Version : Need a new Joystick



XyZspineZyX
07-20-2003, 04:56 AM
S!
Curious about a getting a new joystick. Looking for one that will work with windows xp home edition, works well with FB(of course!) and is under 70 dollars. I currently have MS sidewinder precision 2 but for some odd reason my cpu will not recognize that the joystick has been plugged in. Have tried everything i can think of on this, but still no go. So i am looking for honest reviews of joysticks used by other fb pilots. prefer it to have built in rudder control, throttle control, POV switch and at least 6 or more programable buttons. I thank you for your input on this.

Watsup

XyZspineZyX
07-20-2003, 04:56 AM
S!
Curious about a getting a new joystick. Looking for one that will work with windows xp home edition, works well with FB(of course!) and is under 70 dollars. I currently have MS sidewinder precision 2 but for some odd reason my cpu will not recognize that the joystick has been plugged in. Have tried everything i can think of on this, but still no go. So i am looking for honest reviews of joysticks used by other fb pilots. prefer it to have built in rudder control, throttle control, POV switch and at least 6 or more programable buttons. I thank you for your input on this.

Watsup

XyZspineZyX
07-20-2003, 05:51 AM
This works for me.....


Saitek X45
http://store.yahoo.com/saitekusa/recprod.html

MSFFB2
http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_gen.php?form_page_id=0.1&topcat_id=1&topcat_search=1&form_keyword=joysticks&ut=445619281f346f0c&Search.x=11&Search.y=8


<CENTER>http://www.world-wide-net.com/tuskegeeairmen/ta-1943.jpg <marquee><FONT COLOR="RED"><FONT SIZE="+1">"Straighten up.......Fly right..~S~"<FONT SIZE> </marquee> http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat

<CENTER><FONT COLOR="ORANGE">vflyer@comcast.net<FONT COLOR>
<Center><div style="width:200;color:red;font-size:18pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=red,strength=8)">99th Pursuit Squadron

XyZspineZyX
07-20-2003, 07:41 AM
For those on a budget none can surpass the mighty X45, the programming software is finally working well w/ XP and there are more buttons than you can shake a stick at. You may want to look into rudder pedals though. The Rudder rocker on the X45 is uncomfortable.



<center> http://www.4yourfuture.net/handshake.gif


"Altitude, speed, maneuver, fire!"-The "formula of Terror" of Aleksandr Pokryshkin, Three times awarded the rank of Hero of the Soviet Union

XyZspineZyX
07-20-2003, 07:53 AM
You have a M$ stick that won't work on a M$ OS? To funny.../i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Da Buzz
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

<center>


Message Edited on 07/20/0312:05AM by BuzzU

XyZspineZyX
07-20-2003, 08:01 AM
Spend the money, buy a Cougar, be very happy, never buy another stick ever.

http://cougar.frugalsworld.com/

XyZspineZyX
07-20-2003, 08:05 AM
hey Buzz

whats a Jak-3? /i/smilies/16x16_robot-wink.gif

<center>http://www.2001exhibit.org/science/img/sm_hal_9000_art.gif <marquee>The 9000 series is the most reliable computer ever made. No 9000 series has ever made a mistake or distorted information. We are all, by any practical definition of the word, fool-proof and incapable of error...Edited 00/00/00 00:00AM </marquee></center>

XyZspineZyX
07-20-2003, 08:06 AM
This better?

Da Buzz
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

<center>
http://www.geocities.com/CapeCanaveral/Hangar/4128/f15cloud.jpg

XyZspineZyX
07-20-2003, 08:08 AM
Trying again.

Da Buzz
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

<center>
http://www.af.mil/news/factsheets/pictures/f-15.jpg

XyZspineZyX
07-20-2003, 09:08 AM
Does your comp have usb 2.0 with firewire?

If so you need to turn it off in your bios for it to keep your msffb2 or any joysticks settings saved without finding the new hardware everytime it reboots.




http://mysite.verizon.net/vze4jz7i/ls.gif

Good dogfighters bring ammo home, Great ones don't. (c) Leadspitter

XyZspineZyX
07-20-2003, 02:31 PM
Just out of interest, is it specifically your M$ joystick that isn't working or do you get problems with Joysticks in General? I assume that it connects via the GamePort.

The reason I say this is because I had a similar (If not exactly the same) problem earlier this year, I had recently installed a new sound card (Because the OnBoard sound on my Motherboard did not support surround) and it had disabled my Motherboards sound in BIOS. Because my GamePort was connected to the MB's Sound Card, it did not work and I had to reactivate it in BIOS (Which caused no problems or conflictions.)

Just in case /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif